1/10 Fred AMPS 285 Cerenia up and down

Purrberry

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...cerenia-issues-questions.257650/#post-2898923

So after our victory of getting the Cerenia in Fred, he went right back to being inappetent. :rolleyes: I should mention that he was coming down and meowing for food right before we got the pill in him, which he has not done in a while. But I wanted to make sure he would feel better, so we pilled him. I do find that's the problem with Cerenia...it may stop the nausea, but then he doesn't want to eat, either! He was picky with dinner and didn't want his regular dry at shot and bedtime. This was about 4/6 hours after the Cerenia, respectively.

About 10 hours later, (conveniently at 2am) he was all over me for food. He then dove into his regular dry...scarfed it down. He was very cheerful this AM, but still picky with his wet. I think he's really developed an association with the wet and not feeling well.

@Suzanne & Darcy that is SO KIND of you to offer to send some samples!! I'm going to call my vet again, to see if she'll give me an Rx, but if for any reason she's reluctant, I may take you up on your offer! Again, SO nice of you! DO you find the Zofran causes any side effects like the Cerenia..i.e. the inappetence? Cerenia also knocks him out.

Fred's numbers are kinda interesting to me. I've reduced his dose because I don't trust his eating, and he's been almost solidly in yellow. I'll be honest..I'm pretty darn OK with that right now!
 
I used ondansetron for years. The only side effect I noticed was constipation if he needed it fur too many days. I would just give him miralax .
 
That's great to know, thanks!

@Suzanne & Darcy do you know if the melts have any taste? Just in case I can't get the capsules down? (which is probably more than a "just in case" scenario..lol)
Well, I've never had problems getting the ondansetron down - it's small -- but poor Fred has other ideas about pilling! Son you can easily put it in the gelcap. It's my understanding that they "mini-melts" are flavored with a kind of fruity flavor (so I don't think it will be particularly appealing to cats, but then again isn't really bitter). @Liz & Minnie tried one of them once to check the flavor.
 
DO you find the Zofran causes any side effects like the Cerenia..i.e. the inappetence?
Like Elise, I haven't had any odd side effects with Zofran (not sleepiness or lethargy). It does work well if the cause is nausea. Yes to constipation though unless, like I said, I had a kitty on it once and she had more of chronic diarrhea and so she didn't get constipated on it.
 
I have given ondansetron a lot and constipation is the only side effect I have noted. I had a stomach bug a few months ago with extreme nausea and took one of Ruby's ondansetron and felt instantly better! Cerenia is good for vomiting and inflammation but not so much with nausea, which may be why Fred still wasn't eating after. I find that when my GI sensitive cats are nauseous they will eat dry food but will walk away from the wet. I would not assume he's associated the wet food with being sick, at least not yet.
 
This is all a great help, everyone...thank you! I'm always a bit nervous when using a new drug.

So...I've an arsenal in stock! I spoke to my vet, who was very helpful. She said that before Cerenia, ondansetron was their go-to, and that they still love it. She said the only reason they go with Cerenia more often now is that usually cats with Panc are also painful, and Cerenia can also help with pain and inflammation, as @Katherine&Ruby mentioned. Fortunately, that's not Fred. We also talked at length about the transdermal Cerenia, which they have not used before. She said that Wedgewood actually needed a pharmacy consultation with them to discuss it, as "they're not really sure how well it works". :rolleyes: (as I had heard) But, we decided to try it out-maybe lightning will strike. It will, unfortunately, take a week to get here. I will definitely report back when the time comes so others can hear about it.

In the meantime, she gave me the regular ondansetron tabs, as she said cats tend to gag on the flavor tabs. Not an issue if I can get it down him in the gelcap, but that all remains to be seen! Fred does indeed have other ideas! And, for a big gun, she gave me a syringe of injectable Cerenia to try if I'm desperate. I'm quite hesitant to use it because if it DOES sting and he associates it with getting an injection from me, I'm in trouble. My vet checked her notes and they didn't mark that he had any bad reaction when they did it, but cats act differently at the vet, as we know.

I find that when my GI sensitive cats are nauseous they will eat dry food but will walk away from the wet. I would not assume he's associated the wet food with being sick, at least not yet.
Oh, this gives me hope!
 
I have never used transdermal Cerenia but I do know some people who have with varying results- worked for some and not for others. And yes, the Cerenia is typically given for pancreatitis because of the additional anti-inflammatory properties. But Zofran is the big guns for straight up nausea. So I don’t need to mail you any?
 
So I don’t need to mail you any?
Not at this time, but you are amazing for the offer! (which I still may take you up on someday. ;-)) You're like an angel still watching over all of us here!

I've heard the Cerenia injections sting less if you keep it in the fridge.
I've read this as well. It's sitting in there, hopefully not to be used.

After a lovely wrestling match, I managed to get the Zofran in Fred around 6PM EST. I was SO happy. (~+8.5) This was about an hour before his dinner. He was still his usual picky self with dinner, but shortly thereafter...OMG, he was all over the place. Energetic, cheerful, and DEMANDING food. We can see the nice bump in his numbers as a result. :rolleyes: So, the poor boy was indeed nauseous. My first thought was, "This stuff is amazing!" My next was, "Good Lord. I'll never be able to do this twice a day." He was still pretty good this AM, which was 15 hours later. We'll see how he goes today.

Now my little mind is thinking...injectable ondansetron?? (which I've also heard stings)
 
Seems like what he really needed was the Ondansetron. I hope it’s only related to the pancreatitis and that he will only need it for a short time or perhaps only if he has a flare up of the pancreatitis. I’m really pleased.
 
Back
Top