06/27 SHAI PMPS. 437 help please

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Dinah S, Jun 27, 2022.

  1. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
  2. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
  3. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    What? I am not understanding about the syringe or vial?
     
  4. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    You are afraid you have contaminated your vial? Or do you use a pen?
     
  5. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
    Yes vial
     
  6. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
    Made a longer post on Facebook with pic of that helps :arghh:
     
  7. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    So your syringe was a used syringe? Did you squirt the insulin back into the vial from a syringe that had already been used??
     
    Dinah S likes this.
  8. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
    I did this shot hope its ok…now Am wondering about Am shot cause vet opens after my shot time…so even if i go but a new one I’ll be late…..
    Also wondering if worth taking the 2u out now before it cooks in the vial all night ?! Am an idiot :-/
     
  9. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
    Correct this morning one put on my disposablr spot but grabbed it cause had terrible day (know its not a good excuse but its what happened)
     
  10. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I saw the photo on FB. If that’s your vial then I would say it is contaminated
     
    Dinah S likes this.
  11. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
    Yes it is…so would you take 2u out now for the morning shot ?! Or skip the shot ?! Or what ?! Am meant to take my dog to vet Am a mess
     
  12. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
    Different vet not Shai one
     
  13. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Too late to do anything about it now. You shot. I’m sure Shai will be okay. But we need to talk about drawing insulin from the vial. Obviously you should use a brand new, never been used before syringe every day. Throw the used ones away immediately in whatever way you dispose of them.
    This is really important- draw out the insulin, but once you have drawn insulin into the syringe, do not ever squirt it back into the vial. If you have excess insulin in your syringe you must expel it over a sink or a trash can or a paper towel or whatever, but don’t squirt any insulin back into the vial. The syringes contain a lubricant in them that helps them to glide more smoothly, and you don’t want that lubricant getting into the insulin vial to contaminate the whole vial.
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2022
    Ashleigh & Ares and Ben&Squirrel like this.
  14. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    And I am so sorry, by the way, for your bad news. I don’t know what it is, but it sounds awful and you are obviously upset. Is your dog okay? Can you pick up a new vial of insulin when you take the dog to the vet?
     
  15. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
    Ooooh dear well been doing that for well a year especially with the 1.75u & bubbles annoy me too…….its hell to do…well maybe thats another reason why he isnt going down….stupid me again
    Many thanks will get new one & never ever do that again

     
  16. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Also, once insulin is drawn out of the vial and into the syringe- it’s only good for about 30 minutes.
     
  17. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
    So why are bloody vets doing it then ??? :banghead: Last time they had no vial in stock & wanted to prepare me syringes with 2u in them instead
     
  18. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
    Thanks
    Once removed pathology will say if nasty but looks like cancerous (anal glands area)
    Different vets but I’ll get a new one for pm shot sure thing
    The one for dog is 2h from home…going in thr aftermoon
     
  19. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    No clue. I asked my vet about this once too and she said no way because it will lose potency once it’s taken out of the vial. I guess the vet thought it was better than nothing.
     
    Dinah S likes this.
  20. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Oh no. The pathology report was bad? But you aren’t sure if it’s cancer yet? Or the report says it’s cancer? I’m so sad to hear this. I pray your dog will be better.
     
  21. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
    Ok thanks
    By thr way I visited 5 pet shops today no Fancy feast anywhere only grilled in one so Didnt get any but bought a few things though not sure they are all ok yet but will post on Facebook once I get a chance to settle cause right now Am a mess to say the least…
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  22. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
    It needs to be cut to send to pathology…but looks ugly & started bleeding though small & just appeared thought it was swollen anal glands or abcess but vet said its not
     
  23. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
    I hope once taken off itll ge ok but vet was ummmm
     
  24. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Vets don’t know everything. Wait until the pathology report comes back. It may not be as bad as the worst news. Or it may be treatable. Don’t give up hope yet.
     
    Dinah S likes this.
  25. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I don’t think vets should say stuff like that before they know for sure. Poor dog having to go through all that. I hope he will have pain meds cause it’s going to hurt, I am sure.
     
    Dinah S likes this.
  26. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    This is from the sticky note at the beginning of this forum on drawing insulin.
    • If you draw up too much insulin in the syringe... squirt excess either into the air dramatically like they do on TV or into a paper towel... anywhere but back into vial/cartridge/pen. There is a silicon coating inside the syringe. It may contaminate the insulin vial with silicon.
     
  27. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
    Looked it up on internet too this is why I messed up the insulin cause of 30mn following news on internet reading……not sure I’d even want to know thonk its best to cut it out and hope for thr best but
     
  28. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    You do keep the insulin vial in the Fridge, right?
     
    Dinah S likes this.
  29. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I have researched stuff I was afraid about in my animals too - and got myself all upset. A lot of times I got all upset for nothing.
     
    Ashleigh & Ares and Dinah S like this.
  30. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
    Sure do
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  31. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
    Thanks will hope for the best but she’s getting old too with lumps & bumps since a while though always fatty ones…this one looks yok will discuss taking it out tomorw
     
  32. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
    Could I send you pics of the foods I got on Messenger at some stage ?! You can say no ;)
     
  33. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    More hugs. I hate it when our beloved pets get old.
     
    Dinah S likes this.
  34. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Sure. No worries.
     
    Dinah S likes this.
  35. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
    Thanks lots she turned 12 in january & is medium size so old :confused:
     
  36. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
    Thanks lots will see how tomorw goes then might manage to think straight…And Do pics got some weruva & others
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  37. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Weruva is good. Their website includes carbs and everything else.
    So sorry about your morning. Prayers for your dog. :bighug:
     
    Dinah S likes this.
  38. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Do you have a reference for that? It's not something I've seen.
     
  39. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I’m sorry, Dinah! I think I did mis-speak about the syringes that are pre-filled. I’m glad Wendy asked me this! I do know that my vet told me that it’s not a good idea to pre-fill syringes and use them too much later - because when I was switching my cat from ProZinc to Lantus — well long story not important here…. However, the credible source type material that I have seen - range anywhere from saying that these syringes should be used within a few hours to a month. So what the heck? This is interesting and I still am looking into it. I was at the vet yesterday with two cats and I wish I had asked about it! So forget the 30 minutes! I do know that your vial had red blood suspended in it and appeared to be contaminated. I was really surprised that you had blood in the old syringe though (very occasionally I had bleeding.). I hope you got a new vial. It should stay all fresh now for a long time with no silicone lubricant put back into it, right? ;) Now that you know not to do that. Sorry about all that!
     
    Ashleigh & Ares and Dinah S like this.
  40. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Oh, and I have been thinking about you and your dog. Last night when I went to be about midnight I was thinking that it was the next day for you and you would be taking him to the vet. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Ashleigh & Ares likes this.
  41. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
    Thanks
     
  42. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
    All
    good thanks yes got a. New one & wasted about 25u & 10 syringes & still didn’t manage to avoid the bubble plus surely gave him less than the 2u as o didn’t manage…..am mad at myself got no clue on on to do it properly :banghead:
     
  43. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
    New thread later sorry too tired slept 1h in 2 days & 1 night x
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  44. Ashleigh & Ares

    Ashleigh & Ares Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2021
    Hi Dinah
    Do u mean the bubble that us in the syringe after drawing ou the insulin? Here is what I do...flick with light strength at first to force the bibble into the very middle top. if doesn't work after mamy flicks, begin flicking a lil bit harder. If the bubble still will not get into the very middle, pull back some air into the syringe until u have a nice level air pocket. then try pushing back out all the air. This normally gets all the air out with no bubble. if another bubble appears at this time, i can usually flick it to the middle easier!

    Hope this helps. wasting 25U and 10 syringes would drive me crazy!

    Also! Im not sure about everyone else, but I have only found 2 brands of syringes that are good out of ghe 5 ive tried The UltiCare and SureComfort. They are more expensive, but to not have to trash 1 or 2 and waste insulin...id rather pay the higher price. You can actually get the Ulticare from Amazon amd maybe even the surecomfort!

    **Update
    I just looked up Surecomfort on Amazon...dont buy those, they show the right box, but people are getting a completely different brand!
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2022
    Dinah S likes this.
  45. Dinah S

    Dinah S Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2022
    Yes thank you so very much this is very helpful & I’ll try my best to manage this at my next go in the morning…tonight one was not good & his numbers are still high so am even more mad at myself :banghead: will look the syringes up though by the time things reach Australia think I have mo much choice but to get used to what is available here :arghh:
     
    Ashleigh & Ares likes this.

Share This Page