09.07.22 Chispa 379 AMPS, 358 +2

Karen and Chispa (GA)

Member Since 2022
Yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/09-06-22-chispa-242-amps-5-274-2-288-5-369-pmps.268062/

Chispa rewarded my middle-of-the-night retest with a surprise 170. Now she's back up in the pinks. Her shot this morning was late because I've been sneaking the time up to accommodate and early departure/late return from a concert tomorrow night -- and managed to set this morning's testing alarm for the correct hour, but PM not AM. :facepalm: Looks like I will be getting up in the middle of the night for a few more days at least.
 
Cruising in the pinks today.
I've been measuring her water consumption, and it's decreased from a high of 450 ml/day to low 200 mls. I'm taking that as a good sign ... does anyone know for sure?
 
I found that when I switched over to an exclusively wet/canned diet that both my kitties (one diabetic and one not) stopped drinking water. Given that canned food is typically high in moisture by guaranteed analysis, that would be expected.

That said, I see you have dry food referenced in your signature. If you have removed that from her diet, would you please correct your signature? I note you commented previously that you are following TR; however TR does require that no dry food be in the mix. If you are still feeding dry food you will need to follow SLGS.
 
That said, I see you have dry food referenced in your signature.

Hi Christie - Thanks for your note. I’m not sure where you are seeing dry food in my signature; both of the foods I’m feeding are canned. The Royal Canin is relatively high in carbs because it’s a prescription diet for CKD. I mix it with the Weruva to bring the total carbs to less than 10%. That said, I do need to change my signature to reflect the current 40% RC : 60% Weruva mix.
 
Perhaps I need a stronger eye glass prescription - I could have sworn it said Royal Canin hydrolized dry ;). Sorry, and thanks for clarifying.
 
Last edited:
I could have sworn it said Royal Canin hydrolized dry

No worries! :cat: This mix I'm feeding is my best attempt at figuring out a diet that balances low-phosphorous (for CKD) with low-carb (for FD). I saw that Weruva has recently come out with a line of "Wx" food that addresses both needs, but their site emphasizes that it is "not a complete and balanced diet" because of low phosphorous. They don't say anything about the science behind it (were vets consulted?), or about fortifying it with other ingredients to benefit CKD cats, as Hill's and Royal Canin do. I'm planning to call or email them with questions, just haven't gotten to it yet.
 
Back
Top