09/09 Milo AMPS 72. +3 31/ +3.25 32/+3.6 77/+4.25 131 (105?)**meter switch/+5 153/+6 175/+7 122/+9

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha, Sep 9, 2020.

  1. Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

    Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Starting off low today. Is that the beach? Lagoon? Never quite sure... but I know sharks! He’s not swimming there today I hope!

    Safe surfing folks. Have a good day.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  2. Butters & Lyla

    Butters & Lyla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2020
    Milo starting off in the lagoon! Happy surfing today. Stay away from the sharks.
    Have a good day, Sam.
     
  3. Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

    Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    OMG...I fell asleep and when I tested at +3, he's gone to 31. I fed 1T HC with 1/8 tsp maple syrup. I rubbed more on his gums. I can't believe I did this... He seems fine, wandering around and alert/happy.
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2020
  4. LindyNova

    LindyNova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    You did just fine....test again in 15-20 mins, and see if he comes up. Breathe....
     
  5. Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

    Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
  6. LindyNova

    LindyNova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    automatic reduction for pm shot
     
  7. Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

    Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    I just gave him 1/8 tsp more maple syrup. He seems fine but I'm a mess. When I retested, I used both meters (I stopped using the OneDrop because it is much higher than the Contour) and OneDrop said 2.8 when the Contour read 1.8
     
  8. LindyNova

    LindyNova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    A the next test, if he is below 50, give some more HC (no syrup) & test again in another 20 minutes.
     
  9. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    He definitely made it clear he wants less juice. If he’s below 50 I would give hc and a couple drops of syrup. You are doing great. The food will take about 20-30 minutes to register.
     
  10. LindyNova

    LindyNova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    It is very scary, you did good. see my message above. (I am not familiar with the Euro #s). it takes about 15-20 minutes for the carbs to hit...just like a regular meal. Use food to steer him upwards. When he gets above 50, test every half and hour---syrup wears out fast...and continue your normal feeding routine
     
  11. LindyNova

    LindyNova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    I am at work, so it will be hard for me to keep up with the string...are you available?
     
  12. Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

    Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Thanks. Sorry...Contour meter read 32 last reading and OneDrop read 50. A massive difference. Maybe the OneDrop is more accurate, not the Contour, based on his behaviour
     
  13. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. I will take over.
     
  14. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    With meter variance one could be 20% high and the other 20% low. Hard to say.
     
  15. Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

    Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    77 now, 95 according to OneDrop
     
    LindyNova and thebigfuzz like this.
  16. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Good. No food and test in 30 minutes. Is he hungry? If so you could give a little lc. You just want to keep him willing to eat if he drops when the syrup wears off.
     
    LindyNova and thebigfuzz like this.
  17. Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

    Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    I don't think I should give him more because he's not easy to get eating if I need him to. He's already eaten more than his usual by this time in the day...

    So, I'm not sure what to do. I'm going to be out of Contour strips within a day and a half. I don't trust the OneDrop and I am STILL waiting after a week for the testing solution from them and more strips. I do have enough to carry me through with the One Drop meter.
     
  18. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    So roughly 20% variance. I would use the One Drop and take that into account. Who knows? The Contour may be the wrong one but safety first. He didn’t have any symptoms.
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  19. LindyNova

    LindyNova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    Thank you.
     
  20. Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

    Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Thanks both of you. I have switched to the OneDrop meter and it's reading 131 (that would still be over 100 on the Contour)
     
    Sue and Luci and LindyNova like this.
  21. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    What about having a higher "take action" number when using the One Drop?
     
  22. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    That’s more or less what I was thinking.
     
  23. Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

    Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    It seems to be 18% higher than the Contour. I have some fluid to test so I’m sure however you do it I can try both meters. It’s nerve wracking. How to trust the one that reads higher??? And I’ve been basing all actions on the lower.... what does that mean for dosing?? I agree that it seems his dose needs to be adjusted lower as he’s been staying quite low and I’ve been feeding/testing him carefully up until my oops this opening
     
  24. Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

    Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Suggestions what that might be? Presumably the OneDrop would have registered around 49 earlier when the Contour read 31. Would most cats be showing sign of hypo at 31? Milo was not at all.
     
  25. LindyNova

    LindyNova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    Many cats do not show any signs when in the 30s....Nova did not--she was just famished---even at 30. I think I have read somewhere on someone else's post that the Countour reads closer to the Alpha track pet meter. If anyone reads this and has more knowledge, they may want to confirm or deny.

    Great job today....keep testing at least every hour. :bighug:
     
  26. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Max only maybe showed signs once in the 30’s and that could have been he just had it with testing and me pushing food. He growled at me. Other times no sign. Another one of those ECID but why we need to test so much when low. Many would go from okay to serious hypo without us knowing.
     
    LindyNova likes this.
  27. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Maybe your take action number should be 68 like with the AT then?
     
  28. Frogster

    Frogster Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2020
    I only heard about a significant difference between whole blood and plasma calibrated meters. After a quick search: "What's the difference?" you might ask. The difference is that plasma numbers read about 10 - 12% higher than the older whole blood numbers. So if your fasting and pre-meal blood glucose target is 90 - 130 mg/dl plasma glucose, it would be 80 - 120 mg/dl if your meter reads whole blood.
    I thought all modern meters were plasma calibrated though.
    But 68 as a take action number for Contour seems to fit nicely with my girl's SS.
     
  29. Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

    Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    I'm going to stick to OneDrop for now because those supplies are much more plentiful and on-hand at the moment. So, stick with the suggested numbers and only adjust if I have to use the Contour in emergencies?
    +5 131
     
  30. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I'm glad Milo came back up for you.
     
    Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha likes this.
  31. Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

    Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
  32. Pamela & Amethyst

    Pamela & Amethyst Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2016
  33. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Good luck with the reduction. Quite the morning! :eek: Well handled.
    Just had to comment on this, they are World numbers, not just Europe. ;)
     
    Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha likes this.
  34. LindyNova

    LindyNova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    I stand corrected :oops:
     
    Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha likes this.
  35. Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

    Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Canadian numbers for us!
    Well, this day is just not ending... Milo is now:
    +9 85 (which would be about 67 using the Contour). Why still dropping??? Should I feed MC? He still seems to want to eat...
     
    LindyNova likes this.
  36. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    How long since he last had anything with higher carbs? Could it be wearing off?
     
  37. Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

    Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    He's just been eating LC and raw throughout the day. He had HC at +3
     
  38. LindyNova

    LindyNova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    I agree with Wendy...Milo could be coming down from the extra carbbing. He is just a few hours from pmps.....85 is a good number, and you most likely do not need to feed, but a bit of LC rather than MC might do the trick to keep him from dropping further. It would be the last snack before pmps. Keep testing, tho, he may hold steady.
     
    Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha likes this.
  39. Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

    Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    I offered him a bit of raw and some plain yogurt I make. He refuses to eat the supplement with probiotics but will eat the yogurt with 12 different strains of probiotics. He is holding steady at 101 on the new meter.
    Thanks for everyone supporting today. It's been a challenge.
     
    LindyNova likes this.
  40. Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

    Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2020
  41. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    He hasn't onset yet, can you check in an hour?
     
  42. Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

    Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    I will set my alarm and check him. I don’t want anymore excitement but I’m exhausted beyond reason. Thanks again for today.
     
  43. LindyNova

    LindyNova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    It doesn't look like Milo gets a boost from pre-shot food, like my Nova. I would set my alarm and get a +3 for good measure. Good luck tonight & as much as I hate to say this...I hope he stays at the beach so you can get some rest. :) :bighug: (and there's nothing wrong with a bit o extra LC/MC mix to hold him over before bed. ;))
     
  44. Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

    Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    +3.5 83 and I gave him 2T MC. I had a feeling....
    +5.5 97
    I wonder where he would have gone without the MC....
     
  45. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Congratulations on switching to the OneDrop. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

    I glanced at some of your conversations above. When I first switched over to the OneDrop if too found some variations in the numbers but realized they were all within 'range' of the basic colors - typically - a 70 was about the same as a 60 or a 90...it was still a 'green' range number. I tried my old meter AND a Pet Meter for comparison You can see the three entries on my SS during that time - January 2019.
     
  46. LindyNova

    LindyNova Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    What a nice PM cycle. Those healing Greens are what we all aim for. :D You are very lucky to see them so early in this dance. I hope Milo keeps it up for you! (without visiting those sharkies!) :cat:
     
  47. Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha

    Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2020
    I think I just have to get used to the new numbers. I agree, when they are in the green range, no problem. But with such a big discrepancy between meters, there's a big difference in action between a 32 and a 50! Freaks me out! I hope my OneDrop supplies arrive shortly or I will have a problem with not enough test strips. I don't want to go back to the Contour unless necessary but it's taking FOREVER for the package to arrive. When I first ordered, the OneDrop kit arrived the NEXT day. Based on this, I thought it would always be pretty prompt but the mail service might be unreliable or the company isn't as motivated to send replacement supplies as to get you first signed up. Not sure what to think...
     

Share This Page