09/ 10 Blaze AMPS 9.1/164

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Blaze and Paola, Sep 10, 2020.

  1. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
  2. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    I can't tell what that number means...can you enter it into your SS so that it'll convert?

    Are you using an AT2 or Onetouch meter today?
     
  3. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I am using AT 9.1 = 164
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  4. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    Not sure why you'd switch...all of the dosing methods here are written for use with human meters...

    164 looks like a decent number to shoot. Nice mid-range blue.

    How long before you'll be home to check again? Or is anyone else able to check? Do you have medium carb food that you could leave out for him? An auto feeder?
     
    Blaze and Paola likes this.
  5. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
  6. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    I have to go...be back later...

    Let me know what you've decided to do.
     
    Blaze and Paola likes this.
  7. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    He actually went back to the bowl and ate! I gave him his shot as usual. I will get my neighbour to come check on him and leave food in the automatic feeder.
     
    Critter Mom and Sue and Luci like this.
  8. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Paola can claim back the cost of strips from her insurance for the Alphatrak but not for a human meter.


    Mogs
    .
     
    Blaze and Paola likes this.
  9. Sue and Luci

    Sue and Luci Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2017
    What kind of insurance does she have? Pet insurance?
     
  10. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Pet insurance, to the very best of my knowledge.


    Mogs
     
    Sue and Luci and Blaze and Paola like this.
  11. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Good morning, I am on a 10 min break before going into a class.
    I have pet insurance, 24PETWATCH.
    I can't afford paying for the strips out of my pocket...only way is to claim Blaze's ATrack strips through the insurance.
    It covers 80% of it...I just received the claim back and they reimbursed the insulin as well, and the testing device.
     
    Sue and Luci likes this.
  12. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    At first I had purchased the human meter with strips because when Blz was diagnosed, I was supposed to give him insulin (vet orders) but wait for 7 (I repeat 7!) days before receiving the Alphatrak that was ordered for him. So basically I was asked to shoot Blaze blindly without knowing his levels and hope for the best.
    I couldn't get myself to do that so I went out and bought a human one for the meantime and thankful I did so becuase the dosage they wanted me to give him was way too high and one day he went very close to hypo...lucklily I was home and gave him food...he was howling, he ate voraciously, I had never seen him like that.
    When I saw that, I said to myself...screw that! And went and bought a human one.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  13. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Great start and sounds like he’s feeling better. It’s good that you have both meters. If ever you get a test that’s crazy high or low that just doesn’t make sense, you can retest with the other. So always keep some of the human meter strips around.

    I hope the kids are treating you well. Thank heaven for your neighbor!
     
    Blaze and Paola and Critter Mom like this.
  14. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Amen to that! :)


    Mogs
    .
     
    Blaze and Paola likes this.
  15. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Popping by to drop off another gratuitous :bighug:.


    Mogs
    .
     
  16. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I love your hugs Mogs!
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  17. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Hope you had a good day at school today, Paola. :)

    How are you all doing?

    .
     
    Blaze and Paola likes this.
  18. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Cats are doing good! Eating right now.
    I am exhausted...not side how I am going to cope wearing a mask and a shield all day trying to teach...its hard on my lungs. I feel claustrophobic under all that.
    Neighbour came but Ash is giving her the time a day...aggressive towards her, follows her around trying to bite her, hisses, swats...the other day she accidentally stepped on his tail and now he hates her.

    I will have her come when I am here to see of we can make some amends between them
     
  19. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    How to win friends and influence people...

    :D

    .
     
    Blaze and Paola and tiffmaxee like this.
  20. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    My son said that one of his friends is currently teaching from the doorway of the classroom. Too many kids. Not sure which grade(s). Not sure if it is in Ontario.
     
  21. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Not surprised...some of our classes are crowded. No room to distance...its crazy. I think I might get this virus at this point. I don't feek safe
     
  22. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    (((Paola)))

    I feel for you. About all of it. Must be so hard...

    .
     
    Blaze and Paola likes this.
  23. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I hate that you all are being put in this situation.
     
    Critter Mom and Blaze and Paola like this.
  24. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Yes it is so different...not sure how i am going to deal going forward but I dont have much of a choice
     
  25. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Your little buy sure has been nice and steady. Anti-jinx.
     
  26. Tom & Monty

    Tom & Monty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2020
    Paola, regarding your pet insurance allowing you to claim 80% of the cost of the AT strips. I'm not sure about the prices wherever you live but in the UK the gluco navii (human meter I use) test strips are more than 80% cheaper than AT2 strips.

    AT2 strips are about £0.96 per test
    Gluco Navii are about £0.14 per test
     
    Blaze and Paola and Critter Mom like this.

Share This Page