Fistuk & Shelly
Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/08-26-fistuk-amps-272-2-5-281-6-216.280860/
Good morning.
Trying to stay cheerful today...
Good morning.
Trying to stay cheerful today...
Since the pm shot will be the 7th cycle of this dose I'd love to get your suggestions on what tests would be great to have during the pm cycle and if I shot the same dose the am cycle (I guess we'll need the +9 and PMPS to get a sense of that)
Possibly, or this dose is not doing it for him. This is cyclec7 since the blues which clearly triggered the bounce, so in theory if this is that bounce we are looking at it would be over, typically bounces last maximum 6 cycles.+2.5 437
He's clearly bouncing. I'm going to give his ears a break today. maybe I'll take +10 or +11?
Appears that way, give yourselves a break, maybe grab a +6 if you are home, just in case he surprises us, sometimes they through some high numbers before they break a bounce,.+2.5 437
He's clearly bouncing. I'm going to give his ears a break today. maybe I'll take +10 or +11?
Thanks for all the info and explanations, Gill. It really helps me learn.Appears that way, give yourselves a break, maybe grab a +6 if you are home, just in case he surprises us, sometimes they through some high numbers before they break a bounce,.
With him being in reds he will be peeing more, does he seem otherwise OK?
Yes, that nervousness about DKA speaks to me! Which is why I thought increase tonight despite the lack of sleep which really turns me up side down. I have lots of work to catch up with but at home. So I’m ready to do it tonight if it’s his best.He has been having an initial reaction to a dose increase... so he may well give you an active cycle tonight. Having said that those reactions were to 0.5u increases so maybe we won't see that in this next dose increase.
Ordinarily i would say do it in the morning cycle, but dka is still in the recent past, with the increase in symptoms and high numbers, in your position I'd take the increase tonight.
I hate seeing reds at the best of times and if kitty has a history of dka, it makes me very nervous.
Maybe try and grab a nap during the am cycle.why I thought increase tonight despite the lack of sleep which really turns me up side
I knowI suggested an increase tomo morning only because you wanted to increase in the AM
Yes! We've had buckets of rain in the past two/three days. We're down to 17 degrees, the heating is lightly on. Fistuk def appreciates the lower temps. My Israeli blood would have loved a bit more heatHas the temperature come down in Switzerland?
I do try. Not a good sleeper during the day :/Maybe try and grab a nap during the am cycle.
K.Give yourselves a break till this evening. +11
Thanks, Gill.Good luck with the new dose, hope it gets him out of the reds!
How is he ?
Stillmpeeing loads?
Otherwise ok?
Maybe Lantus is stinging him? Cats usually feel the sting at much higher doses but some cats feel it at lower doses as well. Try shooting at other locations? Where do you shoot right now?But as soon as I come close with the syringe he already knows and starts growling then wanting to run away. He looks terrified.
He doesn't like the ear poking? If so, you might want to test less in bounce cycles and give him a breakHe doesn't the ear poking no matter how loudly I might do it or how many times a day.
He will get betterI feel lost

I'm sorry,But as soon as I come close with the syringe he already knows and starts growling then wanting to run away. He looks terrified. He doesn't the ear poking no matter how loudly I might do it or how many times a day
At first I tried at the scruff but when I shifted to the flank and it was better but then he started resisting again.Try shooting at other locations?
Sorry I wasn't clear... He doesn't resist the ear poking, he's totally ok with itHe doesn't like the ear poking?
Thank you! At the moment my heart breaks that I hurt him like this and just adding to his traumaHe will get better
Yes absolutely gets treats. But I didn't make myself clear - he doesn't resist the ear poking at all, even if I get it sometimes bit wrong. But the insulin shot is a nightmareIs he getting a treat every time you pone his ear?
I did ask the vet but they don't have levemir.as marje mentioned
Not sure at all. In fact since he lost so much weight he doesn't have much fat to grab. I've watched several videos on youtube and I try to do a good tent, I pull the hair back so I make sure the skin is tenting and also I can see the skin and not fur-shoot.Are usually sure you are not getting him in the muscle?
Awesome!Let me get you some pictures
That's goodSorry I wasn't clear... He doesn't resist the ear poking, he's totally ok with it
Thanks! I didn’t know about the bevelDo look at the link there's a lot of good info in that post
This is what is meant by the bevel
View attachment 67525
It needs to be pointing up
I found that made a huge difference. Hope it helps.Thanks! I didn’t know about the bevel
Me too, you do need to make sure you really lift the skin to make sure it goes subqdo the roll technique but I guess I can do it more clearly.
I'm pretty sure levemir is available in Switzerland, its a human insulin, like lantus, you would get it from a pharmacy.I asked the vet if they have levemir but they don't
But I guess I need a prescription? When I asked the vet about it they wrote "we do not recommend switching to Levemir, we have no experience with this insulin in cats." :?you would get it from a pharmacy.
Well let's see how it goes with tweaking technique, perhaps the new vet might be more amenable when you go to Zurich.But I guess I need a prescription? When I asked the vet about it they wrote "we do not recommend switching to Levemir, we have no experience with this insulin in cats." :?
Hopefully … and hopefully ….Well let's see how it goes with tweaking technique, perhaps the new vet might be more amenable when you go to Zurich.
thay’s great. I’ll read it tomorrowJust a quick search this is not the full study, it cites some Cotherstone studies, we can probably help you get access to the full studies so you can approach vet with them, that might help.
yes. I got it from them. Bc the first vet that gave me insulin was the one in my village and they gave me caninsulin. I called to ask if they have mantis or Levemir they have neitherDo they have experience with lantus?
Good nightStill seems pretty high and Flat you could give yourselves a break.
