? 08/23 Fistuk PMPS 347, +2 364, +5.5 338, +9.5 373 |AMPS 387

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...s-326-2-358-6-301-10-356.280760/#post-3096844

Good morning.

I'm feeling a bit down that with the insulin increase Fistuk's BG is raising again.

I have 'insulin resistance' playing in my head. It's probably something I might have heard sometime, somewhere... Is it relevant? What is it, really?

It feels like his body is getting a bit tired of higher BG. It's been quite hot here over the past few days in an unusual way though he's never been bothered by heat, it started only with diabetes.

Gave him 25ml Sub Q. Vet suggested everyday 50ml if he's comfortable or every other day if he's not. And he's not. I realised that at the moment his window of tolerance is 25ml and I don't want to antagonise him. So we'll increase gradually.

His resistance to shots is subsiding (also bc of finding the right spot for him and encouraging a fuss-less attitude about it for both os us)

His hips are quite wobbly, back legs are slippery and weak (he's on Methyl 3g now)

What should I make of the BG rise? It looked hopeful towards the yellowfins and now it's settling too deeply in the pinks.


Thanks for your help!
 
I wonder if it could be that I gave him a fur shot. I didn't think so but I'll make extra sure this eve that it's not.
+2 419 :(
 
Mother thing I'm wondering about... I started giving him B12 methyl. This morning he had 3gr. I did check very carefully the table that it's free from any nasty stuff. Here's what I give him in case anyone has a moment to have a look at it:
https://www.sunday.de/en/methylcobalamin-vitamin-b12-1-000-g.html#

I use their products myself and have been impressed by their quality. The specify:
free from magnesium stearate, silicon dioxide, nanoparticles (no legal opportunism), genetic engineering, artificial colours and flavours, titanium dioxide and added sugar & sweeteners

It's also free from: soy, gluten, fructose, lactose, yeast
 
I'm feeling a bit down that with the insulin increase Fistuk's BG is raising again.

I have 'insulin resistance' playing in my head. It's probably something I might have heard sometime, somewhere... Is it relevant? What is it, really?
Hang in there. It's just a matter of getting to the right dose. It's possible that you are seeing some glucose toxicity - which is a temporary form of insulin resistance that develops from his body getting used to being in higher numbers and considering them the new normal. Once you get to a good dose (you must be fed-up of hearing that) to break through the glucose toxicity, you will start seeing better numbers.

Take a look at these 2 spreadsheets:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...FBwSzVCGmfP5ttHjJ4whWslZE/edit#gid=1182885903
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...iZPzcYph7SlVOxU7zR744aV5E/edit#gid=1182885903


This looks okay to me.
 
Hi Shelly,:bighug:

It's very hot here too 42 degree yesterday, it does seem to affect my diabetic cat most, I try to cool him of by using a damp cloth on his face, he seems to apreciate it.

The BG levels aren't doing anything are they? I empathise with your frustration and concern, you probably just haven't got to a good dose yet. Let see what happens this morning.

Xan you clarify what you mean by him not coping well with heat/high numbers?
Is he lethargic? Not eating enough?
 
Mother thing I'm wondering about... I started giving him B12 methyl. This morning he had 3gr. I did check very carefully the table that it's free from any nasty stuff. Here's what I give him in case anyone has a moment to have a look at it:
https://www.sunday.de/en/methylcobalamin-vitamin-b12-1-000-g.html#

I use their products myself and have been impressed by their quality. The specify:
free from magnesium stearate, silicon dioxide, nanoparticles (no legal opportunism), genetic engineering, artificial colours and flavours, titanium dioxide and added sugar & sweeteners

It's also free from: soy, gluten, fructose, lactose, yeast
Looks OK to me, shouldn't be responsible for raising bg
 
Hi Shelly,:bighug:

Xan you clarify what you mean by him not coping well with heat/high numbers?
Is he lethargic? Not eating enough?
Well he just looks weak and worn out by the heat. I think very much like humans ;) He's eating well, he's not lethargic I think. Bc he is moving around and always looking for a cool spot. I'll try to wet cloth, sounds like a good idea :)

It's only 30 degrees here but rather unusual for Switzerland, especially here in the mountains. Today we have more breeze as we normally do but the last few days the air was quite still and it looked like he's reacting to this.


Thank you for your understanding of my frustration (& @Bandit's Mom :)) Each time there's a new phenomena like this my anxiety level goes up. I'm so afraid of him having ketones again and I'm still rather new to this world and I've been so far with very little to no support from vets so I can get quite jumpy when something doesn't make sense
 
Hang in there. It's just a matter of getting to the right dose. It's possible that you are seeing some glucose toxicity - which is a temporary form of insulin resistance that develops from his body getting used to being in higher numbers and considering them the new normal. Once you get to a good dose (you must be fed-up of hearing that) to break through the glucose toxicity, you will start seeing better numbers.
Thank you for sharing those SS. It brings tears to my eyes!! There's a sense in me that we'll need to get to higher doses before he gets more regulated so it makes sense (and I'm not tired of hearing this ;) so I'm gearing up mentally for this process. I don't know hwy but somehow it feels scary to get to 5/6units but if that's what it takes to help him out that's what we'll do :)
 
It's only 30 degrees here but rather unusual for Switzerland, especially here in the mountains.
Much more humid I imagine, we are in the mountains too but very arid, I imagine the sensation for you is not to dissimilar to 42 here for us.
We were in the pyrenees this July and 30 there felt liked 40 here. :)
 
Hi there Shelly :cool:

How did you discover that your kitty is diabetic?

I'm feeling a bit down that with the insulin increase Fistuk's BG is raising again.
I know that feeling all too well. Hang in there, and hang in here. :bighug:



I’m glad to see you are testing more in the PM cycle-your best decisions will be made when your data reveals the full picture.

“Know Thy Cat”

Regarding insulin resistance, there is an idiopathic condition called IAA, where the body produces antibodies that bind up the injected insulin making it unavailable. I would not be concerned at this time. If his dose gets to 5 or 6 units and he’s still swimming in a relentless sea of pink testing for IAA would be a good idea . My Black Kitty and I fought that battle…and won.:)

For the time being continue to follow the TR guidelines and collect as much data as possible.





 
How did you discover that your kitty is diabetic?
Hi :)
Fistuk started peeing outside of the box and in lakes quantities. Also, he ate only biscuits where normally he would get really upset at me if I didn't give hi, just wet food. He felt off so I went to the vet to check.

When looking back the signs were there and I actually brought them up, one by one as they occurred to his homeopathic vet. But she didn't do 1+1 And i had no clue about diabetes let alone in cats.

My Black Kitty and I fought that battle…and won.:)
Thank you for the encouragement and for sharing your experience. It really does make a difference

I guess since he did have lower BG at times I can assume that he's not getting the right dose yet as mentioned before and I sure am continuing with TR and also trying to continue to breathe in between ;)
 
How did you discover that your kitty is diabetic?
Hi :)
Fistuk started peeing outside of the box and in lakes quantities. Also, he ate only biscuits where normally he would get really upset at me if I didn't give hi, just wet food. He felt off so I went to the vet to check.

When looking back the signs were there and I actually brought them up, one by one as they occurred to his homeopathic vet. But she didn't do 1+1 And i had no clue about diabetes let alone in cats.

My Black Kitty and I fought that battle…and won.:)
Thank you for the encouragement and for sharing your experience. It really does make a difference

I guess since he did have lower BG at times I can assume that
 
Hi Shelly, considering that Fistuk is still flat and high after 4 cycles on 3U and given his history of DKA, you want to take him up to 3.5U tonight. We normally hold doses for at least 6 cycles with TR, but some cats - especially those with a history of ketones - are fast-tracked in dose. Since we are increasing his dose more aggressively, you want to make sure to get an additional mid-cycle (between +4 and +6) at night to ensure you aren't missing any lows. Sometimes cats go low at night and bounce in the day.
 
Hi Shelly, considering that Fistuk is still flat and high after 4 cycles on 3U and given his history of DKA, you want to take him up to 3.5U tonight. We normally hold doses for at least 6 cycles with TR, but some cats - especially those with a history of ketones - are fast-tracked in dose. Since we are increasing his dose more aggressively, you want to make sure to get an additional mid-cycle (between +4 and +6) at night to ensure you aren't missing any lows. Sometimes cats go low at night and bounce in the day.
I see. Ok. Just in time :)
 
Ánimo, esto es una batalla pero al final la ganaremos. Vamos a confiar en nuestros gatos. Habla con él y dale mucho ánimo al gato. Estoy seguro de que está mejor. Lo sienten.:bighug:
I do. I speak to him all the time. He got really upset with me now he’s had Sun Q today as well and he doesn’t like the needles
 
I see. Ok. Just in time :)
So I have it to him. He got really upset with me injecting and now he doesn’t want to eat. My husband is trying to feed him. He’s had a couple of mouthful before the injection. Hopefully his anger will relax and he’ll eat more in a few moments. On the whole he’s eaten quite well during the day
 
So I have it to him. He got really upset with me injecting and now he doesn’t want to eat. My husband is trying to feed him. He’s had a couple of mouthful before the injection. Hopefully his anger will relax and he’ll eat more in a few moments. On the whole he’s eaten quite well during the day
With Lantus you have some time between the shot and onset to get food into him.
 
It’s possible this higher dose of Lantus is stinging him. My baby girl felt it at 1.5u. We switched to Levemir for a variety of reasons but that was one of them.

Usually, we suggest that as cats get to higher doses like 5 or 6u bid, the caregiver considers switching to Levemir. Let’s see how he does but you can keep that an option.

I agree with increasing the dose to 3.5u tonight and we will reassess after four cycles but Bhooma is correct you might want to test a bit more so we see if he drops.
 
Last edited:
It’s possible this higher dose of Lantus is stinging him. My baby girl felt it at 1.5u. We switched to Levemir for a variety of reasons but that was one of them.

Usually, we suggest that as cats get to higher doses like 5 or 6u bid, the caregiver considers switching to Levemir. Let’s see how he does but you can keep that an option.

I agree with increasing the dose to 3.5u tonight and we will reassess dyer four cycles but Bhooma is correct that you might want to test a bit more so we see if he drops.
I’ll have to see if I can get Levemir here. I this he did start resisting it at the 1.5/2 units. But that could have also being because I used the same syringe twice (one of those things the vet assistant said it’s ok! :( )
I just got a call from the clinic today. They asked that I send them the Bg numbers before the vet calls me. They don’t know I have increased the dose because the vet wasn’t at the office. And frankly I don’t want anything to do with them anymore but I’ll have to even if just for the sake of getting the insulin.
 
He’s dropped to 319
First I checked it was 281 so I took another test with more blood and it’s 319

I hope it’s not too fast too much.

what shall I look for to know it’s too much of a drop?

and if he does shall I give him high carb food?

He’s gone to sleep now. He hardly moved when I pricked his ear.
 
what shall I look for to know it’s too much of a drop?
It's not a big drop, on the ss it says 355 pmps to 319 at +2, 30 pts in 2 hours.

I think you've put yesterday's numbers on the thread title :)

and if he does shall I give him high carb food?

He's a ling way off needing HC food we usually reserve that for drops under 50

He’s gone to sleep now. He hardly moved when I pricked his ear.
I'm sure all will be forgiven now
 
I'm sure all will be forgiven now
well that put a smile on my face. I sure hope so ;)

I think you've put yesterday's numbers on the thread title :)
I did :woot:

30 pts in 2 hours.
Ok. SO I should just let him sleep? And I'll check him at +4

I'm wondering if I gave him too much food for snack time that he was quite full by supper (which was nice to see he demanded for it an hour before time)
 
+7 194
I see it's going down slowly but it keeps on going down. I hope it'll settle at some point. he hasn't been in such numbers since we've started.

I feel I need to give him a rest from testing and let him sleep.

I'm wondering if I should give him again 3.5 units my AM?
 
Back
Top