? 07/25- We're back :( dosing question for tonight!

Dallas boy

Member Since 2021
Hey everyone, Unfortunately Dallas was kicked out of remission. I'm not too sure what happened. I checked him 3 weeks ago and he was at 59, but I noticed today that he was drinking more water so I checked him again and his BG was 328. I am devastated. We worked so hard to get him in remission and now we have to do this all over again. He had some blood work on Friday, but I haven't gotten the results for that yet. What are the chances a cat can go into remission for a THIRD time? Should I start a brand new spreadsheet or continue off his old one?

We were following the TR method and that's what I want to follow again because it worked great for him. He went into remission I believe 2 months after starting the TR method. I picked up some Lantus today but I have no idea what dose I should start him at. I am trying to wrap my head around this again and trying to remember how the TR method works. I'll go read the sticky.
 
Nothing really, just a :bighug:, we also had to come back recently...although I must say I've missed the routine of checking and posting, except when we have the long close to lime green nights.
 
Nothing really, just a :bighug:, we also had to come back recently...although I must say I've missed the routine of checking and posting, except when we have the long close to lime green nights.
Thanks @stannarp! I definitely did not miss it! lol and I know all about those close to lime green nights.

@tiffmaxee and @Bandit's Mom were life savers and extremely helpful last time. Hopefully they are still around!
 
Hi Michelle. I’m sorry you are back and hoping for a third remission. Usually either dental problems or infection knocks them out of remission. The labs should tell if an infection is present. Did your vet run a fructosamine? Only one test? Has his diet changed? Any chance he ate things he should not have?

Start a new spreadsheet and check him before breakfast and dinner and 3-4 hours after to see if the bg comes down. Wait for the labs meanwhile. Let’s see if he comes down after eating and how high he is. His symptoms could be caused by other things so I would hold off until you see them and what his bg is doing for at least a few days. Stress might have made his bg higher at the vet.

You caught it early if three weeks ago he was at 59 if nothing shows up and he continues to be high.
 
Hi Michelle. I’m sorry you are back and hoping for a third remission. Usually either dental problems or infection knocks them out of remission. The labs should tell if an infection is present. Did your vet run a fructosamine? Only one test? Has his diet changed? Any chance he ate things he should not have?

Start a new spreadsheet and check him before breakfast and dinner and 3-4 hours after to see if the bg comes down. Wait for the labs meanwhile. Let’s see if he comes down after eating and how high he is. His symptoms could be caused by other things so I would hold off until you see them and what his bg is doing for at least a few days. Stress might have made his bg higher at the vet.

You caught it early if three weeks ago he was at 59 if nothing shows up and he continues to be high.

I called my vet earlier because I hadn't heard anything about the blood results and it turns out they weren't able to run it because his blood was too fatty or something? and I have to bring him back and fast him next time. A trip to the vet is extremely stressful for Dallas. He has to be on 200mg of Gabapentin. I really do not want to have to take him back. His BG wasn't checked at the vet, I just checked it the one time this morning. I am hoping I just overreacted and it will come back down.

His teeth should be fine as he had dental surgery just a few months ago and his diet hasn't changed. I caught him licking a tiny bit of mayo a couple days ago off a plate (yuck!), but that's about it. I am thinking maybe the vet visit on Friday, but would it still be high today? I feel like he is a bit lethargic today.

I will continue to check him and update here.
 
So it’s not teeth. I’m wondering how his kidneys are. That can cause thirst and increased urination. Do you have a copy of the labs taken before his dental? Did they check his month after the surgery and get a good look this visit to make sure no infection?
 
So it’s not teeth. I’m wondering how his kidneys are. That can cause thirst and increased urination. Do you have a copy of the labs taken before his dental? Did they check his month after the surgery and get a good look this visit to make sure no infection?
He was diagnosed with Kidney disease in December when he had a Pancreatitis flare up. I wasn't given a copy of the labs taken before his dental unfortunately, but I have a copy of his labs from when he was diagnosed with Kidney Disease. Is there a way I can share a photo of this?

They did check his mouth and everything was good. I'll just have to bring him back and try to do blood work again :(
 
His symptoms could be from kidney disease. You can either add the labs via the spreadsheet tab that says labs or try copying and pasting here.
 
His symptoms could be from kidney disease. You can either add the labs via the spreadsheet tab that says labs or try copying and pasting here.
I've added his labs in my signature along with a new SS. I checked him over and hour ago and his BG was 281
 
Max’s ALT would be almost 300 when he had pancreatitis and my vet said unless it was more than double the high normal and other markets were not right for liver it was fine. I had blood tests from when he was younger and his was never low but often out of range later with pancreatitis and would come down to high normal when better. Excess drinking and urinating are common with kidney disease. I wish they had run a urinalysis so we could see the USG.
 
Max’s ALT would be almost 300 when he had pancreatitis and my vet said unless it was more than double the high normal and other markets were not right for liver it was fine. I had blood tests from when he was younger and his was never low but often out of range later with pancreatitis and would come down to high normal when better. Excess drinking and urinating are common with kidney disease. I wish they had run a urinalysis so we could see the USG.
These labs were taken at the emergency vet. His regular vet did a urinalysis shortly after this, but there was nothing abnormal. I wish I would have asked for a copy. From now on I will ask for a copy of everything and keep it on file.
 
I’d call and ask it to be emailed to you. The USG would help figure out stage of ckd. Probably worth repeating labs in a month if possible to see if liver values come down. Let’s get a few other opinions about restarting lantus sooner.

@Wendy&Neko @Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
I would have started a new tab on the same spreadsheet. We need to look at old data to get an idea what the starting dose might be.

I see he came down a bit today. Wouldn't hurt to wait another day and gather more data to see if the trend continues. But I wouldn't drag it out a long time. The sooner you can get him back regulated (if he needs insulin), the greater the changes of remission again.
 
And there is a Labs tab on the spreadsheet. You can transcribe data over there, and that'll also allow you to monitor trends over time. I actually use the labs tab on the non diabetics now. That will save you having a second link on the signature as well.
 
And there is a Labs tab on the spreadsheet. You can transcribe data over there, and that'll also allow you to monitor trends over time. I actually use the labs tab on the non diabetics now. That will save you having a second link on the signature as well.
I've added the labs to his New SS. I'm not sure how to read everything on the labs sheet so I think I put all the numbers in the right spot? I also did not know where to put the number for SDMA, UREA, CA, TP, Na, K, CI and Osm Calc. I can call the vet today for a copy of the urinalysis.

His old SS is back in my signature block.
 
Wow, I just realized there was a whole other side of that piece of paper haha. I've added the info to the lab tab of his SS
 
Back
Top