09/7 Mikey AMPS 231 +5 184 PMPS 209 +4 208 and….

Mikey’sDad

Member Since 2021
Mikey is fairly new to 1.25 - 5th dose. He has dropped a bit

Two questions
I give him his pm dose at 6:00 and by 9:00, I am ready for sleep( I am ancient) is it ok go sometimes miss a post dose check

I have often prick him 4 times before I get a reading/ sometimes not enough blood error message and sometimes no blood is there. He is getting annoyed. Do you sometimes just not get a reading? This is frustrating. I haven’t tried the rice in sock trick. I hate to prick him so many times
Thanks
tom
 
Yes, since you are following SLGS you can just get the 2 preshot tests and do a curve at the end of the week.

Warming the ear helps. Sometimes you have to "milk" the blood drop to make it bigger.
Are you using a lancing device of poking freehand with a lancet? Do you know what guage lancet you are using?

Hang in there. It gets better with time and practice. Giving Mikey a treat after each test (successful or not) will also help. :-)

Link to your previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/spreadsheet-problem-mikey.252526/
 
I have been testing him 4 times a day. Sometimes I get the blood but like this morning I had to get it while he was finishing eating, which defeats the purpose. He is so good. 5 pricks later I got a good sample. I am using 33 gauge Lancelots- it is the only thing Walmart’s had

I don’t think the pricks really hurt him but he is a cat I have no problems with the insulin shot

thanks
 
I have been testing him 4 times a day. Sometimes I get the blood but like this morning I had to get it while he was finishing eating, which defeats the purpose. He is so good. 5 pricks later I got a good sample. I am using 33 gauge Lancelots- it is the only thing Walmart’s had

I don’t think the pricks really hurt him but he is a cat I have no problems with the insulin shot

thanks
Hi Tom! Mikey has gotten a few nice blues in the last couple days. That’s really nice to see. I had (and sometimes still have) trouble testing Oscar too. Same boat, no problem with the insulin. He doesn’t even notice. You might try to find lancets that are slightly larger. I don’t know if you order off Amazon at all, but I get 28 gauge ones from there that seem to do a bit better.
 
4 times a day is good enough. You could try different times every day - it doesn't need to be +5. I think you have today's AMPS in the PMPS cell on your SS?

Like Andrea suggested, try 28 gauge lancets. The pricks don't hurt them. And you are keeping him safe by testing him.
 
Hi Tom! Mikey has gotten a few nice blues in the last couple days. That’s really nice to see. I had (and sometimes still have) trouble testing Oscar too. Same boat, no problem with the insulin. He doesn’t even notice. You might try to find lancets that are slightly larger. I don’t know if you order off Amazon at all, but I get 28 gauge ones from there that seem to do a bit better.
I think it is more frustrating for me than it is for Mikey. I beat myself after pricking the guy, and then I will get blood and get an error message. Glad to see that I am not alone. I will order the 28 gauge.
 
4 times a day is good enough. You could try different times every day - it doesn't need to be +5. I think you have today's AMPS in the PMPS cell on your SS?

Like Andrea suggested, try 28 gauge lancets. The pricks don't hurt them. And you are keeping him safe by testing him.
I changed the SS! Thanks! It takes a village lol
 
Back
Top