09/14 Fistuk AMPS 202/288, +3 286, +7 243, +11 284

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/09-13-fistuk-amps-284.281516/#post-3103976

Good morning :)

I marked two measure bc I wasn't sure about the first one so I took a second. I know it's not great but when I'm not convinced that the drop of blood was big enough. In any case we start the morning with a yellow and it really feels ike a break of a pattern I was praying for.

Fisruk continues to eat well. This morning he gulped down the whole breakfast in one go :D I only use syringe to give meds or to open his appetite. It seems that when he has nausea he find it difficult to have a spoon on food but once he had a syringe or two he continues to eat mostly by himself.

At night Fistuk sleeps through unless I wake him for some food and then I pick him up to the toilet. It's become the new routine now. But he pees in the box now even if I don't take him.

And he continues to be our cute cuddly, little Bomboloni ;)
 
:bighug:
How do you treat these two BG reads?
202 and 288 are not within meter variance and if they were taken at the same time, I would assume that the first test might have been a bad strip or not enough blood.
You could put both in the AMPS cell with a note that the first test might have been an error.
 
Get another test in the second half of the cycle? Wonder if he go lower or head up again?
Ok

I must say he’s looking but pale and sleepy today. He had a good go with breakfast but a lot with the syringe. And at +3 again with syringe. He’s eating nicely but not much by himself. the weather’s changing here so if might affect him a little bit too. Getting cooler
 
Do you think the ondansetron is helping?
I think so but it’s hard for me to be certain. There’s no doubt there has been a change in his eating and he doesn’t give me the face like “ugh get that out of my face” but I can’t be certain it’s not sure to the change of food.
I think he started eating after I raised to 2mg and three times a day, meaning every 8 hours. The only way for me to check is to reduce to two times a day to start with.
Good to see there are still no ketones
Yes that’s a big relief. And I sense in me that there’s no more anxiety about having ketones again. I feel something has shifted
 
think he started eating after I raised to 2mg and three times a day, meaning every 8 hours. The only way for me to check is to reduce to two times a day to start with.
I would not change what is working.
Yes that’s a big relief. And I sense in me that there’s no more anxiety about having ketones again. I feel something has shifted
Keep testing for the time being.
 
I would not change what is working.
Great. I was thinking the same. Afraid of taking chances now


Keep testing for the time being.
Oh yes !! At least twice a day. Another I’m not willing to take chances with or miss out on spotting early as possible

btw I wanted to share/ask… I’m going to give him Nux vomica homeopathy for appetite and neuropathy. Any experience with that?

mots with the advice of his homeopathic vet who’s been treating him for the past year. She’s giving Q potency which is very diluted so there’s hardly any sugar (which the homeopathic pills do)
 
Just had a chat with the vet. I wanted her to prescribe more. Ondansetron. She agreed. I told her it started working only when I started giving it to him every 8 hours I didn't tell her how much. Less is more in vets' cases.
She inquired about how Fistuk is and asked how many units he gets now I said 5. She said (to my surprise) that this is what she would have recommended, bit added that she suggests to keep the dose now for a week.I said ok. I'm just updating, I'll do what we think is best according to TR. She agreed with my plan to continue with SQ and adjusting according to what I see fit either 60 or 80ml.
 
Vets are either increasing doses too often and by too much at a time (in whole units) without any test data or they are asking people to hold bad doses too long - even when the CG is testing enough and it's clear that the cat is nowhere near normal numbers and risks glucose toxicity! :rolleyes::mad:

I guess you have no choice but to smile and nod so she continues to prescribe meds and insulin!
 
Back
Top