09/08-24 New Member - the first couple of days and bouncing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Solveig

Member
Hello!
So my name is Solveig, Norwegian, and I have a norwegian forest cat who’s recently been diagnosed with diabetes. Its gone undiagnosed for some time and I’ve recently taken her in and started treatment to give her a chance to avoid for her to be euthinized. But I am struggeling. Its an emotional rollercoaster.

So, Could someone explain to me how to deal with "bouncing"?

The cat I treat is very thin, (2,5 kg/5 lbs) so I try to stabilize the numbers below 15 (below 300) quickly, to make sure she is get her nutrients. This has led to a rapid increase in the dose, which has probably contributed to the problem.

First dosage 0.025 ml (1 unit) Caninsulin

Measurement 2200 - 18.9 mmol/l (2 hours after insulin and food)
Measurement 0800 - 22.2 (before food and insulin)
Measurement 0940 - 17.8
Measurement 1120 - 18.7 (2.5 hours since food)
Measurement 1320 - 21.9 (ate some dry feed)
Measurement 18:30 - 18.4 (fasting from 13:15)
Measurement 1930 - 18.0 (fasting from 13:15)

Spoke to the vet and since we haven't gone below 18, she said I could increase the dose by one unit. The vet said she is very pleased if we can get her down to between 8-15 as the initial goal.

Dosage: 0.050 (2 units) - Caninsulin
As well as removal of dry food, fed exclusively with VOM and wet food for diabetics)

Measurement 2130 - 20.6 (90 grams VOM given 1920)
Measurement 22:50 - 15.3 mmol/L
Measurement 00:00 - 17.1
Measurement 03:00 - 23.1
Measurement 0800 - 20.8
Measurement 11:15 - 14.7
Measurement 13:30 - 15.1 (80 grams VOM given)
Measurement 16:15 - 25.5 (super bounce)

Certainly not good to increase the dose so quickly, but she has not been on insulin for long (4 days) so did not think it would affect so badly. Is the dose too high or should I just keep a steady course?

The last reading had me in tears to be honest, so very thankful for all help!
 
Last edited:
Hello!
So my name is Solveig, Norwegian, and I have a norwegian forest cat who’s recently been diagnosed with diabetes. Its gone undiagnosed for some time and I’ve recently taken her in and started treatment to give her a chance to avoid for her to be euthinized. But I am struggeling. Its an emotional rollercoaster.

So, Could someone explain to me how to deal with "bouncing"?
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

The cat I treat is very thin, (2,5 kg/5 lbs) so I try to stabilize the numbers below 15 (below 300) quickly, to make sure she is get her nutrients. This has led to a rapid increase in the dose, which has probably contributed to the problem.

First dosage 0.025 ml (1 unit) Caninsulin

Measurement 2200 - 18.9 mmol/l (2 hours after insulin and food)
Measurement 0800 - 22.2 (before food and insulin)
Measurement 0940 - 17.8
Measurement 1120 - 18.7 (2.5 hours since food)
Measurement 1320 - 21.9 (ate some dry feed)
Measurement 18:30 - 18.4 (fasting from 13:15)
Measurement 1930 - 18.0 (fasting from 13:15)

Spoke to the vet and since we haven't gone below 18, she said I could increase the dose by one unit. The vet said she is very pleased if we can get her down to between 8-15 as the initial goal.

Dosage: 0.050 (2 units) - Caninsulin
As well as removal of dry food, fed exclusively with VOM and wet food for diabetics)

Measurement 2130 - 20.6 (90 grams VOM given 1920)
Measurement 22:50 - 15.3 mmol/L
Measurement 00:00 - 17.1
Measurement 03:00 - 23.1
Measurement 0800 - 20.8
Measurement 11:15 - 14.7
Measurement 13:30 - 15.1 (80 grams VOM given)
Measurement 16:15 - 25.5 (super bounce)

Certainly not good to increase the dose so quickly, but she has not been on insulin for long (4 days) so did not think it would affect so badly. Is the dose too high or should I just keep a steady course?

The last reading had me in tears to be honest, so very thankful for all help!
 
Welcome to FDMB! I'm the caregiver/servant of two Norwegian Forest Cats. They are a wonderful breed!

How old is your cat? 5 lbs is very small for an NFC.

I'm going to make a few suggestions. First, bouncing -- especially during the beginning stage of treating feline diabetes -- is not unusual. However, Caninsulin is a fast acting insulin that drops blood glucose (BG) numbers quickly and doesn't last for the duration of the 12-hour cycle. The guidelines from the American Animal Hospital no longer recommends it for the treatment of feline diabetes given is limited duration. The two insulins that are recommended are either glargine (Lantus or one of the biosimilars) or Prozinc. I'd discuss a change in insulin with your vet. It can be very hard to determine if your cat is bouncing versus the insulin wearing off when you are using an insulin like Caninsulin.

I would not increase the dose by 1.0u. Caninsulin is harsh and can drop numbers very quickly. We recommend dose increases of 0.25u. While it can be frustrating to see your cat in higher numbers, it's much harder on you and your cat if numbers drop very low and you are working to get your cat into a safe BG range. You do not want your cat to have a symptomatic hypoglycemic episode.

I'm not familiar with VOM. At least here in the US, many of the "diabetic" foods are really not low in carbohydrates. Even though they may be labeled as prescription foods designed for diabetics, there is really nothing in the food that is specific to diabetes. I would suggest using an online cat food carbohydrate calculator to determine if the food is low in carbs unless the manufacturer has that information available. It is generally not listed on the food label. We consider low carb as under 10% although most members feed their cat a food that is in the 5% range.

I'd also like to suggest you read over this post on helping us to help you. The post provides instructions on helping you to get started on FDMB. In particular, there is information on setting up your signature. This helps us to not keep asking you the same questions repeatedly. There is also instructions on setting up a spreadsheet. The spreadsheet is a place where you can keep track of your cat's progress and it allows us to see your cat's test results and offer feedback.
 
Hi and welcome to the forum… feline diabetes is a very treatable disease and cats can live a normal life with it.
Four days on insulin is a very short time. Don’t expect results immediately. We can definitely help you.
It is very overwhelming in the beginning but gets much easier. Hang in there. Keep posting.:)
 
Welcome to FDMB! I'm the caregiver/servant of two Norwegian Forest Cats. They are a wonderful breed! Yes, she is truly the most beautiful and parient pasient, although scary skinny! She had handled the move like a champ!

How old is your cat? 5 lbs is very small for an NFC.
She is 9 years old, born i 2015. She looks like a walking corps which is the reason of my desperation to get her stabilized below 13 mmol so she benefit from her nutrients

I'm going to make a few suggestions. First, bouncing -- especially during the beginning stage of treating feline diabetes -- is not unusual. However, Caninsulin is a fast acting insulin that drops blood glucose (BG) numbers quickly and doesn't last for the duration of the 12-hour cycle. The guidelines from the American Animal Hospital no longer recommends it for the treatment of feline diabetes given is limited duration. The two insulins that are recommended are either glargine (Lantus or one of the biosimilars) or Prozinc. I'd discuss a change in insulin with your vet. It can be very hard to determine if your cat is bouncing versus the insulin wearing off when you are using an insulin like Caninsulin. We will discuss a change in insulin with our veterinarien, although I’ve met a lot of resistment (which is understandable, its a marathon not a sprint) when discussing her treatmentplan as every veterinarien has said we need to wait 3 weeks before reevaluating her dosage or insulin. Its very frustrating as this cat does not have time to be in the higher numbers BG for that long. There is nothing to use as fuel. They weren’t even able to draw her blood due to low blood pressure, so they needed to giver her IV fluids in order to do the blood panel.

I would not increase the dose by 1.0u. Caninsulin is harsh and can drop numbers very quickly. We recommend dose increases of 0.25u. While it can be frustrating to see your cat in higher numbers, it's much harder on you and your cat if numbers drop very low and you are working to get your cat into a safe BG range. You do not want your cat to have a symptomatic hypoglycemic episode. Currently we have not gotten below 14 mmol (and unfortunately only once) so I am currently not too worried about a hypoglycemic episode, I would greatly prefer that i needed to think more about it, atleast that would indicate that she is responding to treatment. Currently the plan is keep the current dosage, but maybe reevaluate the insulin type.

I'm not familiar with VOM. At least here in the US, many of the "diabetic" foods are really not low in carbohydrates. Even though they may be labeled as prescription foods designed for diabetics, there is really nothing in the food that is specific to diabetes. I would suggest using an online cat food carbohydrate calculator to determine if the food is low in carbs unless the manufacturer has that information available. It is generally not listed on the food label. We consider low carb as under 10% although most members feed their cat a food that is in the 5% range.
VOM is raw food, free from sugar, starch and cornproducts. Its a complete nutriotion option. I did discuss the use of VOM with on a swedish forum and they said I might need to reevaluate it due to high protein content (16%) which will greatly impact her BG. So I am looking into buying Mjau and bonzita.

I'd also like to suggest you read over this post on helping us to help you. The post provides instructions on helping you to get started on FDMB. In particular, there is information on setting up your signature. This helps us to not keep asking you the same questions repeatedly. There is also instructions on setting up a spreadsheet. The spreadsheet is a place where you can keep track of your cat's progress and it allows us to see your cat's test results and offer feedback.

I will set up at my signature and spreadsheet, I assume this is easier from a computer? And thank you for replying! I am feeling very overwhelmed with the situation as a really want to save her and give her a good last phase of life

Additional comment: English is not my first language, so please do not hesitate to ask if something is unclear or just poorly explained.
 
Last edited:
Hi and welcome to the forum… feline diabetes is a very treatable disease and cats can live a normal life with it.
Four days on insulin is a very short time. Don’t expect results immediately. We can definitely help you.
It is very overwhelming in the beginning but gets much easier. Hang in there. Keep posting.:)

Thank you for the uplifting words! I will try to keep my spirit up and remind myself of your feedback. Quick question, is it so that as long as she is in the higher BG she will keep tearing on her body despite having insulin in her system? Or would she be able to utilize the food I provide her, alongside the insulin, as fuel? She doesn’t have any bodyfat, which is the source of my desperation.

Additional comment: English is not my first language, so please do not hesitate to ask if something is unclear or just poorly explained.
 
If you need any help with setting up the spreadsheet let us know and someone will help you.
Quick question, is it so that as long as she is in the higher BG she will keep tearing on her body despite having insulin in her system? Or would she be able to utilize the food I provide her, alongside the insulin, as fuel? She doesn’t have any bodyfat, which is the source of my desperation
Now that she is getting insulin, her body should start to utilise the nutrients in the food. But it will take time for her to put on weight.
Are you feeding her 30 minutes before you give the caninsulin? Caninsulin is not really a good insulin for cats as it hits hard and fast so your kitty needs food in her tummy when you give the insulin.
Also I would give lots of snacks during each of the cycles. A snack is a couple of teaspoons of normal low carb food. This will help keep her blood glucose from dropping too low and will help try and put some weight on her again.
I would also ask the vet if you can swap to a more suitable insulin such as glargine (Lantus). It is a more gentle longer lasting insulin and much better for cats.
Your English is very good and I can understand you very well:)
Keep asking us questions. We are very happy to help you
 
The VOM sounds like it might be a very good choice. Many of the people on FDMB feed their cat a raw diet. A diet that is 16% carbs is actually lower in carbs than the food that many members here feed their cats. The amount of protein will not have an impact on BG. Protein is 0% carb. As an example, Fancy Feast Classics are in the 30 - 40% protein range. (Take a look at this chart of US canned food that lists protein and other nutrients along with carbs.) Cats are obligate carnivores. They can't digest/metabolize carbohydrates (any plant material) and in the wild, the only place they get carbs is from the digestive tract of their prey. I would suggest checking the percentage of carbs in the VOM. If it's only 16% protein, you need to know how much carbohydrate is in the food. Corn is not the only culprit when it comes to carbs.

Feeling overwhelmed is exactly how everyone here has felt when they found out their cat was diagnosed with diabetes. There's a huge amount of information to absorb and most vets don't really give you the tools you need. In addition, vets aren't around 24/7. We are. This is an international message board so there is usually someone knowlegeable who is around (e.g., Bron is in Australia). Members are also very generous with their experience and time.

We're here to help.
 
The VOM sounds like it might be a very good choice. Many of the people on FDMB feed their cat a raw diet. A diet that is 16% carbs is actually lower in carbs than the food that many members here feed their cats. The amount of protein will not have an impact on BG. Protein is 0% carb. As an example, Fancy Feast Classics are in the 30 - 40% protein range. (Take a look at this chart of US canned food that lists protein and other nutrients along with carbs.) Cats are obligate carnivores. They can't digest/metabolize carbohydrates (any plant material) and in the wild, the only place they get carbs is from the digestive tract of their prey. I would suggest checking the percentage of carbs in the VOM. If it's only 16% protein, you need to know how much carbohydrate is in the food. Corn is not the only culprit when it comes to carbs.

Feeling overwhelmed is exactly how everyone here has felt when they found out their cat was diagnosed with diabetes. There's a huge amount of information to absorb and most vets don't really give you the tools you need. In addition, vets aren't around 24/7. We are. This is an international message board so there is usually someone knowlegeable who is around (e.g., Bron is in Australia). Members are also very generous with their experience and time.

We're here to help.
Welcome Solveig, you are in the right place, I myself, not imagining that cats could have diabetes, it took me almost a month to notice something was wrong, Corky never liked being picked up he is 11now I adopted him at 6-8 weeks old, never being sick, weighing prior to noticing something was wrong 16.5 lbs, I did notice he was drinking too much water and never leaving the bowl site and pawing the water out and even crying to the bowl, I thought it was just a new habit he acquired, He is a very large cat, the day I passed by him and he did not move out of my way, I picked him up, he let me, he felt like a feather, my heart sank, I rushed to an emergency hospital, he was hospitalized, waited 9 hours in the lobby to be told he had diabetes his glucose level was 650(BG) and weighted only 8.5 lbs. he stayed for 8 days, I left crying I couldn't even see the road, I thought he was going to die, I was so overwhelmed, when I picked him back I came home with antibiotics, a sensor on his back, syringes, lancets, and a medicine for his appetite, MIRALAX, I had to force feed him because wouldn't
eat, I was pulling on his skin/fur so he would open his mouth so hard that the fur fell off and his skin was red, I was devastated to the extreme, then my Vet had no idea what to do and refused to treat him I was on my own, until I found this Forum by coincidence, like 3 months later, it was God sent, since that day, my Corky has flourished, I learned what to fed him ,how to shoot, how much insulin, increase or decrease, he gained all his weight back, eating well, and I am an obsessive tester, as you can see in his Spreadsheet, but slowly he is back to the amazing fur baby ever, thanks to this Forum I trust them blindly, I was taught to take a step back breath in and out, our stress, our cats senses, when I thought I was also might have put him down, He is as healthy as before the diabetes and almost on his way to remission, You Got This, here I learned ,to read everything in this Forum, changed to only wet Fancy Feast food Pates from 0-9% carbs all kinds of flavors and for snacks I give him Frick's Gourmet Ham 1% in little squares, since the commercial treats have 20-25% carbs, so, it's Learn, ask, do and trust, no concern of yours is a dumb concern, I read all other posts to learn as well, I am not an expert by all means, but if I read your post and see that your concern is out of my reach, I will tag other experts to help you, don't give up on your baby, he will recover before you blink your eyes, but patience, remember breath in breath out You Got This!:bighug:;):cat::cat:
 
Last edited:
If you need any help with setting up the spreadsheet let us know and someone will help you.

Now that she is getting insulin, her body should start to utilise the nutrients in the food. But it will take time for her to put on weight.
Are you feeding her 30 minutes before you give the caninsulin? Caninsulin is not really a good insulin for cats as it hits hard and fast so your kitty needs food in her tummy when you give the insulin.
Also I would give lots of snacks during each of the cycles. A snack is a couple of teaspoons of normal low carb food. This will help keep her blood glucose from dropping too low and will help try and put some weight on her again.
I would also ask the vet if you can swap to a more suitable insulin such as glargine (Lantus). It is a more gentle longer lasting insulin and much better for cats.
Your English is very good and I can understand you very well:)
Keep asking us questions. We are very happy to help you

I am thrilled to hear that atleast she won't necessarily be loosing any more weight. In the past I've provided her with meals alongside the insulin syringe, so I usually set her insulin (neck fold) while she is eating. I've discussed your feedback with my partner and do you think it could be a good solution to divide her meal so that she gets half of the meal 30 minutes before the syringe and the rest during (mostly to keep her occupied and to not make the syringe a very negative experience)

She gets 80 grams of VOM (Raw food) alongside the insulin, so 2 times a day.
Ingredients: Chicken (neck, heart, gizzard) and beef liver.
The product has no added water.

Energy: approx. 1380 kcal/kg

Ash 4.5%
Fat 8%
Protein 16.5%
Calcium 0.9%
Phosphorus 0.5%
Water max 71%

(I've sent a mail to the producers just to double check that there is NO carbohydrates added. I see they referenced the "Digestive" option (actually the one we are using for our dog, might need to swap that to make our life easier) is the only option that contains carbohydrates.)

and 1 pack of Diabetic Royal Canine mid-day (not alongside insulin). I will need to find a good snack option tho, she is not currently getting anything outside of meals as I wanted her blood sugar to regulate down between meals and insulin shots, and also get an idea of the dosage with the current feeding plan, that might be a bad idea?

Thank you for suggesting the snack, she is always hungry and we keep referencing her as "Mrs. David Toska" (norwegian burgler) and she continues to jump on our kitcher counter to try to steal food. Tbh, its a real headache to keep her away from food as we have a 6 month old and a toy-sized dog who constantly keep hiding food for her "rainy day fund".

We will call the vet tomorrow morning (its 9 PM here now) and discuss the possibility of changing her insulin for lantus :) I greatly appreciate your feedback!
 
The VOM sounds like it might be a very good choice. Many of the people on FDMB feed their cat a raw diet. A diet that is 16% carbs is actually lower in carbs than the food that many members here feed their cats. The amount of protein will not have an impact on BG. Protein is 0% carb. As an example, Fancy Feast Classics are in the 30 - 40% protein range. (Take a look at this chart of US canned food that lists protein and other nutrients along with carbs.) Cats are obligate carnivores. They can't digest/metabolize carbohydrates (any plant material) and in the wild, the only place they get carbs is from the digestive tract of their prey. I would suggest checking the percentage of carbs in the VOM. If it's only 16% protein, you need to know how much carbohydrate is in the food. Corn is not the only culprit when it comes to carbs.

Feeling overwhelmed is exactly how everyone here has felt when they found out their cat was diagnosed with diabetes. There's a huge amount of information to absorb and most vets don't really give you the tools you need. In addition, vets aren't around 24/7. We are. This is an international message board so there is usually someone knowlegeable who is around (e.g., Bron is in Australia). Members are also very generous with their experience and time.

We're here to help.

Hey!

Thanks you for your feedback! I've taken the oppurtunity to pull some information from the producers website, please let me know if you see anything that jumps out as bad from the below information.

She gets 80 grams of VOM (Raw food) alongside the insulin, so 2 times a day.

VOM original:
Ingredients: Chicken (neck, heart, gizzard) and beef liver.
The product has no added water.

Energy: approx. 1380 kcal/kg

Ash 4.5%
Fat 8%
Protein 16.5%
Calcium 0.9%
Phosphorus 0.5%
Water max 71%


The last two days I've also given her the Salmon version, she loves it:

Ingredients: Chicken (neck, heart, gizzard) and beef liver and salmon (10%).
The product has no added water. Energy: approx. 1520 kcal/kg

Ash 4.5%
Fat 10%
Protein 15.5%
Calcium 0.9%
Phosphorus 0.5%
Water max 72%

(I've sent a mail to the producers just to double check that there is NO carbohydrates added. I see they referenced the "Digestive" option (actually the one we are using for our dog, might need to swap that to make our life easier) is the only option that contains carbohydrates.)

and 1 pack of Diabetic Royal Canine mid-day (not alongside insulin).

GENERAL NOTE: my signature is set up with the spreadsheet, would someone mind checking if I've done this correctly? I used to be fairly OK at excel, but I've been in maternity leave for the last 8 months so my brain is broken.
 
Last edited:
Always remember that prescribed foods are not really effective for diabetic cats, Vendors sell to Vets this food as prescribed, there was a lawsuit in reference to this issue, these foods for cats with diabetes have an immense amount of carbs, that's what I started with Corky, his Glucose numbers never decreased, and I had no idea why, until I was refreshed on this issue, Vets are money makers they make a commission on selling us these foods, and in the meanwhile your cat is more often at the Vets office than in your house. below there is a Drs Food link for you to choose your preference, I enjoy Fancy Feast brand, and many flavors to choose from, made in the USA so it's very regulated, make sure though that they are between 0-10% carbs, also keep what we call a Hypo emergency kit, such as Karo syrup, some medium carbs such as Fancy Feast Medleys Florentine in a light sauce they have 9-10 & carbs and some High carbs of over 12-15% carbs in case you have a 50 or lower glucose reading , never use the Karo syrup unless his reading is less than 50, if you go to Corky's Spreadsheet on any day scroll to the right you will see remarks, there you will see what I feed the carb intakes how much and at what hours, Always test before shooting, I too shoot Corky while eating, do not feed on an empty stomach, I hope this was not too confusing for you:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
 
It looks like the VOM is low/no carb. It should be fine but it is lower in protein than foods that are available in the US. I would, however, encourage you to slowly eliminate the Royal Canin. Their products tend to be quite high in carbs. Even their canned diabetic food is 14% carb.
 
Always remember that prescribed foods are not really effective for diabetic cats, Vendors sell to Vets this food as prescribed, there was a lawsuit in reference to this issue, these foods for cats with diabetes have an immense amount of carbs, that's what I started with Corky, his Glucose numbers never decreased, and I had no idea why, until I was refreshed on this issue, Vets are money makers they make a commission on selling us these foods, and in the meanwhile your cat is more often at the Vets office than in your house. below there is a Drs Food link for you to choose your preference, I enjoy Fancy Feast brand, and many flavors to choose from, made in the USA so it's very regulated, make sure though that they are between 0-10% carbs, also keep what we call a Hypo emergency kit, such as Karo syrup, some medium carbs such as Fancy Feast Medleys Florentine in a light sauce they have 9-10 & carbs and some High carbs of over 12-15% carbs in case you have a 50 or lower glucose reading , never use the Karo syrup unless his reading is less than 50, if you go to Corky's Spreadsheet on any day scroll to the right you will see remarks, there you will see what I feed the carb intakes how much and at what hours, Always test before shooting, I too shoot Corky while eating, do not feed on an empty stomach, I hope this was not too confusing for you:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/

I was actually really baffled myself! I had a friend of mine over on Friday, her daughter has diabetes, so she wen't through the carbohydrate content of all of the food I was giving the cat, and we were astonished to see that they Royal Canine dry kebbles were loaded with Carbs, so they've been banned in this household.

I am unsure if we have these brand here in Norway, but I see that I am able to order Mjau and Bonzita which was recommended on a swedish forum, so I will try to get the hold of these two brands atleast, and I'll check if fancy feast is something I can buy online without bankrupting myself with import fees (Norway in a nutshell). Well, if you've seen Cleo's spreadsheets she is far away from any hypoglycemic episodes currently, but I've dilluted some powder sugar in water to have avaliable just in case. I will buy some sirup to have at hand! :) Thanks for the advise!

I usually test her before she starts eating, but the last couple of days I've let her start eating before measuring (an advise from my nurse sister) as I've understood that the food does not impact the blood sugar that fast and it makes the process a lot easier and more enjoyful for the both of us, is that OK? I usually give her the insulin towards the end of her meal to make sure she has eaten properly before "shooting her up"
 
I was actually really baffled myself! I had a friend of mine over on Friday, her daughter has diabetes, so she wen't through the carbohydrate content of all of the food I was giving the cat, and we were astonished to see that they Royal Canine dry kebbles were loaded with Carbs, so they've been banned in this household.

I am unsure if we have these brand here in Norway, but I see that I am able to order Mjau and Bonzita which was recommended on a swedish forum, so I will try to get the hold of these two brands atleast, and I'll check if fancy feast is something I can buy online without bankrupting myself with import fees (Norway in a nutshell). Well, if you've seen Cleo's spreadsheets she is far away from any hypoglycemic episodes currently, but I've dilluted some powder sugar in water to have avaliable just in case. I will buy some sirup to have at hand! :) Thanks for the advise!

I usually test her before she starts eating, but the last couple of days I've let her start eating before measuring (an advise from my nurse sister) as I've understood that the food does not impact the blood sugar that fast and it makes the process a lot easier and more enjoyful for the both of us, is that OK? I usually give her the insulin towards the end of her meal to make sure she has eaten properly before "shooting her up"
Check the link I send there a many many food brands that I’m sure you will find some in any pet web site within your range, remember breath in breath out!! Is the key, and yes I saw his SS but it’s always good to have that emergency kit in case of a sudden drop in glucose especially that you are making changes:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
It looks like the VOM is low/no carb. It should be fine but it is lower in protein than foods that are available in the US. I would, however, encourage you to slowly eliminate the Royal Canin. Their products tend to be quite high in carbs. Even their canned diabetic food is 14% carb.

Oh, maybe I should skip the diaetic wet food I am giving her, I've already removed the kebbles, but my friend who is trained in diabetes (diabetic daughter) said the wet food was really low carb and should be OK to use.

Initially I had removed it, but I was told on the swedish forum that I needed to go LOW protein due to protein having a big BG impact, so I really had a bad conciouse to have given her VOM for a while there, thinking I was helping her and only making her worse. Now I am a bit unsure what to do tbh, besides checking if I can get some fancy feast, mjau and bonzita in addition to asking the vet to shift to lantus as ther insulin.
 
Oh, maybe I should skip the diaetic wet food I am giving her, I've already removed the kebbles, but my friend who is trained in diabetes (diabetic daughter) said the wet food was really low carb and should be OK to use.

Initially I had removed it, but I was told on the swedish forum that I needed to go LOW protein due to protein having a big BG impact, so I really had a bad conciouse to have given her VOM for a while there, thinking I was helping her and only making her worse. Now I am a bit unsure what to do tbh, besides checking if I can get some fancy feast, mjau and bonzita in addition to asking the vet to shift to lantus as ther insulin.
Awesome!! I do not know if you Have availability and low costs on shipping with Chewy.com, the only thing is that the foods have to be bought in pkg of 24, so I buy once a month, no kibbles no dry food they have over 20-25% carbs As well as any commercial treats unless the FANCY FEAST does have natural tuna and salmon treats, I personally stick to any ham sliced wedge the label will show the carbs is usually 2% I buy the Frick’s Gourmet ham 1% make sure there are no sugars in the ham, then again my Corky and Coco do have me bankrupt, but they all I have, they are my kids my family, so they get my Beauty salon and pedi/manicure money, thank God I’m a hairstylist by trait, but it was nice going, but my babies come first so I hear you loud and clear:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Awesome!! I do not know if you Have availability and low costs on shipping with Chewy.com, the only thing is that the foods have to be bought in pkg of 24, so I buy once a month, no kibbles no dry food they have over 20-25% carbs As well as any commercial treats unless the FANCY FEAST does have natural tuna and salmon treats, I personally stick to any ham sliced wedge the label will show the carbs is usually 2% I buy the Frick’s Gourmet ham 1% make sure there are no sugars in the ham, then again my Corky and Coco do have me bankrupt, but they all I have, they are my kids my family, so they get my Beauty salon and pedi/manicure money, thank God I’m a hairstylist by trait, but it was nice going, but my babies come first so I hear you loud and clear:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:

Trust me, I understand! I keep referring to our household as Noah's diagnostic arc as both my animals are rescues and have diagnosis. Yesterday I was saying that our son needs a diagnosis soon to fit it! hahah, JK. Animals are the best thing about this world and should by protected as such. My partner was saying "who would have know that 5 years after I met you I am a father of 3!" hahah. Oh well, there is no pockets on the my funeral gown, so I'll spend my money on whats important while I can.

I will check out corkys spreadsheet, I need to get some inspiration as to what to include in the updates.
Whats your understanding of protein and BG impact? I actually switched Cleo back to VOM today after having put her on diabetic food yesterday because of the allegation that protein impacted her BG, but now I finally got my first OK ready of today with 15.8 (284), so I am not sure what to believe. If the diabetic food was OK to use as a mid-day snack, or if the VOM results in a slower decreasing BG so I am not getting this huge bounces. hmm. atleast I need to stop changing things up every 2 minutes because right now I do not know whats working.
 
Trust me, I understand! I keep referring to our household as Noah's diagnostic arc as both my animals are rescues and have diagnosis. Yesterday I was saying that our son needs a diagnosis soon to fit it! hahah, JK. Animals are the best thing about this world and should by protected as such. My partner was saying "who would have know that 5 years after I met you I am a father of 3!" hahah. Oh well, there is no pockets on the my funeral gown, so I'll spend my money on whats important while I can.

I will check out corkys spreadsheet, I need to get some inspiration as to what to include in the updates.
Whats your understanding of protein and BG impact? I actually switched Cleo back to VOM today after having put her on diabetic food yesterday because of the allegation that protein impacted her BG, but now I finally got my first OK ready of today with 15.8 (284), so I am not sure what to believe. If the diabetic food was OK to use as a mid-day snack, or if the VOM results in a slower decreasing BG so I am not getting this huge bounces. hmm. atleast I need to stop changing things up every 2 minutes because right now I do not know whats working.
About protein and BG’s I do not have that answer but I will tag an expert on your concern and remember no question or concerns is small ok?? Breath in and out !!
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
This is a really good website that discusses feline nutrition. It's written by a vet. It may help to put some of the information you've been given into perspective.

I'm not sure why the people you've been exchanging information with suggested that protein could raise blood glucose levels. If you look at any information on protein, it has no carbs. For example, a chicken breast has zero carbs. The only nutrient that raises blood glucose is carbs. All carbohydrates are broken down into glucose which is what causes BG to increase.
 
I would give a full meal 1/2 hour before the caninsulin and then when you give the insulin 1/2 hour later, give another small amount of food.
Apart from the 2 hours preshot (that is 2 hours before you test the BG before giving the insulin) I would not worry at all about how the food you feed will impact the blood glucose. We don’t tell human diabetics not to eat between shots and we should not do that to our kitties. They need to eat, especially your kitty who is very underweight. If you are feeding a low carb diet, it is not going to affect the BGs much.
So my suggestion would be to give at least three snacks during every cycle. Your kitty (name?) will be much happier not being hungry all the time.
Another thing….any higher carb food you are removing from the diet…please do it slowly…so as not to upset your kitty’s tummy and not to have the BGs drop too fast.
You need HIGH protein and LOW carbs for a diabetic cat.
Keep asking questions :)
 
I would give a full meal 1/2 hour before the caninsulin and then when you give the insulin 1/2 hour later, give another small amount of food.
Apart from the 2 hours preshot (that is 2 hours before you test the BG before giving the insulin) I would not worry at all about how the food you feed will impact the blood glucose. We don’t tell human diabetics not to eat between shots and we should not do that to our kitties. They need to eat, especially your kitty who is very underweight. If you are feeding a low carb diet, it is not going to affect the BGs much.
So my suggestion would be to give at least three snacks during every cycle. Your kitty (name?) will be much happier not being hungry all the time.
Another thing….any higher carb food you are removing from the diet…please do it slowly…so as not to upset your kitty’s tummy and not to have the BGs drop too fast.
You need HIGH protein and LOW carbs for a diabetic cat.
Keep asking questions :)

Hey! I tested doing this this morning but unfortuantely I got another huge spike (531), unsure if its bouncing going on or if I just gave her too much food. It would also seem like a pattern that its happening when we are reaching the yellow zone, when we've had measurements of 16 (299), 15 (272) and 14 (265) and then BOM we are in the 400s/450s.

Im always getting my hopes up that its going in the right direction and then the spikes are just getting higher and higher, but I am really not comfortable with starving her to get low numbers either although the vets direction was only three meals a day.

The diet is low carb and its the same food she got yesterday evening (SS) when we got 284 (+3) and 299 (AMPS).
Is the testing of AMPS and PMPS supposed to happen 2 hours before insulin? or should I just withold food 2 hours before testing/measuring before giving the insulin? apologize for the dumb questions, I am behind om my reading as I have a baby and a dog as well.

My kitties name is Cleo, and her stomach was completely out of wack when we took her in, she pooped 6 times in 6 hourse and it was all over the place, this has gotten significantly better after changing her diet, so I am hoping she is OK with the new food.
 
Who told you to swap from 1 unit to 2 units? That is a big jump in dose for a tiny cat.
the testing of AMPS and PMPS supposed to happen 2 hours before insulin? or should I just withold food 2 hours before testing/measuring before giving the insulin? apologize
No. You withhold food for the 2 hours before the insulin is due. Then you test the BG, then you wait 30 minutes before giving the insulin.
tested doing this this morning but unfortuantely I got another huge spike (531), unsure if its bouncing going on or if I just gave her too much food. It would also seem like a pattern that its happening when we are reaching the yellow zone, when we've had measurements of 16 (299), 15 (272) and 14 (265) and then BOM we are in the 400s/450s.
When cats have been a diabetic for a while, they get used to being in higher numbers and they think that the higher numbers are normal. Then when they start to drop lower with the insulin, they panic and dump regulatory hormones into the system and the BGs shoot up higher. Even a drop into the yellow numbers can trigger a bounce. This is what I think is happening to Cleo.
Don’t worry if the numbers bounce around. It is normal in newly diagnosed cats. It takes a while for things to settle down. It doesn’t happen in a couple of weeks. And it would not have been the food which sent to BGs so high.
Please keep giving her lots of snacks. She is too thin and needs the food.
 
Who told you to swap from 1 unit to 2 units? That is a big jump in dose for a tiny cat.

No. You withhold food for the 2 hours before the insulin is due. Then you test the BG, then you wait 30 minutes before giving the insulin.

When cats have been a diabetic for a while, they get used to being in higher numbers and they think that the higher numbers are normal. Then when they start to drop lower with the insulin, they panic and dump regulatory hormones into the system and the BGs shoot up higher. Even a drop into the yellow numbers can trigger a bounce. This is what I think is happening to Cleo.
Don’t worry if the numbers bounce around. It is normal in newly diagnosed cats. It takes a while for things to settle down. It doesn’t happen in a couple of weeks. And it would not have been the food which sent to BGs so high.
Please keep giving her lots of snacks. She is too thin and needs the food.

It was actually requested by me, unfortunately, I didn't know that bouncing was a thing nor that the caninsulin was this harsh at the time, just though the dosage was incorrect:banghead:. No one informed us that this was a possible cause either. We were unable to get her below 320 on the first dosage, we would come down to 320 and then up to the 400 again after a few hours. We didn't have bounces either, like the once we are seeing now, but after the switch its the first time she's been below 300 and in the yellow zone, so it seemed like the correct choice at the time, until the boucing started to happen.

Now I am unsure what to do. I want to check the possibility to switch to Lantus (same dosage) to get a more gentle decline of her BG and maybe avoid the bounces, but I am afraid to do another stupid choice that might comprimise her health by switching arround and messing up again :(

Now she is showing a lot of symptoms of high BG.. :facepalm:
feeling guilty now, I’ll tell you that much, I just didn’t know
 
Last edited:
You will definitely not be making a bad choice by swapping to Lantus insulin. Caninsulin is not recommended for cats as it is a dog insulin.
Keep testing often and feeding often and see the vet about a swap to Lantus.
Try not to be concerned about the higher BGs but do watch for BGs under 100. Do you have some honey and some higher carb food in the house in case of low numbers?

Also I would recommend you buy some Ketostix to test the urine for ketones. I’m not sure what the bottle of Ketostix is called in Norway but ask the pharmacist. It is to test for ketones in the urine. It is a human test but ok for cats too. :)
 
You will definitely not be making a bad choice by swapping to Lantus insulin. Caninsulin is not recommended for cats as it is a dog insulin.
Keep testing often and feeding often and see the vet about a swap to Lantus.
Try not to be concerned about the higher BGs but do watch for BGs under 100. Do you have some honey and some higher carb food in the house in case of low numbers? I've made a liquid solution from powdered sugar and a feeding syringe which I keep on standby, I've also purchased Syrup as I'd like to avoid honey having an infant in the house :nailbiting:

Also I would recommend you buy some Ketostix to test the urine for ketones. I’m not sure what the bottle of Ketostix is called in Norway but ask the pharmacist. It is to test for ketones in the urine. It is a human test but ok for cats too.

That's great advise! I will purchase some ketostix, but how do you feed the cat to make sure its not going into ketosis? are you giving them any dry kebbles alongside rawfeeding? I've also pruchased Bonzita wet food to test, but it only have 1,2 g og carbs, so I would assume its not enough to avoid ketosis :)
 
A diabetic cat will not go into ketosis ( ie get ketones in the urine) unless he is not getting enough insulin or not getting enough food. That is why we get you to test for ketones and suggest feeding snacks as well as meals. It is not necessary to give dry food. It’s not the carbs that will stop the ketones, it is enough calories.

I am curious as to why you don’t want honey in the house with an infant.
I live in Australia so I’m heading to bed. I’ll look in tomorrow my time.
 
A diabetic cat will not go into ketosis ( ie get ketones in the urine) unless he is not getting enough insulin or not getting enough food. That is why we get you to test for ketones and suggest feeding snacks as well as meals. It is not necessary to give dry food. It’s not the carbs that will stop the ketones, it is enough calories.

I am curious as to why you don’t want honey in the house with an infant.
I live in Australia so I’m heading to bed. I’ll look in tomorrow my time.

Okey, I've calculated that a cat of 6 kgs, 13,2 lbs, will need approximately 250 kcals a day. So I've made sure each meal contains atleast 100 kcals, approximately 70-80g of VOM per meal, and she usually get 4 meals (every 6 hour) as I was planning from my veterinariens instructions + a night meal so I am able to sleep, but I was contemplating splitting up her meals and giving smaller portions every 2-3 hours after injection to make sure she is not dropping too fast. Let me know if this is just dumb!

In Norway they recommend to avoid all interactions with honey while breastfeeding unless your being very good with making sure your not exposing the baby to it or its enviroment. Its a precautionary measure to avoid infant botulism. I am usually not that strickt about stuff, but in the case of honey my partner loves it, so we've just found that its easier to not keep it in the house, both for the baby and his weight ;) but of course, exeptions can be made, I just thought that cyrup would be an equally good option :)
 
Last edited:
She is not in good shape today. No appetite, she only laying down, her back foot caved in when walking. First time I've seen that, could be she wasn't paying attention but it really got to me. Is it because she's been in the red zone for too long? usually she gets the pep back in her step when she is in the lower numbers.
 
taking her to the vet. Unfortunately, since she's lost her appetite, she is vomiting and lethargic, not sure if we will be returning with her. I just got the prescription to change her to lantus today, and notification that her new diet food is on its way... May be she was too far gone before treatment started.
 
Last edited:
but I was contemplating splitting up her meals and giving smaller portions every 2-3 hours after injection to make sure she is not dropping too fast. Let me know if this is just dumb!
This is not dumb. It’s a good idea!
taking her to the vet. Unfortunately, since she's lost her appetite, she is vomiting and lethargic, not sure if we will be returning with her. I just got the prescription to change her to lantus today, and notification that her new diet food is on its way... May be she was too far gone before treatment started.
Oh I am so sorry to hear she is unwell again. Don’t loose hope. DKA can be treated.
Sending lots of good wishes
Please keep us updated.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
This is not dumb. It’s a good idea!

Oh I am so sorry to hear she is unwell again. Don’t loose hope. DKA can be treated.
Sending lots of good wishes
Please keep us updated.:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you for you well wishes! The jury is back and she is dehydrated again, we will need to go in everyday the next couple of days to get her treated with liquids. They will also use the chance to check on her. We also got antibiotics, no obviouse infection, but slight elevation of her NEU. We are also switching her to lantus for the evening dose tonight. We were also adviced to test a different insulin, so its good thing we already have the prescription to do so. As far as I got told, (I am getting updates from by husband) she does not have DKA.

:cat::cat::cat:
 
I am very glad she does not have DKA. If your husband is still at the vet, get him to ask for some antinausea tablets to bring home and ask them to give an anti vomiting injection before coming home. Remember it’s important she eats.
I would test for ketones at home, even though she does not have them now.
What dose of Lantus did they suggest? I would give 2 units twice a day as that is what you have been giving with the Vetsulin. And it is not dropping her low.
 
Thank you for you well wishes! The jury is back and she is dehydrated again, we will need to go in everyday the next couple of days to get her treated with liquids. They will also use the chance to check on her. We also got antibiotics, no obviouse infection, but slight elevation of her NEU. We are also switching her to lantus for the evening dose tonight. We were also adviced to test a different insulin, so its good thing we already have the prescription to do so. As far as I got told, (I am getting updates from by husband) she does not have DKA.

I am so sorry you are going thru all this, but DKA can be treated, you can try giving water with a syringe slowly from the side of the mouth, my Corky and Coco stopped
drinking from their water bowl for several reasons, so I put 2 tbsp of water in each meal plus I use the syringe to give them water, the small syringes 1 full twice a day as well, try everything you can do not give up on your kitty just yet, remember breath in breath out and if there's no DKA, you got this! it seem she seems to be a fighter, so let's fight to get her better. We are here for you:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
I am very glad she does not have DKA. If your husband is still at the vet, get him to ask for some antinausea tablets to bring home and ask them to give an anti vomiting injection before coming home. Remember it’s important she eats.
I would test for ketones at home, even though she does not have them now.
What dose of Lantus did they suggest? I would give 2 units twice a day as that is what you have been giving with the Vetsulin. And it is not dropping her low.

They gave her anti nausea medication and liquids at the vets office. The problem is that she won't eat. she barely moves, and when she does she is her back legs caves in. Hopefully the anti-nusea medication will quick in and give her her appetite back, but if not: what do we do? we can't give her the lantus without getting her to eat and she needs the food desperately.

They did not check for ketones because her kidney function was improved since the last labs, but we are going to the pharmacy to get the Lentus, so I will pick up some ketostix.

They are planning to keep the current dosage, but if she does not drop below 10 in the next week, they would like to put her down.
 

Thank you for keeping my spirit up! but she's not eating currently, she's barely moving at all, she seems weak. She has almost not eaten today, she got down half of her breakfest and threw up most. We've tried giving her wet food, which she usually looves, but she only moved away from it. My husband is suggestin force feeding her if necessary. any suggestions? @CORKY
 
Thank you for keeping my spirit up! but she's not eating currently, she's barely moving at all, she seems weak. She has almost not eaten today, she got down half of her breakfest and threw up most. We've tried giving her wet food, which she usually looves, but she only moved away from it. My husband is suggestin force feeding her if necessary. any suggestions? @CORKY
Yes your husband is right I had to force feed Corky at first as well , she need to eat to regain strenght and to give insulin, you can get a nay pharmacy a large syringe, ask the Pharmacist and wet down the food to be liquefied , grab her between the ears like the Vets do to inject and get as much as you can in, and that way she also gets water, I place Corky in the sink with a towel underneath her, the sink bathroom is better, smaller that way you have more control. I am so sorry for all you are going thru believe I feel you:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Yes your husband is right I had to force feed Corky at first as well , she need to eat to regain strenght and to give insulin, you can get a nay pharmacy a large syringe, ask the Pharmacist and wet down the food to be liquefied , grab her between the ears like the Vets do to inject and get as much as you can in, and that way she also gets water, I place Corky in the sink with a towel underneath her, the sink bathroom is better, smaller that way you have more control. I am so sorry for all you are going thru believe I feel you:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:

I've force fed her about 5 syringes with catmilk and some cat soup I found at the store! She is so lethargic it hasn't been a problem. We were just able to get her blood sugar after many tries, her ears just won't bleed, 18.2 so I think we are OK to give her the Lantus. Will keep force feeding her throughout the night, hopefully her appetite will pick back up eventually
 
I've force fed her about 5 syringes with catmilk and some cat soup I found at the store! She is so lethargic it hasn't been a problem. We were just able to get her blood sugar after many tries, her ears just won't bleed, 18.2 so I think we are OK to give her the Lantus. Will keep force feeding her throughout the night, hopefully her appetite will pick back up eventually

Awesome! see, I told you, you got this! You'll be a pro in no time with lots of patience and lots of love:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
PS
I wanted to let you know to keep your post with no more than 50 post, just make a new one with the same title followed by the date your new post with same title and Continuation at the end, this way it makes us easy to follow thru the 1st to present posts.
 
Awesome! see, I told you, you got this! You'll be a pro in no time with lots of patience and lots of love:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
PS
I wanted to let you know to keep your post with no more than 50 post, just make a new one with the same title followed by the date your new post with same title and Continuation at the end, this way it makes us easy to follow thru the 1st to present posts.

Okei, thank you for letting me know! I will do that! But how do you know if you've given the cat enough food? I've kinda just thrown everything into her in the hopes that she'll pick back up, some nutrients, get her apetite back, but I do understand this might be a longer road. and how did you do it through the night? did you get up and force feed the cat?
 
Okei, thank you for letting me know! I will do that! But how do you know if you've given the cat enough food? I've kinda just thrown everything into her in the hopes that she'll pick back up, some nutrients, get her apetite back, but I do understand this might be a longer road. and how did you do it through the night? did you get up and force feed the cat?

I personally have all the time in the world and I do not work, so I having two cats Coco (no-diabetic) and Corky (diabetic) I need to make sure they do not eat each others foods, they eat the same amount, but I need to make sure Corky eats his portion not only to know he ate and I can give insulin, but he is liiikes to eat, and if Coco leave food he will eat it too, there are also times where I need to put some 9% carbs in his food, and I do not need Coco to have diabetes as well, I am already bankrupt, and I can't go thru this again, so I sit on the bed with a towel on the bedspread and place the food next to each other, and watch them eat and I know exactly what he ate. and Coco he is 1/2 Main Coon(mountain cat) I adopted her when she was only 38 days old in April she turned 4 she has a very small upper clef gum, barely visible, but the soft food is harder for her to grab so I push it close to her, they are just so spoiled rotten, you have no idea, they are all I have, there is no family, they are my family my kids, if you want to meet them and have Facebook you can look them up, send a friend request, I am under Mayte Jorge, there are a lot of reels I have made of them you'll enjoy them and many many pictures of my fur babies, you'll see how obsessed I am over them :D:D:joyful::joyful::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Last edited:
Please get the Ketostix and test for ketones. I’m amazed they didn’t test for ketones. The kidney function has nothing to do with ketones. I think you urgently need to get ketones checked.
And you can give a half dose of insulin if she is not eating. She needs insulin. Keep monitoring the BGs

and that is rubbish wanting to put her down if her BGs don’t drop below 10 in a week. Plenty or most diabetic cats BGs don’t drop below 10 in the first few months. I think you need a new vet.
If she is as sick as you say, I would take her to a vet who knows what they are doing. Diabetes is very treatable. I am very concerned she might have ketones which have been missed. They are never a ‘wait and see’ thing. They must be treated asap.
Sending best wishes. Keep fighting for her and try and get a better vet asap
 
Please get the Ketostix and test for ketones. I’m amazed they didn’t test for ketones. The kidney function has nothing to do with ketones. I think you urgently need to get ketones checked.
And you can give a half dose of insulin if she is not eating. She needs insulin. Keep monitoring the BGs

and that is rubbish wanting to put her down if her BGs don’t drop below 10 in a week. Plenty or most diabetic cats BGs don’t drop below 10 in the first few months. I think you need a new vet.
If she is as sick as you say, I would take her to a vet who knows what they are doing. Diabetes is very treatable. I am very concerned she might have ketones which have been missed. They are never a ‘wait and see’ thing. They must be treated asap.
Sending best wishes. Keep fighting for her and try and get a better vet asap

Bron is right you need a new Vet, and diabetes is very treatable if not just see Corky's SS from last year to today, and you will see for real that is diabetes is treatable, it took a few months for Corky to normalize his Bg it was not from one day to the next, it was hard work , I test before AMPM/PMPS I check every 2 hours it became a habit, We worked with reducing or upping the insulin dose, it takes time, Corky was not use to the even low yellows never mind the blues at first, but slowly on since these two
months he has begun, to stay in the blues, and this month it has been glorifying to see almost all greens, I was terrified with AMPS/PMPS If had anything less than 150 I would began to panic and contacting every body weather I should shoot or not, and It took even me a while to get use to the blues and even shoot under 80-90's BG, I wouldn't go to sleep until I would test Corky with more than 150 BG, and sometimes it was 2 AM and now I go to bed with a 78-79 Bg and sleep like a baby, the reason I tell you all this, is because, this is new to you as it was for me, I stopped going to Corky's Vet for 10 years, because of instability on his part he had no idea about diabetes in cats, all cats are different and all cats react different to insulin, food changes, BG numbers, perhaps all the constant changes she's getting, is affecting her too, remember no question is a dumb question, the expert members are here to answer all your concerns and if they cannot they will advise to go to the vet, I believe I said this to you at the beginning, I trust this Forum blindly, with every suggestion given without questioning it, is important to take a bit of time to read, learn and trust, the experts will not guide you wrong; just see Corky's SS, I always refer to it, because he is a true testament of what this Forum's members have done for him, Corky was diagnosed January 2, 2023 I have not taken Corky back to a vet since April 2023 and that's because I found this Forum actually in August , I was panicking, almost to the point of a breakdown , no idea what I was doing, I thought Corky at some early point I was going to loose him, I cried every day, every day, these members told me that cats sense our emotions and fears and I was projecting this to him, I needed to be calm for his sake, I needed to breath in breath out I was given confidence on a daily basis, I allowed to be teachable even when I did not feel comfortable or afraid to do so. don't give up on Cleo, Diabetes is treatable, but not from one day to the other like the vets suggested, here you are in the right questions , ask as many times as you need to even if is the same questions OK! Remeber you'll be a Pro in no time :bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top