09/11 - Billo Day 2 on Lantus | AMPS 194 | +3 126

Abdullah

Member Since 2020
So Billo's BG levels are much different than yesterday, there is a significant difference. I will be monitoring her levels every two hours to see if I get the same flat curve that I got yesterday. Are these levels too low? I will also be collecting a ketone reading soon!
 
SLGS. Okay I will! She just ate a few hours ago, she’s in the middle of her usual nap at this time. Should I feed her now or wait until she usually wakes up (which is in about an hour)?
 
No need to feed HC food at this point...you could test again without food - to see if she's still dropping. Those are really very nice numbers...maybe a little bit of low carb food just to keep her from dropping...
 
She won't need high-carb yet, not unless she drops under 50. She's earned a reduction though! Congrats. :)
 
No need to feed HC food at this point...you could test again without food - to see if she's still dropping. Those are really very nice numbers...maybe a little bit of low carb food just to keep her from dropping...

Noted - she seems a little lethargic which is why I thought of the HC food. But okay I will monitor her for another 20 min and see if she drops below 50.


She won't need high-carb yet, not unless she drops under 50. She's earned a reduction though! Congrats. :)


Oh my. This was quick I’m glad!!

So under 90 on SLGS you'll need to reduce tonight by .25. Your new dose will be 2.25.

Do you have calipers? If not, I'd suggest getting these
https://www.harborfreight.com/hand-...rs-micrometer/4-in-digital-caliper-63710.html

They really help when it comes to splitting the increments and fine dosing - consistency with Lantus is important - same amount every time, unless there's an increase or reduction;same time of day 12 hours apart.


Sounds good I’ll make sure to do so! I do not own calipers but I’ll look into these now.

Thank you all!!
 
Is this the time of day she usually has a cat nap? Or is she trying to get up and walk around and is unable to?

Lethargy typically does not occur in cats in the 50's...


She’s usually up and about during this time, she’s following me around right now because she heard the sound of her food drawer opening (oops lol) and she is walking fine. I just got worried because she woke up from her usual nap, ate, and then went to lied down for another nap after staring out the window for a couple minutes.
 
Yeah sorry haha you'll have to re-learn a bit about when to intervene with HC since she's not on NPH anymore. :P

If it helps, I wrote this down in my log book to reference after someone helped me with low numbers.
Someone may have a different opinion because I thiiink this was when I was using Prozinc, but I still followed it on Lantus.

50-70 BG
Give 1-2 tsp LC, retest 20-30 minutes
If dropping, little more LC and repeat process
If holding, no more food but retest in 30 min
If rising, no more food and take a "poke break" (check 1 hr)

If you're early in the cycle though you might want to intervene with M/HC.
 
Sounds good I’ll make sure to do so! I do not own calipers but I’ll look into these now.
Harbor Freight doesn't ship to Canada, unfortunately. I got mine from Lee Valley Tools, if you have that in Edmonton. Canadian Tire carries them though they were much more expensive at full price. And of course, you can find them on Amazon. :)

Sorry I didn't see your tag til I came on.
Yes I would give her HC with that 41.
 
If it helps, I wrote this down in my log book to reference after someone helped me with low numbers.
Someone may have a different opinion because I thiiink this was when I was using Prozinc, but I still followed it on Lantus.

50-70 BG
Give 1-2 tsp LC, retest 20-30 minutes
If dropping, little more LC and repeat process
If holding, no more food but retest in 30 min
If rising, no more food and take a "poke break" (check 1 hr)

If you're early in the cycle though you might want to intervene with M/HC.
This definitely applies! MC & HC is generally reserved for early on and/or below 50.
 
What time was that at? Can you post all of the tests you've done and how much you fed her?

Then can you add all of your tests over the past hour to your spreadsheet?
 
We want to keep her from dropping below 50 again, so you'll need to keep monitoring. So I'm asking about when you fed and tested so I can see how she is reacting to the HC food.
Also, what kind of HC food did you give her?
 
What time was that at? Can you post all of the tests you've done and how much you fed her?

Then can you add all of your tests over the past hour to your spreadsheet?

I've updated the SS.

I gave her about 2 tsp of LC FF that was suggested earlier, I tested after 20 min, and saw that she had risen slightly, so I decided to stop feeding and test again after another 20 min. At +7 she was 41, +7.20 she was 44, +7.40, +8 she's at 50.

I have HC Meow Mix Chicken and Liver, should I go ahead with the HC or stick with the LC?
 
Excellent job with the testing and feeding.
For future, when she drops into the 40s, that is the time to use MC or HC to bring her back up, depending on how carb sensitive she is. Once she is over 50, then you can continue to steer with LC if she isn't dropping lower. As Sue said, "Feed the forties".
 
Excellent job with the testing and feeding.
For future, when she drops into the 40s, that is the time to use MC or HC to bring her back up, depending on how carb sensitive she is. Once she is over 50, then you can continue to steer with LC if she isn't dropping lower. As Sue said, "Feed the forties".

Sounds good! I'll make sure to keep that in mind. Thank you for staying by my side :)
 
Woo Billo! If she doesn't bounce from this (and so far she doesn't seem to be a bouncy girl) it may be helpful to get a +11 to see if you need to post and ask for dosing assistance this evening if she is still low.

I would put the info on what you fed in the Remarks column of your SS, that way you/others can look back to see what you did during the lower numbers food-wise. :)
 
Billo's BG at +8.20 is 55! Rising, slowly but surely.

Woo Billo! If she doesn't bounce from this (and so far she doesn't seem to be a bouncy girl) it may be helpful to get a +11 to see if you need to post and ask for dosing assistance this evening if she is still low.

I would put the info on what you fed in the Remarks column of your SS, that way you/others can look back to see what you did during the lower numbers food-wise. :)

That sounds like a good plan! I'll make sure to post here and then we can take things from there. Oh no way, I hadn't even scrolled over there! I was making remarks in my notepad lol, if only I had scrolled over a little!
 
She is making you work for it. Keep at it.
Remember what @Panic posted:
50-70 BG
Give 1-2 tsp LC, retest 20-30 minutes
If dropping, little more LC and repeat process
If holding, no more food but retest in 30 min
If rising, no more food and take a "poke break" (check 1 hr)

If you're early in the cycle though you might want to intervene with M/HC.
 
She really is making me work for it lol.

Sounds good! I'll keep feeding and testing! Should I continue with LC or introduce M/HC? We're not too early in the cycle anymore, it has been about two hours now.
 
Yeah I didn't write it in my log book but I think it was implied that the 1 hr poke break isn't earned until you're over 70. I should edit that. :p

Yeah no worries! I understood that the poke break is once you're over 70 hahaha!

He was using LC when Billo was 41. I think he had gone off to test and missed the comments on food type. He knows to use M/HC next time. :)

Yup! :)
 
Yeah no worries! I understood that the poke break is once you're over 70 hahaha!
Hahah okay good! I knew that I knew that, because when I wrote it I wrote it for me, but that doesn't mean someone else knows what I meant. :woot:

Are you planning on showing your current vet Billo's spreadsheet? S/he should be pleased to see what Lantus can do (and on the second day!!).
 
Hahah okay good! I knew that I knew that, because when I wrote it I wrote it for me, but that doesn't mean someone else knows what I meant. :woot:

Are you planning on showing your current vet Billo's spreadsheet? S/he should be pleased to see what Lantus can do (and on the second day!!).

hahah no worries, I understood :)

Yes I definitely am, especially because of these results that I got today! I am just waiting for a call back from my vet, he will call and tell me when he is available, hopefully early next week!


Billo's BG hasn't changed since feeding at +8.20. She is at 55 +8.40.
 
Just double checking.
You gave 2.5 units using U100 syringes (orange cap).
If you used syringes with half unit markings, 2.5 units is marked in green on the left hand image.
If you used syringes with full unit markings only, 2.5 units would be halfway between the 2 unit and the 3 unit marks (red).

SYRINGE SCALES1.jpg
 

Attachments

  • SYRINGE SCALES1.jpg
    SYRINGE SCALES1.jpg
    27.4 KB · Views: 255
Just double checking.
You gave 2.5 units using U100 syringes (orange cap).
If you used syringes with half unit markings, 2.5 units is marked in green on the left hand image.
If you used syringes with full unit markings only, 2.5 units would be halfway between the 2 unit and the 3 unit marks (red).

View attachment 56242

I found this document on the forum just a few days ago! I saved the picture in case I had to drop the dose by .25u. Thank you for bringing it up though, I appreciate it! :)
 
Billo's BG at +9 dropped just slightly to 52. I think it may be time to give her the M/HC wet food instead of the LC?
 
I'll be waiting to see your next test. :) Hopefully she comes up more.
You're following SLGS? I'm not as familiar with that. I'll need to check but I don't think you shoot if under 90. And you need to withhold food for 2 hours prior to shooting.
We'll see what happens between now and +10
 
She's at 57 now after feeding!

I'll be waiting to see your next test. :) Hopefully she comes up more.
You're following SLGS? I'm not as familiar with that. I'll need to check but I don't think you shoot if under 90. And you need to withhold food for 2 hours prior to shooting.
We'll see what happens between now and +10


Yes that's correct!


Gotta say I'm so pleased with Billo! She is doing so well!


Thank youuu! It's been a wild ride, and lots of stress and anxiety on my part lol but thank you!
 
Back
Top