09/19 Butters PMPS 61/+1 94/+3 104/+7 112/+9.5 153/ Failed Reduction?

Confession time!
I carbed Butters up this morning something fierce when I saw the AMPS of 50 today. I gave her 4.5 tsps of 16% food over a four hour period just so I could try to get some sleep because I was up all night with her hovering around 50 last night (and the night before, and the one before that too) and I just needed some rest. I way overdid it.
I wonder if it is hitting her now, at PMPS +1. She is 94.
Hopefully her depot has drained a little now since the reduction yesterday morning. This evening is her fourth cycle with the new dose.
 
Lyla I looked at your SS ,you put the +9 (70) in the line for tomorrow , just wanted to let you know. Nice going today , glad you got some sleep :bighug::cat:
Thank you! I saw your post and changed it. I've been using toothpicks to hold my eyes open.

Yowsa Butters, cutting it close there! Now, give you mama a break and go hang out in the 80s. TYVM.
After all of the gravy I gave her this morning, all she gave me was an 81. Refused to hang out in the 80s.:rolleyes:
Do I sound weird thinking that the carbs could be impacting her later on? Because now she is 94. And dinner was only 6% carbs, and there has been no gravy since this morning.
 
After all of the gravy I gave her this morning, all she gave me was an 81. Refused to hang out in the 80s.:rolleyes:
Do I sound weird thinking that the carbs could be impacting her later on? Because now she is 94. And dinner was only 6% carbs, and there has been no gravy since this morning.
Not sure if you're question is rhetorical but I'll answer anyway :) I would never think you are weird! FWIW you've given her more carbs before and her #s haven't gone up a ton from them later in the day. PLUS 94 is a nice healthy number, especially after some dinner. Maybe she's hinting at the sleep? <anti-jinx>:bighug:
 
Not sure if you're question is rhetorical but I'll answer anyway :) I would never think you are weird! FWIW you've given her more carbs before and her #s haven't gone up a ton from them later in the day. PLUS 94 is a nice healthy number, especially after some dinner. Maybe she's hinting at the sleep? <anti-jinx>:bighug:

I am okay with weird, though!:smuggrin:
Your observation makes me think that her depot has drained a bit now since the reduction, and she no longer needs propping up. Back to 2% LC for her! :p I'm locking up the gravy.
And thank you for the anti-jinx. :bighug: I am happy for the 94 after a few cycles of nothing over 77 if it means you know what. :D
 
she no longer needs propping up
I'm learning right with you BUT I'm finding similar findings for Jax...well I'm testing them out :) I'm trying to see what he does on just his LC and I'm handing out less amounts of MC. Also, as I've gotten more comfortable handling lower numbers, I'm able to see if Jax can handle the lower numbers on his own too. I find all of this fascinating (and exhausting and probably every other emotion/feeling lol).
 
Failed reduction per TR protocol states:
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose as soon as you see kitty's numbers trending upwards. You don't have to hold the reduced dose for a certain number of cycles before taking the dose right back up. The guidelines listed under the topic "Increasing the dose" do not apply to a failed reduction. Please use common sense in this situation. The "last good dose" is not the dose that just dropped kitty into the 20s or 30s. You want to resume momentum by finding an in-between the dose.

Butters has been trending upwards all night. According to TR protocol, it looks to me like this is a failed reduction and I should immediately go right back up to the last good dose. My previous dose was 1.625u. The current dose is 1.5u.
I do wonder if the two reductions she earned in five days were too close together? Is it possible her depot from 1.75u was still in play with both reductions? So I'm not sure whether to go back to 1.625u or whether to find something in-between. My gut tells me the reductions happened too quickly and we should try 1.625u again.
 
You held the 1.625u dose 10 cycles, so I doubt the 1.75 dose was still at play on 9/17 (PM cycle). You had a couple of blue cycles in the first 2 days of 1.625u too. I would hold the 1.5U a little longer before I called it a failed reduction.

Let's see if someone with more experience can weigh in
@Sue and Luci
@tiffmaxee
 
You held the 1.625u dose 10 cycles, so I doubt the 1.75 dose was still at play on 9/17 (PM cycle). You had a couple of blue cycles in the first 2 days of 1.625u too. I would hold the 1.5U a little longer before I called it a failed reduction.

Let's see if someone with more experience can weigh in
@Sue and Luci
@tiffmaxee
I was thinking that the difference with the blue numbers when I started 1.625u was that I had done a "BCS" that could've been impacting the depot. I'm not sure. What do you think about that?
 
My worry with holding the 1.5u even longer is that it has taken me such a long time of chasing her up and down the dosing ladder to finally see some green cycles, that I'd hate to lose this momentum and undo her progress.
 
I was thinking that the difference with the blue numbers when I started 1.625u was that I had done a "BCS" that could've been impacting the depot. I'm not sure. What do you think about that?

When was this BCS? I don't see it on your SS.

My worry with holding the 1.5u even longer is that it has taken me such a long time of chasing her up and down the dosing ladder to finally see some green cycles, that I'd hate to lose this momentum and undo her progress.

I totally get your frustration. Bandit just doesn't hold reductions. But I would still wait another day if this were my kitty.
 
Back
Top