07.31.22 [SAVE] Chispa AMPS 506, 507 +3, 510 +5, 354 +7, PMPS 399

507 @ +3. It seems like the first shot didn't register today. The only think I can think is that when I draw back the plunger to make sure there's no blood before giving the shot, maybe I'm pulling it back too far? Would that cause the insulin to "not work"? I am checking each time to make sure her fur is still dry after the shot, and it always is, so I have to assume the shots are going in.

Her second day was so steady, with BG range between 355 and 372 the whole day. Why are we going downhill now?
 
507 @ +3. It seems like the first shot didn't register today. The only think I can think is that when I draw back the plunger to make sure there's no blood before giving the shot, maybe I'm pulling it back too far? Would that cause the insulin to "not work"? I am checking each time to make sure her fur is still dry after the shot, and it always is, so I have to assume the shots are going in.

Her second day was so steady, with BG range between 355 and 372 the whole day. Why are we going downhill now?
Hi Karen, I don't draw back the plunger, just insert then inject. Where are you giving the injections?

Hopefully @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom @Bron and Sheba (GA) can help answer your question about BGs.
 
Hi everyone,

Thanks so much for your help. I just tested again at +5, and it's still over 500. She hasn't had a meal since +2. This is very scary.

So to answer your questions:

- @Ben&Squirrel , the ear sticks are going better. Yesterday was just about impossible. Today I've done three in a row successfully, with a reasonably sized drop of blood (not too big, just enough to test) forming on the first or second try. She lets out a little meow when poked, but she is happy to stick around for the treats and praise afterwards.

- @Angela & Cleo , I'm giving the injections in the scruff. The vet tech told me to draw back the plunger, but I'm happy to listen to two voices of experience here saying it's not necessary. I'll stop.

- @Bandit's Mom , No, she's still at 75% Hill's k/d (not low carb -- I think it's 28, which is pretty high) and 25% Weruva (4 carbs). I was all set to transition her, but I emailed the vet first and was told not to change anything until they see her again after a week or two (and I just realized I need to schedule that). But with these high numbers, it doesn't seem to make sense NOT to transition her -- she's not going to go hypoglycemic overnight from eating low-carb food, right?

I was going to give her another meal after testing, but now I don't know what to do. Should I feed her low-carb food? Or not feed her for a couple of hours and test again?

Advice greatly appreciated ... thanks again.
 
I feel your pain/anxiety/frustration! High numbers are awful. :bighug:
I'm no expert but it sounds like you are doing everything right ...this is going to take time. Time to fully transition to lower carb food and time for the depot to fill. Have you tested for ketones? How is Chispa behaving overall?
I had to constantly remind myself (and I still do) that a cat is more than her BG#s!
 
More News of the Weird: I didn't feed her at +5 as planned and just tested her again at +7. The blood didn't 100% fill the little window on the strip (more like 80%) and I was afraid I might get an error reading, but no, the number came up as 354. Could the meter be wrong because the sample was inadequate? I tried retesting with another strip but no blood came out on the second poke, and I didn't want to annoy her.
 
For now you only need to withhold food two hours before insulin so your preshot is not food influenced. It’s also good to feed most people f the food during the first half of the cycle. Once you have data to know what kind of a food bump you get tge twomhour rule isn’t needed unless low at +10 and you don’t want a food influenced preshot if worried it might be too low to shoot.
 
Thanks, @tiffmaxee . Before this I was feeding her about every four hours -- so translated to FD time, that would be AMPS, +4, +8, PMPS, +4, +8. Would it be better to back it up to +3 and +6 to keep the feedings in the first half of the cycle?

"Once you have data to know what kind of a food bump you get the two hour rule isn’t needed unless low at +10 and you don’t want a food influenced preshot if worried it might be too low to shoot."

I'm a little unclear on this concept ... Do you mean that it's ok to feed within two hours of a shot once you have more data, UNLESS you see a low number at +10 --- in which case, don't feed because your preshot number will be artificially inflated and you won't know whether it's too low to shoot?

(Sorry for my confusion ... I'll catch on one of these days ...)
 
- @Bandit's Mom , No, she's still at 75% Hill's k/d (not low carb -- I think it's 28, which is pretty high) and 25% Weruva (4 carbs). I was all set to transition her, but I emailed the vet first and was told not to change anything until they see her again after a week or two (and I just realized I need to schedule that). But with these high numbers, it doesn't seem to make sense NOT to transition her -- she's not going to go hypoglycemic overnight from eating low-carb food, right?
It makes no sense to feed high carbs and then give a higher dose of insulin. I would not wait a week or two to transition nor keep her in such high numbers till then. A test before bed every night will tell you whether she is flat and it's safe for the night or whether she is dropping and you want to set at alarm for a later test to ensure she is safe.
 
Thanks, @tiffmaxee . Before this I was feeding her about every four hours -- so translated to FD time, that would be AMPS, +4, +8, PMPS, +4, +8. Would it be better to back it up to +3 and +6 to keep the feedings in the first half of the cycle?

"Once you have data to know what kind of a food bump you get the two hour rule isn’t needed unless low at +10 and you don’t want a food influenced preshot if worried it might be too low to shoot."

I'm a little unclear on this concept ... Do you mean that it's ok to feed within two hours of a shot once you have more data, UNLESS you see a low number at +10 --- in which case, don't feed because your preshot number will be artificially inflated and you won't know whether it's too low to shoot?

(Sorry for my confusion ... I'll catch on one of these days ...)

It is confusing so no need to apologize. When new we say no food two hours before preshots but once you know how your cat responds to food it’s not a requirement. If the bg is getting lower than usual irs still good to pull food two hours before preshots. Does that clarify?
 
It is confusing so no need to apologize. When new we say no food two hours before preshots but once you know how your cat responds to food it’s not a requirement. If the bg is getting lower than usual irs still good to pull food two hours before preshots. Does that clarify?

Thanks, @tiffmaxee -- yes, that helps. My newbie brain still finds it counterintuitive to pull food before preshots when the numbers are low -- wouldn't you want to raise the BG to offset the low number? I'm sure there is a good reason, but I'd like to know the mechanism so that I can retain it and perhaps be better able to predict the effects down the line.

I know I'll always need to test before every shot, but will I need to continue testing throughout the day once the numbers have stabilized?
 
Food can artificially raise the BG. You want to be sure the preshot is not food influenced and is rising naturally because the insulin is wearing off. You can give a snack at +10 if the BG is low at that point. If the BG is going up due to food at preshot and you shoot, once insulin kicks it it could go too low. Dosing is based upon how low a dose takes the cat. You don’t want the food to inflate the BG. Lantus usually kicks in two hours after injecting.
 
@tiffmaxee OK, I think I get it: You need to know where the BG is naturally before sending it downhill on the insulin rollercoaster. That makes sense. And it's ok to give a snack at +10 because the food will wear off over the next two hours. Got it! Thanks for your patience. :):cat:
 
Back
Top