06/28 Abbott PMPS @366 +2@330 bounce ever break??

AbbottTheCat

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...358-pmps-383-2-255-4-170.265072/#post-2968398

@Bandit's Mom

Feeling disheartened tonight. Since I switched to TR and 1u it's now been 7.5 cycles with nothing under yellow and mostly pinks.

I know I am supposed to wait full 10 cycles if he is new to nadirs under 200 but I thought we had some momentum going. It seems like this bounce should have broke by now.

The TR sticky says 8 to 10 cycles. Should I consider increasing the dose at AMPS (start of 9th cycle at 1u)?
Could you take a look at my ss and help me make sense of what's going on? How is my testing so far, any direction is most welcome.

On the bright side his urination frequency has decreased in the last 2 days by about 1/3.
 
Last edited:
Tonight has been 6 cycles since the last blues. Enough time for him to clear the bounce. You are good for an increase to 1.25U tomorrow morning. Its possible he might clear the bounce tonight and give you a lower AMPS (like the AM cycle of 6/24). In that case, you want to hold the dose. You don't want to add a dose increase to the downward momentum of a bounce clearing.
 
So unless he clears the bounce tonight or by AMPS I don’t need to wait 10 cycles?—new to nadir under 200. Is this because he is staying in high numbers?

how’s my testing? I’ve been getting a +2 and +4 every cycle with occasional mid cycle test, and sometime +2, +5 during AM cycle to stagger the testing.

give you a lower AMPS (like the AM cycle of 6/24)—-did you mean the PM cycle?
 
Yes. The logic behind holding a dose 10 cycles is to give the cat 6 cycles to clear a bounce and see where the numbers look like after. Tonight is the 6th cycle from those blues on 6/25. if you see the AM cycle of 6/24, he was much lower at the end of the cycle despite being in pinks in the first 4 hours. I wondered if he would do the same tonight - drop lower till the end of the cycle and give you a blue or low yellow AMPS. In that case, you want to hold the dose and see what he does in the AM cycle (tomorrow).

And you are doing a great job of testing. :-) You might want to get some +1 or +1.5 to see if his onset is earlier than +2.
Tight Regulation: Becoming Data Ready to Shoot / Handle Lower Pre-shot Numbers
 
Ok, makes sense. I will keep an eye out for a blue or yellow. And thanks for the note on the additional +1 or +1.5 testing.
One other question. If I get a basically unchanged or even higher +2, should I still feed at +1,2,3,4 etc even during a bounce?
 
One other question. If I get a basically unchanged or even higher +2, should I still feed at +1,2,3,4 etc even during a bounce?
While it's not necessary from a "feed the curve" perspective, some cats get stomach acid if there is a long gap between meals. You might also want to get a timed autofeeder and get him accustomed to eating from it. Once you start seeing lower numbers, you will be glad to have assistance in feeding (at nights and when you are out in the day).
 
Hi. I saw your question about a +9 snack but wanted to answer on your condo. That’s reserved for cats close to remission or on an OTJ trial as a working pancreas will bring down the BG 3-4 hours after eating. When attempting to regulate you want to try and avoid feeding after the first half of the cycle so you don’t shorten the duration of the insulin. If feeding the curve because low you feed the curve as late into the cycle as needed.
 
Ok, interesting. I only mentioned the +9 as an example but that is good to know. Right now I’m doing +0, 1,2,3. And if I get an active cycle (which hasn’t happened in a while) i feed +4,5 until numbers start going up but never after +6. I was just curious as to what intervals worked for Cinna at diff phases, ie before regulation, and up to OTJ.
 
Back
Top