? 09/06 Chico 121@PMPS; 90@1PM; 85@1.5; 85@2; 85@3

Marina & Chico

Very Active Member
We finally go the lab results, the bile acid is normal nonetheless LDH is increased (still didn’t receive the values), which based on the vet usually indicates some tissue damage and combined with the poor shape of the liver at the ultrasound she thinks it indicates at liver issues :(

She said that we have to start treating the liver but since the bile acid is ok, we can clean the teeth, which still might be the cause of the increased sugar.

The earliest she can do the teeth cleaning procedure is on Tuesday. If we start giving him insulin, we will have to skip the Monday evening and Tuesday dose, because we cannot feed him from midnight on Monday because of the anesthesia. We could use a couple more days without having to do the sugar dance but on the other hand we are worried that we are postponing this for too long…

On a positive note, we managed to have dinner out yesterday evening before the storm starts again :)

I guess we will have to decide until tonight if we start or not yet …

previous post
 
Hello Marina, I’m so sorry to read that our Chico isn’t doing well. :( You’ve been getting some excellent advice so I have nothing more to add than my strong belief that you will get him through this rough patch. Big hugs to you, my dear! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
LDH value is 62, normal range is up to 2.5 :( If this is his value (we have reasons to suspect it is not :banghead:) then this is super high and we should investigate more the root cause of the result. We are getting a second opinion on how to proceed.

Tonight i will fill in all the blood results in the spreadsheet and we will start insulin :(
 
Hello Marina, I’m so sorry to read that our Chico isn’t doing well. :( You’ve been getting some excellent advice so I have nothing more to add than my strong belief that you will get him through this rough patch. Big hugs to you, my dear! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you Katherine very much for your kind words :bighug::bighug:

Listen i wanted to ask you if Ruby has ever had her LDH value tested? i read that very often this value is used for differentiating IBD from lymphoma so i thought maybe you would have heard about it.

How are you doing otherwise? i noticed you are much less on the forum lately, hope it is just routine life that got you busy:bighug:
 
First short given, we are pretty confident in what to do, like we never took a break, i just hope we won't endanger him with being too confident :bookworm:
we have honey, we don't have the syringe anymore though, we don't have an extra battery for the meter that we have to buy. Hope we didn't forget about anything.

I filled in the lab data even though i have some doubts about the validity of the results, long story short we are changing the vet again o_O Due to vet change teeth cleaning is postponed for next Thursday.
 
@tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko @Bandit's Mom
Can you please advise us if we can consider this a surf and that he wont drop anymore? DB will test at +5, is that ok?

what about food? Can we continue our feeding schedule:
35g @PS; 25g@3; 20g@6 and 20@9 or should we shift to earlier the +9 meal?

thank you for your help :bighug:
 
Thank you Katherine very much for your kind words :bighug::bighug:

Listen i wanted to ask you if Ruby has ever had her LDH value tested? i read that very often this value is used for differentiating IBD from lymphoma so i thought maybe you would have heard about it.

How are you doing otherwise? i noticed you are much less on the forum lately, hope it is just routine life that got you busy:bighug:
Hi Marina,
I have never heard of an LDH test before. I researched EVERY option when Ruby wasn’t well and I was trying to find an alternative to doing an endoscopy for her GI issues. Sorry I can’t be of more help. Yes, I’m online a lot less these days. My work occupies a huge part of my brain and I travel a lot these days so I come home and I crash rather than sit on the computer. I do miss everyone though and come back periodically to lurk.
 
Hi Marina, nice surf last night (sorry, your tag was 1:40 am for me!). Flat all the way. :D
At such a low dose it would help to give that snack at +9. See how he does with that and if you need to move it to +8.
 
Surf's up!:D

I found this paper on using LDH to try to differentiate IBD from alimentary lymphoma. A quote from the Conclusion section:
Although our study showed that gender and age are significant factors in differentiating serum total LDH between cats with alimentary lymphoma and those with IBD, this test had poor diagnostic accuracy in differentiating between these two conditions in the overall population.
 
Hi Marina, nice surf last night (sorry, your tag was 1:40 am for me!). Flat all the way. :D
At such a low dose it would help to give that snack at +9. See how he does with that and if you need to move it to +8.
I knew it was night for you, so don’t worry :bighug:
Thank you for the feeding schedule advise, we will try for a while like this and then decide if changing makes sense :)
 
Back
Top