08/10 Dixie PMPS 110 AMPS 124 +5 95

A snack at +8-9 often brings down the preshots but not if she vomits. Does it happen often? Have you tried giving ondansetron if it does? She’s just a little higher than we like to go otj. I’d keep monitoring like you are for awhile more.
 
A snack at +8-9 often brings down the preshots but not if she vomits. Does it happen often? Have you tried giving ondansetron if it does?
She doesn't get excited when the automatic feeder turns anymore, so its hard to determine when she actually eats her meals. I'll encourage her to eat at +8-9 and see how that goes. Since there isn't any actual shot, I guess I no longer need to hold off 2 hrs before "shot time", which is good because that is when she tends to wake up and want food.

She vomits maybe a couple of times a month, but then sometimes goes longer periods where she doesn't do it. She also sometimes (less frequently) has a coughing fit after eating. These both happen immediately after eating. I've brought both of these issues up to my vet (including a video of the coughing) and the vet says its just because of how fast she eats and the way a cat's anatomy is, and that she isn't worried about it. Sometimes she eats just a teaspoon and sometimes she licks the whole bowl clean (30g) very quickly. If she keeps up the vomiting then I will spread her food out onto a plate to slow her down. She honestly hasn't been vomiting that much lately except for the last week or so. The use of ondanestron never came up.

She’s just a little higher than we like to go otj. I’d keep monitoring like you are for awhile more.
Yeah, I wish she was lower but I'll keep testing. I'm not going to put her back on insulin until I've taken her back to the vet and discussed what happened. If she can't stay off insulin then that isn't a problem for me... I just want to be extra careful.
 
I would not rush to put her back on insulin either. Let her eat whenever she wants. If it’s early in the morning and convenient then grab a test 3-4 hours later. If she still coughs after eating you after you slow her down might want a cardiologist consult. Was the murmur ever checked by one? They can be insignificant or need attention. I’m not a bet but lost Max quickly to chf. We thought when he got less active and stopped jumping it was arthritis which he did have but that wasn’t it. I’m not saying that’s the case with your kitty of course and I am not a vet.
 
I would not rush to put her back on insulin either. Let her eat whenever she wants. If it’s early in the morning and convenient then grab a test 3-4 hours later. If she still coughs after eating you after you slow her down might want a cardiologist consult. Was the murmur ever checked by one? They can be insignificant or need attention. I’m not a bet but lost Max quickly to chf. We thought when he got less active and stopped jumping it was arthritis which he did have but that wasn’t it. I’m not saying that’s the case with your kitty of course and I am not a vet.
The coughing hasn't been very frequent. Maybe twice in the last month and then another again last year sometime... maybe six times in all.

Two vets said it sounded like she probably had a mild heart murmur. When she got her dental 2 years ago, the vet talked about doing an echo-cardiogram (is that what you are referring to?) but it was $700 and the vet said the results would be purely academic and wouldn't be necessary and so recommended either the ProBNP or nothing. I think I opted to do a ProBNP test instead, and I say 'think' since I've looked through my documents and can't find any results from it... but I probably did it since it wasn't very expensive.

She does tend to have a fast heart rate (230 :eek:) at the vet... she gets so stressed out there and it makes it difficult to get a correct blood pressure reading as well. They want to test her blood pressure from the car next time... I just dunno how to chill her out beforehand.

I'm sorry that you lost Max so suddenly :(
 
Actually.. I think she just coughed once in the last month. The other couple of times she has been doing this new burping type of thing. Like she will eat and then lay down and sorta gulp every 15 seconds or so. I prepare for her to vomit but she ends up fine and just stops after a couple of minutes... not sure what that is about.
 
Back
Top