08/01 Eddie AMPS 295 +3 306 PMPS 403 +2 419

@Wendy&Neko @FrostD Good morning, just a quick question. I don't yet have the SS set up for Blue, but I'm hoping Bhooma (or someone) will be able to help me get it set up.

Last night I posted that Blue's PMPS 488 +3/5 551 +4.5 497 +5.5 477


I emailed the IM vet and he wants me to increase Blue's dose from 2u to 4u BiD. I've learned from being on here that an increase of 2u might be too much. Do you have any thoughts on this?

I have, btw, nearly eliminated the vet renal diet and gone with the Weurva...will try a small TBSP raw with EZ today...
 
Last edited:
I hope Eddie comes back down slowly. I'd be hesitant to increase by 2 units for Blue. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you! Me, as well. I don't know what the rush is! And now that I'm getting into low carb food (not "special" diet), increasing that much might be disastrous?
 
Loved those greens last night! Finally something working out for you. :bighug:

Do NOT increase Blue's dose until we've had a look at the spreadsheet. Remember, the depot needs to fill so we don't increase after a couple days either. Our of curiosity, how high on insulin did Blue get back before treatment?

You also asked about names and how to post. You can put both spreadsheets in your signature and post about both cats in the same post if you want. Subject line would have both cats. Or create two posts. Some people change their user names, so it could be Jodey&Eddie&Blue or leave it as you. Up to you.
 
Loved those greens last night! Finally something working out for you. :bighug:

Do NOT increase Blue's dose until we've had a look at the spreadsheet. Remember, the depot needs to fill so we don't increase after a couple days either. Our of curiosity, how high on insulin did Blue get back before treatment?

You also asked about names and how to post. You can put both spreadsheets in your signature and post about both cats in the same post if you want. Subject line would have both cats. Or create two posts. Some people change their user names, so it could be Jodey&Eddie&Blue or leave it as you. Up to you.

Ok, thank you!!!
Here's the spreadsheet, which doesn't provide much yet.
In April 2021 Blue went hypo (I wasn't doing TR but was doing curves). I had to dig back into the archive. He was on 10u Lantus BiD and then one day, zero. So, he was OTJ since April 2021.

I'll try and get Blue's info into the signature. It doesn't seem to allow for too many "characters" (LOL).

Here's link to SS: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1cFp1J9kUnXiILoDB3H4eXymvgXHFz1MlL3PjySaoamk/edit?usp=sharing
 
Hmmm, how do I get a SS to allow for info on two cats! Tells me there's "too many characters". Ain't that the truth.
You trim the text. For example, instead of "Diet: LC wet/Dosing TR", just put "TR". Following TR means you are feeding low carb wet or raw. Move the part of reductions into the top line of your spreadsheet for Eddie, cause that's specific to Eddie. Shorten the section on meds to Thyroxine/DDAVP/Pred. I presume that is the same for both? Not sure what the post surgery/post SRT means anyway, so you can remove them.
 
You trim the text. For example, instead of "Diet: LC wet/Dosing TR", just put "TR". Following TR means you are feeding low carb wet or raw. Move the part of reductions into the top line of your spreadsheet for Eddie, cause that's specific to Eddie. Shorten the section on meds to Thyroxine/DDAVP/Pred. I presume that is the same for both? Not sure what the post surgery/post SRT means anyway, so you can remove them.
Ok, Text trimmed. I tried inserting link to Blue's SS and it won't go "live". In Eddie's it says "Eddie's Spreadsheet" and a link has been added to that but I can't figure out how to do the same for Blue....Sorry, trying to also get some other work done in between all this! Thanks, Wendy.

It won't let me add Blue as in Jodey&Eddie&Blue. It doesn't show up.
 
First grab the URL to Blue's spreadsheet. Then go to edit your signature, and type in "Blue's SS", then use your cursor to highlight those words. Select the chain link icon above the text box (7th from left), and in the pop up box that appears, past the URL to the spreadsheet. When you are changing your signature, look to the left. There is a long list of actions you can do, including one on the bottom under advanced options, that says "change username". You can change your name there.
 
First grab the URL to Blue's spreadsheet. Then go to edit your signature, and type in "Blue's SS", then use your cursor to highlight those words. Select the chain link icon above the text box (7th from left), and in the pop up box that appears, past the URL to the spreadsheet. When you are changing your signature, look to the left. There is a long list of actions you can do, including one on the bottom under advanced options, that says "change username". You can change your name there.
Got it, thank you!!
 
Here are Misters Eddie and Blue MISTERS B & E.jpeg MR BLUE 1.jpeg

Blue's situation is as complex as Eddie's. Firstly, they are actual brothers. Blue was first diagnosed with DM in August 2017 and then in December 2017, acromegaly. He had hypophysectomy in Feb 2028 at Washington State University (as did Eddie in 2020), went into remission and then back again with DM after a small regrowth for which he had fractionated radiotherapy at the end of 2018. In 2020 he had an MRI which showed a small regrowth and the MRI was taken as his BG was increasing. He had SRT in November 2020 and in early 2021 had a hypo incident and went OTJ since then. I would always take spot BG tests and until end of May 2022, he was in normal range. Then he had an incident and was diagnosed with early stage CKD. The vet put him on a "renal" diet (and I'm angry with myself for not paying enough attention to the components but Eddie was compromised in one way or another) and I missed the fact the "special" food was 38% carbohydrate. So, he's been on that for nearly 8 weeks. I saw he was a bit "low" last week and tested him: on the AlphaTrak he was "HI" first and then something like 570, off the charts!! Took him in and now he's back on insulin/Glargine 2u/BiD. The vet wants to increase to 4u because Blue's BG has been pretty high (I'm not convinced I should up it by 2u?). At the emergency in May we determined that his dentals were really in need of attention (they had earlier told me to just expect resorption and all would be well. It wasn't). Anyway, that his history in a nutshell. So, those dates are a bit complicated. How do I get all this information in them?

His most recent DM diagnosis was July 29th when I took him into emergency because I feared DKA (but he was ok). This time around he would have started insulin July 30th @ 2u BiD Glargine/Lantus. I am, of course, testing and I might have to ask for advice re a human meter since test strips for AlphaTrak2 are about $1.00 each and I'm burning through them!
 

Attachments

  • MISTERS B & E.jpeg
    MISTERS B & E.jpeg
    39.6 KB · Views: 156
  • MR BLUE 1.jpeg
    MR BLUE 1.jpeg
    79 KB · Views: 170
Don't beat yourself for listening to the IM vet! They are supposed to know what they are doing.

As for Blue's complications, add "CKD, needs dental" on the subject line if you can fit it. Also, are you following TR for Blue too? I'd add TR somewhere on the subject line.

As for Blue's dose, can you get preshots for him? I'd like to see a total of at least 5 cycles on this dose with a bit more data before jumping the gun on an increase. That means at least four tests per day. What is the portion of high carb vs low carb food you are feeding him now?

I know you mentioned they are out of schedule, but once you get them back on schedule, you are going to have to be very disciplined about it. Maybe put down two different coloured Post it notes with Blue written on one and Eddie on the other. Always load the syringes and put them on the correct Post it notes. Double check again before injecting. With Blue in high numbers as he is, you can easily move his shot up 1/2 hour tonight, maybe 1 hour.

Have you thought about getting two different meters for the two - get them in different colours. That way if you need to go back and capture readings, you know which cat it belonged to. I saw your note on misplacing the AMPS. Also about being pricey with two cats on the AT. Maybe start one on a human meter first so you can get used to it. The Freestyle Lite is quite similar if you want to give that one a go. It needs a same sized blood drop as the AT. I think London Drugs has good prices on strips, but ask around. Often they toss in a free meter when you buy strips.
 
Don't beat yourself for listening to the IM vet! They are supposed to know what they are doing.

As for Blue's complications, add "CKD, needs dental" on the subject line if you can fit it. Also, are you following TR for Blue too? I'd add TR somewhere on the subject line.

As for Blue's dose, can you get preshots for him? I'd like to see a total of at least 5 cycles on this dose with a bit more data before jumping the gun on an increase. That means at least four tests per day. What is the portion of high carb vs low carb food you are feeding him now?

I know you mentioned they are out of schedule, but once you get them back on schedule, you are going to have to be very disciplined about it. Maybe put down two different coloured Post it notes with Blue written on one and Eddie on the other. Always load the syringes and put them on the correct Post it notes. Double check again before injecting. With Blue in high numbers as he is, you can easily move his shot up 1/2 hour tonight, maybe 1 hour.

Have you thought about getting two different meters for the two - get them in different colours. That way if you need to go back and capture readings, you know which cat it belonged to. I saw your note on misplacing the AMPS. Also about being pricey with two cats on the AT. Maybe start one on a human meter first so you can get used to it. The Freestyle Lite is quite similar if you want to give that one a go. It needs a same sized blood drop as the AT. I think London Drugs has good prices on strips, but ask around. Often they toss in a free meter when you buy strips.

I was able to add "CKD, needs dental". I am aiming to do TR with him once I've got all the moving parts laid out in a relatable pattern. I will definitely get preshots for him and I can, as with Eddie, do four tests per days. As for his food, today he had majority HC at breakfast mixed with Weruva. Then at lunch, a dash of HC, the Weruva and I introduced the raw (chicken & EZComplete blend, which I made up yesterday), about a tsp. Dinner was like breakfast only a little less of the HC added to Weruva, a tsp of the raw. I also added in some RestoraLax as Blue's a bit constipated from whatever the last few days. He's tried the kitty box to no avail, although he is peeing ok.

I am trying to rearrange the routine to include Blue's needs. For over a year he's not needed insulin. When he was on insulin both of the were on the SL (can't recall acronym but you know what I mean). I'll be testing him preshot and +2 or +2.5 or +3, as I usually do with Eddie. I actually am very disciplined and lay out all the medications on the counter in different containers. Eddie's medications are tablet and now, because of dental, Blue's are liquid. What I used to do when he was on insulin was to give the medications and then give insulin when they are eating. I basically do the same now; the only difference is pre-shot and so I'll get in the groove. Really, it was just a bit of an upset with Blue going in to hospital again so soon. I'll certainly check out the Freestyle Lite and it's great that it needs only a little blood drop as the AT.

I'm trying to get Blue and Eddie on the same medication/shot schedule. The hospital put him on the 7:00am-7:00pm schedule and we've (including Blue) have been on the 8:00am-8:00pm schedule as there are 4 cats, two needing testing, insulin and other medications. I feed everyone -- or was feeding everyone at the same time, including the dog, Max. I missed the reading this morning because of trying to stagger the medications and feeding.

I feel more organized now. Had to get all the food lined up yesterday; took me to various stores and a long time to find the silicon tray (everyone here in the Okanagan with a boat must have bought them up).

Anyway, wish us luck. We're going to need it as I've also got to get Blue to the dental appointment in a month and get him rechecked. Then I have to decide what I'm doing about Eddie. I told the IM vet I wanted a referral to cardiologist but haven't heard back from him. He's a nice guy but really I think he lets things slide and doesn't keep track.

Phew, thanks so much everyone. Recalibrating here.
 
I'm trying to get Blue and Eddie on the same medication/shot schedule. The hospital put him on the 7:00am-7:00pm schedule and we've (including Blue) have been on the 8:00am-8:00pm schedule
I think you mentioned elsewhere that you were going to push Blue’s insulin shots by 15 minutes per cycle (or something like that) to get him back on an 8am/8pm schedule. If that’s the case, I’d honestly do the hour shift later to 8 am/pm all at once and just be done with it. No need to drag it out and make your life more complicated. Or maybe I misunderstood…
 
I think you mentioned elsewhere that you were going to push Blue’s insulin shots by 15 minutes per cycle (or something like that) to get him back on an 8am/8pm schedule. If that’s the case, I’d honestly do the hour shift later to 8 am/pm all at once and just be done with it. No need to drag it out and make your life more complicated. Or maybe I misunderstood…[/QUO

By tomorrow morning, they will be synchronized.
 
Here are Misters Eddie and Blue View attachment 65038 View attachment 65039

Blue's situation is as complex as Eddie's. Firstly, they are actual brothers. Blue was first diagnosed with DM in August 2017 and then in December 2017, acromegaly. He had hypophysectomy in Feb 2028 at Washington State University (as did Eddie in 2020), went into remission and then back again with DM after a small regrowth for which he had fractionated radiotherapy at the end of 2018. In 2020 he had an MRI which showed a small regrowth and the MRI was taken as his BG was increasing. He had SRT in November 2020 and in early 2021 had a hypo incident and went OTJ since then. I would always take spot BG tests and until end of May 2022, he was in normal range. Then he had an incident and was diagnosed with early stage CKD. The vet put him on a "renal" diet (and I'm angry with myself for not paying enough attention to the components but Eddie was compromised in one way or another) and I missed the fact the "special" food was 38% carbohydrate. So, he's been on that for nearly 8 weeks. I saw he was a bit "low" last week and tested him: on the AlphaTrak he was "HI" first and then something like 570, off the charts!! Took him in and now he's back on insulin/Glargine 2u/BiD. The vet wants to increase to 4u because Blue's BG has been pretty high (I'm not convinced I should up it by 2u?). At the emergency in May we determined that his dentals were really in need of attention (they had earlier told me to just expect resorption and all would be well. It wasn't). Anyway, that his history in a nutshell. So, those dates are a bit complicated. How do I get all this information in them?

His most recent DM diagnosis was July 29th when I took him into emergency because I feared DKA (but he was ok). This time around he would have started insulin July 30th @ 2u BiD Glargine/Lantus. I am, of course, testing and I might have to ask for advice re a human meter since test strips for AlphaTrak2 are about $1.00 each and I'm burning through them!

I agree with Wendy, you would think your IM would know something about FD but I don't think they are very well trained in FD at all. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
And I want to add, I am glad to meet Blue(though I wish it wasn't for this reason!!!), and for whatever reason my dumb mind had him being "Blue" as in the UK type Blue or at least black like Eddie LOL! :joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful:
 
Oh, gosh, one more question: should I be getting a phosphorus binder for Blue? And if so, how much would he be given?
What’s his phosphorus level? If under 5.0 it’s not needed. Are you familiar with tanyascrf site? Dosing for aluminum hydroxide can be found there and everything ckd related. Gosh you have your hands full! :bighug:
 
Back
Top