08/21 Fistuk AMPS 320 +3.25 320 Dose advice increase?

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
I want to start TR today.

Increased to 2.5 on 08/18 evening with the vet’s advice. The vet’s not available and anyways I don’t have a regular one.

It’s the first time he stays the same after the shot (320). Will measure again at +6.

I wonder if I should increase today and in how much.

I noticed the 0.5 unit kind of knocks him down. And I also need to acknowledge that I’m feeling anxious about the increase and 0.5 unit. So would very much appreciate the advice.

This is my first post here. I read through the TR protocol and posts' guidelines but I might have missed things so pls be gentle with me :)
Thank you!
 
Welcome to the LBL forum! :-)
Here's your link to your previous condo in the Main forum for continuity:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/damaged-insulin-what-do-i-do.280689/

It's good you are following TR now - you can get him to a good dose quickly. Doesn't look like 2.5U did anything for him. With TR you increase by 0.5U if nadirs are over 300, so unless you see better numbers today, you can take him up to 3U tonight.
 
Welcome to the LBL forum! :)
Here's your link to your previous condo in the Main forum for continuity:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/damaged-insulin-what-do-i-do.280689/

It's good you are following TR now - you can get him to a good dose quickly. Doesn't look like 2.5U did anything for him. With TR you increase by 0.5U if nadirs are over 300, so unless you see better numbers today, you can take him up to 3U tonight.
Thank you! Seeing you here brings a smile to my face :)

ok… I’ll keep checking and updating his SS
 
Glad to see you’ve come over to the LLB forum, and that you’ve decided to follow TR. I was going to ask yesterday, since from looking at Fistuk’s SS it looks like he is getting a little too comfy in higher numbers, and TR will allow you to evaluate the dose more frequently and decide whether to increase.

You’ve held this dose now for 6 cycles, and only got one nadir under 300. With nadirs (plural) above 300, per TR you can increase this pm dose by 0.5u to 3.0u.
 
How are his BGs ? Has he dipped into yellow again?

You are generally doing great with bg testing, one slight concern for me, I am very data driven, when it comes to making dosing decisions, is a bit of a gap in testing in the pm cycle.

Is the +2 your just before bed test?

I would encourage a just before bed test if that's possible. I adjusted my shot times so I could get a +4 or +5 at 11 or midnight.

I
 
Last edited:
How are his BGs ? Has he dipped into yellow again?
Not yet :( You can have a look at my ss

You are generally doing great with bg testing, one slight concern for me, I am very data driven, when it comes to making dosing decisions, is a bit of a gap in testing in the pm cycle.

The +2 is before bed. I'll try and add a +4. I got so little sleep over the past two weeks with him. Bt he normally wakes me up at around 1am when he's eating I guess I could squeeze a test there since he's waking me up anyways
 
I join the rest in welcoming you here both here. It’s great to see you found your way over and TR is a good choice especially for a cat who has had DKA in the past.

I agree with Gill that it would be helpful to see a +2 and before bed test at night because we are very cautious about raising the dose before we know how low the current one is taking him. However, in this case, his SS does not indicate to me that he’s going so low that he couldn’t benefit from an increase and with him having had DKA and ketones (I’m assuming you test daily?), following TR, we would increase by 0.5u. Yes…he had one BG under 300 that we saw but that’s not enough to convince me he needs just a 0.25u increase.

It’s very important, though, that besides the PS each cycle, you get a +2 and during the day a mid cycle test and at night a before bed test. It’s also good to randomly test at +10 or +11 in the a.m. cycle so you can see what the end of his cycle looks like going into PMPS. If you test at +11, you will still need to test again at PMPS.

Good luck with the dose increase!
 
@Gill & George I see in your SS that you added a food column. Perhaps I should do that too. He's gotten so slim. Last night I petted him and felt his spine, never felt his spine before. I chase him like a Jewish mum all day with food. He's eating well but he's so slim
 
I found it helpful to monitor food intake though George's problem was that he was too fluffy.
:joyful:

You can record food u the comments I did it in the boxes, I liked to see it there helped me relate it to BG changes. But some folk prefer to just see the numbers there.

I would encourage you to keep a record, however you decide to do it.
Since i understood I'll need to manually convert the number if I add that column I won't do that. But I have added a column in my own tracking sheet so thanks for the idea :)
 
Y
Since i understood I'll need to manually convert the number if I add that column I won't do that. But I have added a column in my own tracking sheet so thanks for the idea :)
Oh yeah it's a bit tricky bit doable, I stard with a world sheet too. It would be helpful to those helping you to have access to what you are feeding, may not seem too important now but when your guy starts to have significant curves what food they are eating and when in the cycle they are eating it becomes very important, insuli is one part of the equation, food the other.

You could create a tab where you log that info so others may access it when needed.

Just a thought :)
 
Y

Oh yeah it's a bit tricky bit doable, I stard with a world sheet too. It would be helpful to those helping you to have access to what you are feeding, may not seem too important now but when your guy starts to have significant curves what food they are eating and when in the cycle they are eating it becomes very important, insuli is one part of the equation, food the other.

You could create a tab where you log that info so others may access it when needed.

Just a thought :)
I see.... well... I'll probably do that but not just yet :)
 
Welcome to LLB. I’m glad you will start posting here! As you can see you will get more eyes on your condo. You could also just write what you feed in the comments section rather than add another column if easier.
 
:joyful::joyful::joyful:
I know it seems we want to know what colour knickers fistuck is wearing.

Hope he behaves with the dose increase,

How is he feeling? Eating?
:joyful::joyful::joyful: Well i don't blame you, he's so handsome :)

He's doing ok. He's been sleeping quite a lot today but it's been really quite hot so we're all a bit flat. And he's eating which is why I'm less worried (bc I get worried about him quite often these days). Last night I woke up at 1:30 am panicky, I looked to see if he's eaten the food (I leave him a plate next tp his bed which is next to my bed :) ) And he hasn't but as soon as I woke up he woke up and started eating :D

His legs are still slippery but he bumps against stuff a tiny bit less. Started with methyl today. I think n the whole today has been the quietest day I've had in three weeks.

I just learned three days ago that the food I've given him was still medium carb. Changed that to low carb two days ago so we'll see how he's doing with that. But in terms of eating - he is eating it.
 
I'm now bit confused as I do test at +2. I inject at 8pm my time and test at +2, meaning at 10pm
I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to confuse you. I just meant going forward now that you are doing TR. You’ve been doing a great job of getting the +2 test.

I do. There's a column in my SS
I’m sorry I missed this. I was on my iPad and didn’t scroll far enough right. Great job!
 
Ok, so I have a super basic question.... BG 50-99 is green. But isn't below 80 is too low?
No the normal range for a healthy cat is 50-80 (human meter)

Ultimately the aim is to get him in those numbers for mostvof the day, it's unlikely to happen overnight, but we will get there slowly

With TR we aim to get them in the normal range.
 
Welcome to the Lantus board, good luck with the increase ,
Since you started TR I would add that to your signature ,that's the first thing members will look for
Just put Started TR and the date
Tap in your name up top then tap on signature add it then tap Save :cat:
@shellys
 
Back
Top