09/16 Fistuk AMPS 331, +3 310, +6 185, +8 135, +10 113 PMPS 97

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/09-15-fistuk-amps-328.281583/#post-3104569

Good (tired) morning :)

We had a rough night. Fistuk looked nauseated last evening. He had very little to eat and just with the syringe. God that he had good cal intake during the day.

At night he had some diarrhoea. I wonder why. Two things that come to mind is the egg or the homeopathy I gave him yesterday. I suspect more the egg. I will try without it today.

I managed to forcefully squeeze about 40cal into him. He's gone back to bed in a bid protest. I'll try give him some more and hopefully at +1.5 he'll regain some appetite as he usually did after the Ondansetron given with shot.

Wonder if I should increase the Onda dose

Unfortunately I missed his pee this morning so no ketone test yet. But yesterday all day was good.
 
The important thing about this whole process is that our cats feel good. Sometimes the numbers make us sad to see them red and pink but I have come to understand that above all my cat is well. I wish you a happy day
This is so true! Thank you for sharing this and reminding me of the greater picture. When Fistuk's not eating I get really stressed because I'm afraid of the ketones. But it is tied to the higher numbers which is why I'm feeling bit more relaxed when he's surfing the yellows even it's not blue or green yet
 
So....
+6 185
I'm sure that he's dropping but I'm not sure how much. I did have enough blood but I touched accidentally the first drop so I milked the spot a bit more to have more blood. I had enough but there's the hesitation. I decided not to take another test because I think it's just confusing and I assume that either was he's dropping even if he's stilll in the 200's range.

I've been able to feed him bird bites during the day so we're almost through half the day's cal which puts us in a good place for the rest of the day and night.
He still eats few bites alone and the rest wit syringe.

I went to pick up the ondansetron from the pharmacy and was aghast by the price!!! It's going to be very difficult to keep on for longer term so I hope the Nux Vomica will be helpful. I used to take it when I was sick and suffered from nausea (a rare thing for me) and it was very helpful. So we'll see. IN the meantime I give him both the homeopathy and the Onda
 
I don't understand why He has so much Nausea. Is it a side effect to insulin?
Not a side effect of insulin but I do remember @Bron and Sheba (GA) saying that some cats take a while to recover from a DKA - especially in terms of nausea etc. Pancreatitis can also cause nausea and be painful enough to make them not want to eat.

+6 185
I'm sure that he's dropping but I'm not sure how much. I did have enough blood but I touched accidentally the first drop so I milked the spot a bit more to have more blood. I had enough but there's the hesitation. I decided not to take another test because I think it's just confusing and I assume that either was he's dropping even if he's stilll in the 200's range.
Good to see blue. Do you think you can take another test at +8 or +9?

I went to pick up the ondansetron from the pharmacy and was aghast by the price!!! It's going to be very difficult to keep on for longer term
Hopefully he will not need it for the long term! Paws crossed
 
a side effect of insulin but I do remember @Bron and Sheba (GA) saying that some cats take a while to recover from a DKA - especially in terms of nausea etc. Pancreatitis can also cause nausea and be painful enough to make them not want to eat.
Every cat is different but a lot of post DKA cats can struggle with eating due to nausea. Some lucky cats don’t have nausea post DKA but many do and all you can do really is give nausea meds and make sure they are eating enough. Are you also giving an appetite stimulant?
And of course pancreatitis causes nausea.
 
+8.25 135
we love the blues :woot:
Wow! :woot: Did he get more food then? Can you get a +10? Hope you are gearing up to shoot blue! :cool:
 

Attachments

  • clear.png
    clear.png
    137 bytes · Views: 71
In the past he has nadired many times at the end of the cycle when clearing a bounce. I am curious to see if he does that tonight also i.e. if PMPS will be his nadir.
How long till the shot? 30 mins?
 
PMPS 97
OK. I'm fricking out now
Don't freak out. Feed and shoot. He has flattened out between +10 and PMPS and he often nadirs at the end of the cycle.
Get a +1 and feed some more then. Even if it's only 1 tsp of food.

ETA: He has a history DKA/ketones, so a skip is not an option. Stalling could cause his numbers to drop further. And congrats on your first green! :D:D:D
 
Don't freak out. Feed and shoot. He has flattened out between +10 and PMPS and he often nadirs at the end of the cycle.
Get a +1 and feed some more then. Even if it's only 1 tsp of food.

ETA: He has a history DKA/ketones, so a skip is not an option. Stalling could cause his numbers to drop further. And congrats on your first green! :D:D:D
Thank you :) Yes it's a celebration. I'm still freaking out:woot:

I fed him. Shot in time (figured you would have said otherwise before shot so I just gave it to him)
I'll get a +1
 
Last edited:
Shot in time (figured you would have said otherwise before shot so I just gave it to him)
Well done! Here's your BOS award for shooting your first green!!!
balls_of_steel.jpg



I will be around for another hour or so, but I will tag @Angela & Cleo and @tiffmaxee to watch out for you.

What do you have in higher carb food? You want to look through your stash and see what carb% you have and maybe even label them. You can also increase carb% of food by adding honey/syrup/karo to low carb food.
 

Attachments

  • balls_of_steel.jpg
    balls_of_steel.jpg
    24.3 KB · Views: 186
OK! Let's see the +1. Even if he eats only a tsp of food every hour, it's enough to keep him surfing. In MC and HC food, it's the gravy that has the carbs, so if ever you need to prop up his numbers and he won't eat, just get some of the gravy in him.

It's good to finally see blues and green! Paws crossed he has broken through any glucose toxicity and continues the streak of good numbers. Don't be surprised to see him bounce to the moon from green. :blackeye:
 
is he still acting hungry? He's higher than PMPS but not by much. The next test should be a good indicator if you can call it a night.
 
Back
Top