08/04 Molly AMBG 85- 85@+1

Adrienne & Molly (GA)

Member Since 2019
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/07-30-2020-molly-amps-124.232870/#post-2603603
I can't find the previous thread,from last week to add.
We went camping over the weekend. It was a two hour drive each way. Molly was the worse she's ever been for traveling. She meowed and panted the whole way. Straight for 2 hours DH and I were pretty stressed ourselves. What can we do? any suggestions to relax her? Also I skipped last nights PMPS and this morning is she still stressed?
 
Last edited:
My cats are TERRIBLE travellers. They settle down after a bit but, become excited again at any bump, sound or disturbance in the force. I try to help by minimizing their vision of the surrounding environment. Basically I cover their crates with a towel and only allow then to see me through the bottom half of the door. I comfort them with talking and touch through the door. I try to make them focus their attention on me through distraction. It helps but, does not eliminate the fear of travel. Some cats seem to travel better outside of a crate...loose in the car. I would NEVER attempt that because of the potential for a car accident. My cats would cling to my face and hinder my ability to function LOL:p:rolleyes:

I'm sure other peeps will chime in soon. Bach's rescue remedy, feliway spray and a number of other pheromones have been mentioned by other members, to help alleviate stress. Good luck:)

Be good for your beans Molly:cat:
 
My cats are TERRIBLE travellers. They settle down after a bit but, become excited again at any bump, sound or disturbance in the force. I try to help by minimizing their vision of the surrounding environment. Basically I cover their crates with a towel and only allow then to see me through the bottom half of the door. I comfort them with talking and touch through the door. I try to make them focus their attention on me through distraction. It helps but, does not eliminate the fear of travel. Some cats seem to travel better outside of a crate...loose in the car. I would NEVER attempt that because of the potential for a car accident. My cats would cling to my face and hinder my ability to function LOL:p:rolleyes:

I'm sure other peeps will chime in soon. Bach's rescue remedy, feliway spray and a number of other pheromones have been mentioned by other members, to help alleviate stress. Good luck:)

Be good for your beans Molly:cat:
 
Looking at your ss I think she’s flirting with a reduction by going a week in normal numbers. She almost made it!
 
My cats are TERRIBLE travellers. They settle down after a bit but, become excited again at any bump, sound or disturbance in the force. I try to help by minimizing their vision of the surrounding environment. Basically I cover their crates with a towel and only allow then to see me through the bottom half of the door. I comfort them with talking and touch through the door. I try to make them focus their attention on me through distraction. It helps but, does not eliminate the fear of travel. Some cats seem to travel better outside of a crate...loose in the car. I would NEVER attempt that because of the potential for a car accident. My cats would cling to my face and hinder my ability to function LOL:p:rolleyes:

I'm sure other peeps will chime in soon. Bach's rescue remedy, feliway spray and a number of other pheromones have been mentioned by other members, to help alleviate stress. Good luck:)

Be good for your beans Molly:cat:
We've tried everything I put a blanket over her crate, we let her out to roam and it's the same every time. We put one of her litter boxes on the floor of the truck. Give her treats I talk to her sing nothing works.
What is pheromones? and does the feliway spray work?
 
I saw that but I’ve actually seen cats here go OTJ after two years! I see you’ve shot less that n .25 for long periods of time in the past as well.

I skipped last night and this morning shot. Where last night we we're stressed from the traveling and I had to get some sleep. This morning I was a little shocked where she hasn't had any insulin past 24 hours. Testing the waters I guess
 
I'm sorry Molly was so stressed. Nice numbers today with the skipped shot.
It was terrible Carla the worse yet. Someone told me she’d get better with travelling yeah right. Plus she had the poops. Had to stop clean her up it was a terrible trip home.
I went to the vet today and bought Feliway for our next trip camping, which is labour day weekend. I hope it works!
 
Feliway sprayed in the carrier and Rescue Remedy before departure really helped Neko, current civvie, not so much. We get to hear the song of her people every time we go to and from Whistler. :rolleyes:
 
Back
Top