? 1/11, Binie, AMPS 345, +3.25 283, +7 290

Heike & BInie

Very Active Member
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-7-binie-pmps-241-2-84-big-drop-what-to-do.297275/

Good evening,

we had a bounce day today

I have two questions, one to learn from past failures and the other one, to make no new mistakes:

1. past failure?
Yesterday we had an almost blue amps. I decided to give her besides her usual low carb breakfast one tsp of high carb so she is not dropping so fast. She stayed steady for the +2 and then went down. As I knew I would have to leave the house at +5.5, I became a bit worried and started to give her 1 tsp. of high carb (20 %) from +4 on every hour before I left. Hoping, she would not go too low while I am away. I also gave her a pill pocket before I left.

I was able to shorten my appointment and took another test when I came home. She went up to higher blues and I thougt - Good job, I didn't overdo it with the highcarb. When I took her preshot at night she was over 500. :banghead: Not so sure about the good job anymore. My first question: Was the 500 created by me giving her high carbs or was it a bounce because she was in lower blues for a longer time? How else could I have kept her safe while being away?

2. Upcoming challenge
I have to leave the house directly after shot-time on Monday and I will be away until +5.5 or +6. Usually my neighbor looks after her and gives high carb food if she would go too low but now Binie is not wearing the libre and my neighbor can't test so far. So I wonder, how I can keep her safe, while being away.

If she has a lower pre-shot, which is for Binie yellow or blue, I don't feel confident to shoot full and leave the house. Even if I leave out high carb food, I can not be sure that she will eat it. What is the advice for this situation? Shoot a reduced dose? How much reduced? Or am I too anxious?

If she has a pink pre-shot I wonder, if it is safe to shoot full but leave some high carb (?) or medium carb food out? Again: I can not be sure, that she will eat them while I am away.

I would be so grateful for any advice how to handle this situation. Thank you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:

@Wendy&Neko @Angela & Cleo
 
Was the 500 created by me giving her high carbs or was it a bounce because she was in lower blues for a longer time?
When Binie starts lower (low yellows or blues), it looks like her nadir is earlier, around 4.5. Would you agree? I'm only looking at recent data. You generally don't want to feed, much less higher carbs, after nadir. That causes the insulin to wear off quicker when it's effect is already fading away. So you lose duration and nothing is helping to keep her numbers down at the end of the cycle. On the 5th, Binie had an even longer blue stretch and went down to about the same low blue numbers and didn't bounce nearly as high. So I suspect the loss of duration by feeding higher carb after nadir played into the unusually higher number. Next time you are going to be home until after nadir, stick to low carb food unless she's a lot lower.
If she has a lower pre-shot, which is for Binie yellow or blue, I don't feel confident to shoot full and leave the house. Even if I leave out high carb food, I can not be sure that she will eat it. What is the advice for this situation? Shoot a reduced dose? How much reduced? Or am I too anxious?

If she has a pink pre-shot I wonder, if it is safe to shoot full but leave some high carb (?) or medium carb food out? Again: I can not be sure, that she will eat them while I am away.
Over the course of the last month, Binie hasn't gone low when she's started with a pink preshot. That was with the current dose or even the 3.25 units. Make sure she eats well before you go and leave food out. I wouldn't leave high carb food out. Same if she starts in the upper half of the yellows. She's gone to blues, but still very safe blues.

So far this time at 3.0 units, she doesn't seem to be going below 100's though hard to tell with the carb feast yesterday. The depot from the 3.25 unit dose is gone, so it could be that low 100's is as low as she goes. Below 90 is a reduction point for SLGS, but below 50 is where we really worry about a cat being low. The type of cycle that is more concerning is a bounce breaking cycle, cause that can have more downward momentum. A bounce breaking cycle starts high and slides down the entire cycle. Can you get a +10 or +11 in the AM before you leave tomorrow morning? That'll give you an idea if she's still sliding down into preshot. If so, then you can leave out higher carb food. Has Binie not eaten food before when you left it out? Does she not seem interested in more food in lower numbers?
 
When Binie starts lower (low yellows or blues), it looks like her nadir is earlier, around 4.5. Would you agree? I'm only looking at recent data. You generally don't want to feed, much less higher carbs, after nadir. That causes the insulin to wear off quicker when it's effect is already fading away. So you lose duration and nothing is helping to keep her numbers down at the end of the cycle. On the 5th, Binie had an even longer blue stretch and went down to about the same low blue numbers and didn't bounce nearly as high. So I suspect the loss of duration by feeding higher carb after nadir played into the unusually higher number. Next time you are going to be home until after nadir, stick to low carb food unless she's a lot lower.

Over the course of the last month, Binie hasn't gone low when she's started with a pink preshot. That was with the current dose or even the 3.25 units. Make sure she eats well before you go and leave food out. I wouldn't leave high carb food out. Same if she starts in the upper half of the yellows. She's gone to blues, but still very safe blues.

So far this time at 3.0 units, she doesn't seem to be going below 100's though hard to tell with the carb feast yesterday. The depot from the 3.25 unit dose is gone, so it could be that low 100's is as low as she goes. Below 90 is a reduction point for SLGS, but below 50 is where we really worry about a cat being low. The type of cycle that is more concerning is a bounce breaking cycle, cause that can have more downward momentum. A bounce breaking cycle starts high and slides down the entire cycle. Can you get a +10 or +11 in the AM before you leave tomorrow morning? That'll give you an idea if she's still sliding down into preshot. If so, then you can leave out higher carb food. Has Binie not eaten food before when you left it out? Does she not seem interested in more food in lower numbers?

I’m going to ask a clarifying question because I can learn from this

what if, in Binie’s case, the amps is low yellow (close your eyes Heike—or blue). Binie feeds herself but not reliably—Heike encourages her (entices her) if she’s low. She’s sat there and gone well into green before despite available food being ignored (as has Methos hence my interest in handling this). Would you recommend feeding and leaving medium carb food (hoping she eats) or would you reduce the dose and feed low carb, or something else.

I’ll be here with my popcorn waiting to see what works for Binie and perhaps I can attend a wedding this spring :)
 
i was worried about
leaving him when his
pmps was 180…

upload_2025-1-12_8-31-57.jpeg

Did you reduce his dose?​

I dumped a can of 30%
in his bowl, cut his dose
in half, and fed him ten
greenies
I’d have done the same…​
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-1-12_8-31-57.jpeg
    upload_2025-1-12_8-31-57.jpeg
    74.9 KB · Views: 74
Hi Wendy,

thank you so much for your very helpful answer and for checking on us! It already gave me a better feeling about leaving the house tomorrow, anyhow, I have some more questions for my understanding:

When Binie starts lower (low yellows or blues), it looks like her nadir is earlier, around 4.5. Would you agree?
Yes, I went back back in the past and from lower numbers (which used to be pinks also) she has her nadir between +4 and +5.

So I suspect the loss of duration by feeding higher carb after nadir played into the unusually higher number.
Thank you for that explanation! That makes so much sense. So maybe some of the high numbers I saw in the beginning of our journey have been due to overfeeding with carbs and no bounces. :rolleyes:

Make sure she eats well before you go and leave food out.
That is the difficult point with Binie. She is a nibbler and very often before the shot she is not eating much. Licking a bit here and there and then she leaves it. Her hunger seems to kick in after the insulin kicked and very often if I put her plate in front of her at +1 she eats with good appetite. I can just not be sure, she is doing that by herself. She didn't do it on the 7th, where she dropped so fast. I will make sure to put out food close to all places, she is usually staying so she doesn't need to move much.

Does she not seem interested in more food in lower numbers?
Sometimes she gets up and eats by herself, when she is dropping. Sometimes not, as I just mentioned. I hope she will do it tomorrow.

Can you get a +10 or +11 in the AM before you leave tomorrow morning? That'll give you an idea if she's still sliding down into preshot.
I will definitely do that tomorrow. I get up at +10 anyway to feed a snack before the fast, so I can test as well. After she had a yellow preshot tonight, I don't think it will be a bounce breaking cycle.

What do I do, if she is in lower yellow or blue? I feel low carb might not be enough? :nailbiting:

Sorry, to be that much of a chicken. :facepalm:

Hope you have a relaxed Sunday! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
i was worried about
leaving him when his
pmps was 180…

View attachment 72286
Did you reduce his dose?​

I dumped a can of 30%
in his bowl, cut his dose
in half, and fed him ten
greenies
I’d have done the same…​
:p:p
this could be many of us…. I'm also watching with my popped corn.
Since I watch Ivy on her “ivy cam” when I’m out and her feeder opens up, she has been known to ignore it (even when she’s low and dropping) :blackeye:

I even have a device feeder which I can remotely open via an app and have done that when she’s ignored the first feeder.
She ignores the second feeder as well :banghead:

It would be nice if we could count on them eating on their own without us coaxing them. ;)
 
I’m going to ask a clarifying question because I can learn from this

what if, in Binie’s case, the amps is low yellow (close your eyes Heike—or blue). Binie feeds herself but not reliably—Heike encourages her (entices her) if she’s low. She’s sat there and gone well into green before despite available food being ignored (as has Methos hence my interest in handling this). Would you recommend feeding and leaving medium carb food (hoping she eats) or would you reduce the dose and feed low carb, or something else.

I’ll be here with my popcorn waiting to see what works for Binie and perhaps I can attend a wedding this spring :)

Hi Colleen, so Methos is also a nibbler. I am always impressed seeing these cats, inhaling their food all at once. I hope you get some helpful ideas here, so you can enjoy your wedding! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
:p:p
this could be many of us…. I'm also watching with my popped corn.
Since I watch Ivy on her “ivy cam” when I’m out and her feeder opens up, she has been known to ignore it (even when she’s low and dropping) :blackeye:

I even have a device feeder which I can remotely open via an app and have done that when she’s ignored the first feeder.
She ignores the second feeder as well :banghead:

It would be nice if we could count on them eating on their own without us coaxing them. ;)

Hi Staci, seems like princess Ivy doesn't like the service to be automized. :cat: I didn't know you have a second feeder! You have such a good system with the camera and the remote feeder. If only Ivy would cooperate.... :rolleyes:
 
Thank you so much Diane, I will tell her! :bighug::bighug::bighug: I hope no tooth pain anymore? Have a relaxed Sunday! :kiss:
@Heike & BInie

That's a good idea to leave food out everywhere Binie usually goes to. Thanks for asking about the tooth. Still having tenderness where the molar was pulled on 1/3
I would think it would be gone by now. I googled and it said it could last for weeks while the bone heals.
The other tooth I had pulled on 1/6 that spot if fine.
I'm going to my regular dentist on Tuesday and she what she has to say.
She didn't pull them an oral surgeon did . I don't feel like going back to them because it's such a pain in the butt to get to. I'll see what my dentist has to say.
Still can't eat anything but yogurt and soup only because it irritates the gum too much.
I do have bone loss which I already knew about. With my insurance the dentist has to ask my insurance company if I can get partial dentures or whatever. She asked 2 years ago and they said I didn't have enough teeth missing. Well maybe now I do lol.
Got my second shingle shot on Friday, later that night I had a 102 fever and aches . The first one I got only my arm was killing me. Same thing now . It takes about 6 days for the arm to stop hurting.
At least no fever today.
Great start to 2025 :p
Give Binie lots of kisses for me ok :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

That's why I haven't been on the board so much
@Heike & BInie
 
Last edited:
@Heike & BInie

That's a good idea to leave food out everywhere Binie usually goes to. Thanks for asking about the tooth. Still having tenderness where the molar was pulled on 1/3
I would think it would be gone by now. I googled and it said it could last for weeks while the bone heals.
The other tooth I had pulled on 1/6 that spot if fine.
I'm going to my regular dentist on Tuesday and she what she has to say.
She didn't pull them an oral surgeon did . I don't feel like going back to them because it's such a pain in the butt to get to. I'll see what my dentist has to say.
Still can't eat anything but yogurt and soup only because it irritates the gum too much.
I do have bone loss which I already knew about. With my insurance the dentist has to ask my insurance company if I can get partial dentures or whatever. She asked 2 years ago and they said I didn't have enough teeth missing. Well maybe now I do lol.
Got my second shingle shot on Friday, later that night I had a 102 fever and aches . The first one I got only my arm was killing me. Same thing now . It takes about 6 days for the arm to stop hurting.
At least no fever today.
Great start to 2025 :p
Give Binie lots of kisses for me ok :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

That's why I haven't been on the board so much
@Heike & BInie

Oh no, (((Diane)))! I am so sorry you still have to deal with this! Soup and joghurt for weeks doesn't sound like fun. :( I hope your dentist can help you to get rid of the pain.

And the shingle shot doesn't sound like fun too. :( But much better than shingles, so glad you got them. Let's hope that the rest of 2025 brings lots of health and well-being for you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh Binie, please cooperate! Don't make your mama fret!! :nailbiting:

(Heike, if you are a "chicken," at least you're in good company. I think we have all been there -- some of us never outgrow it!)

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh no, (((Diane)))! I am so sorry you still have to deal with this! Soup and joghurt for weeks doesn't sound like fun. :( I hope your dentist can help you to get rid of the pain.

And the shingle shot doesn't sound like fun too. :( But much better than shingles, so glad you got them. Let's hope that the rest of 2025 brings lots of health and well-being for you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks Heike :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top