? 06/26/2024 Woody - AMPS 378, PMPS HI dose advice?

Mimik

Member
Hello everyone,
Woody's #'s seemed to "not" be coming down so I took him to 5.25 U's tonight - I am "wondering" should I take him to 5 1/2 U's -- I think I read somewhere "here" that "after 5 U's with TR protocol you go up 1/2 not .025 ? okay, thanks,
 
5.25 units is OK. It's yes to 0.5 unit increases at 5+ units, but still 0.25 unit increases if just tweaking a dose seeing some good green. He did get down to 67, even if it was just once. At this point you are also trying to learn what change will move Woody. Neko was very sensitive to small changes, even at larger doses. Other cats need the bigger changes. Let's see what Woody does with this change and you can decide if that worked or he needs more should he need another increase.
 
5.25 units is OK. It's yes to 0.5 unit increases at 5+ units, but still 0.25 unit increases if just tweaking a dose seeing some good green. He did get down to 67, even if it was just once. At this point you are also trying to learn what change will move Woody. Neko was very sensitive to small changes, even at larger doses. Other cats need the bigger changes. Let's see what Woody does with this change and you can decide if that worked or he needs more should he need another increase.
Thanks Wendy - Well the only thing I did “differently” was to inject in his scruff the night before and the next day - He has a onesie on all the time since he wears the sensor - so it’s not easy to get him to “cooperate” he fidgets - these times he seemed to not mind me working around it ? I guess I’ll see if he will let me inject into the scruff tomorrow- he’s getting super fidgety these days at “inject time” he’s feeling better and has more fight in him - Woody has never been a “ I’ll sit here and you take your time kind of car”
 
Thanks Wendy - Well the only thing I did “differently” was to inject in his scruff the night before and the next day - He has a onesie on all the time since he wears the sensor - so it’s not easy to get him to “cooperate” he fidgets - these times he seemed to not mind me working around it ? I guess I’ll see if he will let me inject into the scruff tomorrow- he’s getting super fidgety these days at “inject time” he’s feeling better and has more fight in him - Woody has never been a “ I’ll sit here and you take your time kind of car”
Hi Mimi, I have a similar cat to Woody.
Ivy doesn’t tolerate a lot of poking or fussing either it’s why I also use a Libre 3, which works well for us. It limits the amount of poking I must do. I do test her if she’s low on the Libre to keep her safe.
We also must cover her Libre so she doesn’t rip it off, which she’s done.
Wishing you safe surfing! :bighug:
 
Morning Staci, well Woody is pretty good ( all things considered for sure) he's part bengal so he can get ROUGH -- I, too, have a libre sensor on him at all times - it's since the little man has gotten to a point of actually feeling better he's getting back to his saucy ways --- he has tried sorts of tricks to avoid the JAB -- it's amazing how creative they can get "right" - I keep "threating" to have his vet tech Denise teach me to do the "ear" prick -- I could prob. wager he would not take kindly to the " ear prick" process --- His #'s ( at 5.25 U's) look nice and green since last night -- all things crossed.
 
Last edited:
Morning Staci, well Woody is pretty good ( all things considered for sure) he's part bengal so he can get ROUGH -- I, too, have a libre sensor on him at all times - it's since the little man has gotten to a point of actually feeling better he's getting back to his saucy ways --- he has tried sorts of tricks to avoid the JAB -- it's amazing how creative they can get "right" - I keep "threating" to have his vet tech Denise teach me to do the "ear" prick -- I could prob. wager he would not take kindly to the " ear prick" process --- His #'s ( at 5.25 U's) look nice and green since last night -- all things crossed.
He looks so sweet in his photo.
I’m so glad to hear Woody is feeling good and seeing lots of green.
It sounds like you are making good progress with Woody. And if you can learn how to do an ear prick that’s important. Especially since the Libre sensors can and do fail.
I also double check the “Lo” readings to make sure Ivy isn’t going too low or earn a reduction in a handheld device.

I’m glad you and Woody seem to be doing well :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Staci, hahaha, yes Woody is really a unique boy. He's always been front center this one. He LIVES for his dad and I am second runner up --- He was SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO sick for so many months after the diagnosis. How many times I thought " today is the day" I can't watch him suffer -- honestly, and I know ALL of you ladies here this over and over -- if it were not for the expertise of the panel of ladies here Woody would be dead, I am sure of that --- You've all guided me, taught me, and with all of this I owe Woody's good days and more to come to you all -- I am thankful beyond any words I could type here -- and it's good to know that I am not the only CRAZY for cat lady willing to go to the end of the universe to fix and make better a "cat" - so Woody and I owe this board a forever debt of gratitude.
 
Back
Top