babyg
Member Since 2019
Previous thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/06-26-baby-g-pmps-365.265100/#post-2969051
Hi, everyone,
Just wanted to post an update. The vet did not want me to raise her dose and wants me to keep her on the 3 for another week to a month because of the Somogyi effect, but shouldn't any bouncing have been over and done with by now? So far I am thinking like how you guys advised earlier, that she needs to go up to 3.25. I'm not getting the data I would like since her sensor failed, but from what I can tell, the 3 is doing nothing for her. So disappointing and confusing since it was doing fantastic for a minute there. Granted, she is preferring more of the dry food again, but I don't think that's having a major impact, and she still eats some of the wet too. I'd say overall she appears to be doing and feeling a lot better. She's maintaining her weight which is another good sign.
I've got stuff coming this weekend so I can try to place the sensor myself (hair clippers and Skin Tac). I joined that Facebook group of people who do the sensors themselves, so hoping with all the resources on there that I won't screw up putting it on, lol. I'm hoping if I can get the sensor on her this weekend, to up her dose and then I can monitor her much better since we'll have that on and I'll be home too. I just don't feel comfortable raising her without that. It's so invaluable to me in keeping her safe.
As far as any other advice from the vet, she suggested if the diarrhea doesn't get better now that Baby G's eating better again and ingesting more of the Fortiflora, that we can 1) do a fecal test, 2) put her on Flagyll, 3) maybe try a novel protein diet. Today she had a solid poop, so seems like the Fortiflora is key.
Hi, everyone,
Just wanted to post an update. The vet did not want me to raise her dose and wants me to keep her on the 3 for another week to a month because of the Somogyi effect, but shouldn't any bouncing have been over and done with by now? So far I am thinking like how you guys advised earlier, that she needs to go up to 3.25. I'm not getting the data I would like since her sensor failed, but from what I can tell, the 3 is doing nothing for her. So disappointing and confusing since it was doing fantastic for a minute there. Granted, she is preferring more of the dry food again, but I don't think that's having a major impact, and she still eats some of the wet too. I'd say overall she appears to be doing and feeling a lot better. She's maintaining her weight which is another good sign.
I've got stuff coming this weekend so I can try to place the sensor myself (hair clippers and Skin Tac). I joined that Facebook group of people who do the sensors themselves, so hoping with all the resources on there that I won't screw up putting it on, lol. I'm hoping if I can get the sensor on her this weekend, to up her dose and then I can monitor her much better since we'll have that on and I'll be home too. I just don't feel comfortable raising her without that. It's so invaluable to me in keeping her safe.
As far as any other advice from the vet, she suggested if the diarrhea doesn't get better now that Baby G's eating better again and ingesting more of the Fortiflora, that we can 1) do a fecal test, 2) put her on Flagyll, 3) maybe try a novel protein diet. Today she had a solid poop, so seems like the Fortiflora is key.

