09/18 Fistuk AMPS 135, +1.5 124, +3 140, +5 103, +8 77

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/09-17-fistuk-amps-243-3-277-6-263.281647/#post-3105169

Good morning

We've had a really rough night. Fistuk had diarrhoea three more times. Each time followed by washing him because he was so mucky which is very stressful for him.

I gave him more psyllium husk. He hasn't been to the toilet for about 5 hours now and had great appetite for breakfast (after the initial anger over testing and shot) so I hope it means it's coming to an end.

I didn't expect him to drop like this after the +3 308....

I took a second test bc I couldn^t believe the steep drop. So I marked them both in the SS and chose the second one just for the sake of caution but will wait to see what he's doing next.

Which test best to take next?
 
I wonder what's causing the diarrhea. Glad to know it isn't interfering with his appetite.

Did he get a little more food at +1.5?
 
I wonder what's causing the diarrhea. Glad to know it isn't interfering with his appetite.

Did he get a little more food at +1.5?
I’m quite certain the diarrhoea was prompted by the homeopathy. It’s probably just too strong for him at the moment.
Yes I have him food after the test. He ate quite a lot for breakfast and it takes him time especially if I syringe feed him so he finished breakfast at around 8.40am so I gave him time before I tested again and fed agin. I’ll take a +3 soon
 
Was too quick to think it was over. Just had another miserable episode of diarrhoea and washing. The poor little one.

But he ate nicely and ate by himself!
 
+8 77 :D
And.. freaking out time begins...

he's eating by himself really well so I'm hesitant about giving ondansetron... it is time for it now

I did call the vet to ask for something for the diarrhoea

am I still giving the same dose at pm?
 
I think you want to continue the Ondansetron. Food will help him surf good numbers. Try S. Boulardii for the diarrhea.

And yes, unless he drops below 50 and earns a reduction, you hold the dose.
 
I think you want to continue the Ondansetron
I gave him but i might not give the midnight dose. He's eating by himself and so far even with giving the Onda. he ate only with syringe so I'm not confident it's helping.

Try S. Boulardii for the diarrhea.
He's already getting it on a regular basis

And yes, unless he drops below 50 and earns a reduction, you hold the dose.
ok. but isn't dropping below 50 the danger zone?
 
I gave him but i might not give the midnight dose. He's eating by himself and so far even with giving the Onda. he ate only with syringe so I'm not confident it's helping.
I would not stop Ondansetron altogether. If you think he's eating okay, go down to twice a day first.

ok. but isn't dropping below 50 the danger zone?
Not when you are monitoring and can quickly bring him up with food.
 
+10 119

Tried 21G for SQ today. He still screams murder but seems like it's a bit better because the flow of fluids with a smaller gauge feel less invasive. I'll try 22G see if that makes it even better
 
Hi Shelly, I think you start with a +2 or +3 :).
And also agree with Bhooma about the Ondansetron and continuing it on the current regimen for awhile longer.
Hi Angela. Yes we normally test +3 as it looks like his onset time.
Fistuk had a really good go at supper and he ate by himself. He doesn’t show any signs of nausea. Looks like lower numbers are making a huge difference to his appetite
 
Lather rinse and repeat
See if he'll eat a little more of LC and test in an hour
Oh and get yourself a treat too, it might be a few more hours before calling it a night :bighug:
 
This diarrhoea is endless and I don't know what else to do.It's bit more pasty so perhaps the psyllium husk is helping a bit.

I called earlier during the day to the hospital to ask for some medication but because I was so tired I asked if they could give me a prescription so I don't have to drive all the way there and can pick it up in the local pharmacy. They suggested that I go to the local vet that they should be able to give me meds for diarrhoea. I called the local vet and they said I could come and pick it up. My husband went there and came back with probiotics!!! they gave him probiotics when I specifically asked for medication to stop the diarrhoea.

It has to stop. Each time I need to wash him and it's become a real torture for him. He also peed on the bed. He probably couldn't jump off the bed because his digestion is so painful. And I need to keep pumping food into him to have calories which is also not helpful.

I wonder if anyone can recommend a medication for diarrhoea so I can go and ask specifically for that.
 
Actually metronidazole should not be given. It is now frowned upon due to many bad side effects. I’ll see if I can find the information as to why.
 
Back
Top