1/10 Sara AMPS 159

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by jan and Hep and sara (GA), Jan 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jan and Hep and sara (GA)

    jan and Hep and sara (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Morning,

    WCR Sara has been giving me some great #'s. I am not experienced in shooting lower #'s. What do I shoot with a # like this? I will be around till about +7 today.[ I may have to run out for an hour for an errand. ] Of course her shot is due now. I was late the other day because of a lower preshot, and I have just gotten back on track.

    Thanks,

    jan and sara

    viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1865
    [yesterdays poat]
     
  2. jan and Hep and sara (GA)

    jan and Hep and sara (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/10 Sara AM + 15 min 169

    .
     
  3. Sarah and Velcro

    Sarah and Velcro Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/10 Sara AMPS 159 ADVICE ON WHAT TO SHOOT?

    do you know what BG number the dose people want you to get to to reduce?
     
  4. jan and Hep and sara (GA)

    jan and Hep and sara (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/10 Sara AMPS 159 ADVICE ON WHAT TO SHOOT?

    Sarah,

    Nope, I have no idea. I've only been at this about 1 month.

    She's been responding very well. I just don't have the experience. We are 45 min late now anyway.
     
  5. Miriam and Putty (GA)

    Miriam and Putty (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/10 Sara AMPS 159 ADVICE ON WHAT TO SHOOT?

    Jan you shot a 174 on this dose and this number is not much lower. I would say if you are home and you are comfortable shooting I would shoot the full dose.
     
  6. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/10 Sara AMPS 159 ADVICE ON WHAT TO SHOOT?

    hey Jan
    there's a 100 on SS too that u shot, like Miriam said, as long as u are home this morning to do spotchecks
     
  7. Sarah and Velcro

    Sarah and Velcro Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/10 Sara AMPS 159 ADVICE ON WHAT TO SHOOT?

    I agree with Miriam, shoot the whole dose now. Since we are late it is like a dose reduction. Make sure to ask near pmps what the dose should be. Maybe the 65 from last night is enough to dose decrease. i don't know. :)

    Have a great Sunday!
     
  8. JaniceandSpike

    JaniceandSpike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/10 Sara AMPS 159 ADVICE ON WHAT TO SHOOT?

    I agree with Miriam, this is a good number to shoot the regular dose.
     
  9. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/10 Sara AMPS 159 ADVICE ON WHAT TO SHOOT?

    Jan,

    Can u get a plus +2 and a +3 test this morning?
     
  10. jan and Hep and sara (GA)

    jan and Hep and sara (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/10 Sara AMPS 159 ADVICE ON WHAT TO SHOOT?

    Sure can Ronnie. I wish I was more experienced at this and did'nt have to screw up the shooting time and maybe even :-| the dose also by shooting late.
     
  11. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/10 Sara AMPS 159 ADVICE ON WHAT TO SHOOT?

    Don't think like that - u did really good! I've been in your shoes and so have others - post ur question now in ur subject line so there will be feedback early enough for tonight. Like "advice for PM shot?" something like that - and if u can try to get a test in one hour before shot time will do.

    It'll be ok, okey-dokey? :)
     
  12. jan and Hep and sara (GA)

    jan and Hep and sara (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/10 Sara AMPS 159 ADVICE ON WHAT TO SHOOT?

    Thanks Ronnie,

    I've been trying. Just wish I had shot earlier, because now even the +'s are at a different time than usual. But we will get through this. I will post the question about tonights shot to get feedback.

    Thanks for the support, :smile:

    jan and sara
     
  13. Brenda and Morris

    Brenda and Morris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/10 Sara AMPS 159 ADVICE ON WHAT TO SHOOT?

    The "dose people" want "all" of us to hit 50 to earn a decrease...see the protocol here:
    http://www.uq.edu.au/ccah/docs/diabetesinfo/link4.pdf

    If you don't shoot lower numbers, and to me 159 isn't "that" low, you might never get a decrease....just my opinion. :mrgreen:
     
  14. Roni and Moonie

    Roni and Moonie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/10 Sara AMPS 159 ADVICE ON WHAT TO SHOOT?

    You are doing so well, dont think there is anything wrong with asking, or delaying a shot--Life is life, & we all have those days when we cant shoot on time...Sara is doing wonderfully--You are a great momma bean!
     
  15. jan and Hep and sara (GA)

    jan and Hep and sara (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/10 Sara AM +3 211

    Thanks for the information Brenda,

    I'll just have to get more used to shooting when the #'s are lower. I realise that 159 isn't that low, but I am used to shooting #'s that are higher and I freak.

    +1 189
    +2 195
    +3 211

    Thanks also Roni for your suport!

    jan and sara
     
  16. Nina and KB

    Nina and KB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/10 Sara AMPS 159 ADVICE ON WHAT TO SHOOT?

    Glad you went with the full dose. She may react to the lower number by going a little higher, but that should smooth out as LTS (Liver Training School) progresses.

    I'm so glad she's responding so well.
     
  17. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/10 Sara AMPS 159 ADVICE ON WHAT TO SHOOT?

    Great job this morning!!!

    A couple of thoughts..

    A number below 50 earns a decrease.
    You do have options when it comes to a low PS number but, given how well Sara is doing, you are going to have to shine up your BOS and keep repeating, "Shoot low to stay low."

    ETA: Can you take the "Advice" out of your subject line since I think you got the info you needed?
     
  18. jan and Hep and sara (GA)

    jan and Hep and sara (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/10 Sara PMPS 179

    Shot her full dose.

    Thanks for all the help earlier.

    jan and sara
     
  19. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    niiiiiiiiiiice! :mrgreen:

    Sara is really making progress. Can you get a +2 or +3?
     
  20. jan and Hep and sara (GA)

    jan and Hep and sara (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/10 Sara PM +3 70

    Fed a little LC. She's doing great sitting in the chair and preening.
     
  21. jan and Hep and sara (GA)

    jan and Hep and sara (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/10 Sara PM +4 75

    .
     
  22. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    surf, Sara, surf!
     
  23. jan and Hep and sara (GA)

    jan and Hep and sara (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/10 Sara PM + 4.5 79

    My problem is going to be in the am. I work so I will be gone most of the day. I'll just have to cross that bridge when I get to it.

    jan and sara
     
  24. jan and Hep and sara (GA)

    jan and Hep and sara (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/10 Sara PM +7 153

    .
     
  25. Cassandra and Sasha

    Cassandra and Sasha Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Sara is doing great, Jan. It's nice to see her hitting those greens the last few days.

    The shot this AM was late, right? Was the shot tonight early? Can you please mark any shots that are not at +12 on your spreadsheet (half an hour late would be +12.5, an hour late would be +13, etc.). It helps people looking at your spreadsheet to know any time differences from the standard 12/12.

    Don't beat yourself up about stalling this AM. The more lower preshots you get under your belt the more comfortable you will be in shooting them. You collected great data today to see how she responded. That will help you with future decisions.

    Does Sara have food out while you are at work?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page