1/11 Ivy Amps 382, +2 255, +6 226, +9 248, PMPS 278, +2 270, +4 180, +7 92 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-3-163-6-213-9-75-161-11-318-pmps-309.285494/
Good morning,
Amps: 382
374 +1
Another high pink start. Yuck. Last night Ivy decided to take a dip at +3 to +4 to some Green on her Libre (so would be higher on handheld device). Still nice. I gave her a little 9% then 6% just to try to have her surf rather than dive hard. Food experiment to try to see what works best for her.

She’s licking her fur a bit but not like when the tees were on.
This morning her fancy tube top had shifted so that Libre sensor was exposed on her back when I got to her first thing this morning.
Heart attack ensued for me. But all was fine. I realigned her top and hope to keep that sucker covered so she can’t remove it. :banghead:

Have a safe surf everyone. :)
 
Good morning Staci,
Nice streak yesterday AM-PM! Good to see the nice numbers for so many hours!
Glad to hear that she's licking less - so you think it wasn't food allergy? Maybe sensitivity to fabric?
Hope the tube top is the answer to this!

Hope you and Ivy have a great day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good meowning

Very nice cycle yesterday.
She got her bounce on but I think she'll show you a similar pattern as yesterday.

Have a good day.
upload_2024-1-11_8-14-34.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-1-11_8-14-34.png
    upload_2024-1-11_8-14-34.png
    167.1 KB · Views: 285
@Marje and Gracie
Response to your post from 1/7/24 below:
I am sure you’ve addressed this before so please forgive me for asking but she’s not eating dry food so why not TR? Even if those lows were accurate, she wouldn’t have earned a reduction and I might feel a little better at telling you could increase if you were going to be there to test her and catch the lows. But I’m not comfortable saying that with SLGS or customdosing with a reduction point of 70.

My reply:
I tried TR last year.
What I have found is that Ivy takes longer than 3 days (TR protocol) to settle into a dose to show me what she’s gonna do on it. She’s also not very carb sensitive so it’s harder to bring her BG up when she goes very low.
Generally 6% doesn’t do anything to bring her higher. Also since I would have to let her drop to 40 since a long time diabetic is uncomfortable for me because she is not carb sensitive. I am concerned it would be harder to bring her higher if needed from that low.
No, she does not eat any dry food.

I’ve been advised many times to lower the reduction point to 70 and stick with SLGS to try to keep her on a dose longer without back to back reductions.
I’ve also been advised over time to keep her on as low a carb recipe as possible, 6%.
I had her on 12% last summer and was told that was too high thus her bg was too high and she would never improve or stop bouncing on carbs that high.
So I reduced in that Fall back down to 6% (which she originally ate from dx time 9/22 to 6/23, when I tried the 12% recipe to see how that would work).
I feel like I’ve been all over the map, tried many strategies but still not progressing too much.

She’s a huge bouncer. She can drop over 100 points in less than an hour. Then after she sees low or lower bgs she can bounce to 300s and 400 on her Libre.

You asked about the 40s bgs she had recently on the Libre. I’ve most consistently found that usually she drops down from 50s, 40s then when she hits “Lo” is when she will read under 100 on a handheld meter.
I have had a few low 40 Libre bgs when she’s been just under or just over 90, and sometimes it’s over 100.

And you are correct that Lo can be a varied bg of bg under 100, or something over 100.
I’ve learned to ear prick when she’s in Lo range, since that is when I most reliably will find that she will be under 100 bgs that may or may not earn a reduction (whether that is 70 or 90 reduction point).
So…while she will spike up to 300-400 after seeing lower bgs, she very quickly drops back lower. She clears those bounces fast, next cycle most times.(Which is an improvement for her.)
Then you’ve mentioned, about insulin duration issues.
So is she having duration issues or is she bouncing or both? That’s what I’m not really understanding.

And then to complicate it I’m not really sure which is better for her to use 6% or 9% overall or just use the 9% if I see she’s dropping to try to put the brakes on some of those steeper drops so that she can more slowly hit lower numbers.

Again, I’ve been told to just let her drop until she hits the 50s on a handheld meter to let her get to lower numbers without the intervention of higher carbs. (So that means let her drop like a rock at times, over 100 points in under an hour, when she’s on a dive mission).
Just not sure what the best strategy is and then, still having difficulty trying to figure out when to raise her dose.
I see her having BGs under 149, but I’m still not clear on how often you make a decision to hold a dose if she’s seeing those nadirs, even if they’re not, every day.
Are they not every day because she’s bouncing where you ignore those bounce numbers or should she just be getting more insulin to try to have more consistent lower BGs ?
I’ve been told the more she’s in lower BGs the less she will bounce.
Whew, lots of questions as you can see. Thanks for helping me try to come up with a strategy. :bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning Staci,
Nice streak yesterday AM-PM! Good to see the nice numbers for so many hours!
Glad to hear that she's licking less - so you think it wasn't food allergy? Maybe sensitivity to fabric?
Hope the tube top is the answer to this!

Hope you and Ivy have a great day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit, the jury is out whether is it a food allergy or a clothing issue or who knows what? If only she could tell me, right??

I guess I have to keep watching her and see if she improves. I’ll keep the appointment with the nutritionist so that I can have yet another consultation to get her thoughts and will probably have her formulate a turkey novel protein recipe.
Then I can decide whether to switch her or not based on how she does in the next week or two.

Her cycles were ok yesterday, just not loving all that pink and red on her SS these days :(
Hope you have a nice day today! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good meowning

Very nice cycle yesterday.
She got her bounce on but I think she'll show you a similar pattern as yesterday.

Have a good day.
View attachment 68745
Hi Karolina, love the kitty and coffee graphic. So relatable :) Love and appreciate the adorable content you give us.
She’s already coming back to earth this morning after a bouncy Amps.
Let’s hope for a beach day for all! Wishing you all a wonderful and warm day today :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
288 at +3
Offered her a snack and she has no interest. Very odd, she always eats her snack.
One thing I changed as of last night (again this am) I am giving equal portions of food at her both meals and snacks +1,2,3.
Since I have eliminated additional snacks past +3 in the past week I felt like I was giving too much food at pm cycle (had been giving 130 g for pm cycle divided over meal plus snacks. Was giving 92 g divided over am cycle, per nutritionist suggestion since I previously told her Ivy’s pm cycle was more active than am cycle. She suggested give more food over the pm cycle to try to offset those lower cycles. Have been doing that since last June 2023).

Maybe Ivy isn’t used to having more food in her am cycle so she feels fuller?? Another mystery. :banghead:
 
Hi Staci :)
I'm so happy the itchiness is better. What a relief.
I can imagine your heart attack seeing her top on the side this morning. Phew. Happy she didn't take off the sensor.
It's nice that you experiment with the higher end of LC rather than MC. I'd be curious to see how that works for the long term.
It's amazing that you keep staying open to questioning things and experimenting. I know it's challenging and demanding. But it's also so necessary to figure out what is best for Ivy.
Wishing you a great rest of your day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So nice to read the itching is getting better. I imagine having her tshirt on at all times must feel like wearing a hat constantly ;)
Hi Cecile, I am hesitant to be sure, but cautiously watching!! Hoping she's feeling a bit better. I bet you are right, having to wear some foreign article of clothing can't be fun for a cat. :oops:
 
Hi Staci :)
I'm so happy the itchiness is better. What a relief.
I can imagine your heart attack seeing her top on the side this morning. Phew. Happy she didn't take off the sensor.
It's nice that you experiment with the higher end of LC rather than MC. I'd be curious to see how that works for the long term.
It's amazing that you keep staying open to questioning things and experimenting. I know it's challenging and demanding. But it's also so necessary to figure out what is best for Ivy.
Wishing you a great rest of your day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Shelly, I was so freaked out when that's what I saw at 5:30 am!
Thanks for the support :)
I feel I don't have options but to keep asking questions. My vet sure isn't giving me a steady stream of answers. It seems you have to be your own advocate to get anywhere. It is truly exhausting.

I know you are doing the same thing for both Fistuk and Prince! Keep digging for answers. Every single day!!

Hope you are feeling stronger and better today!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Afternoon Staci, I'm glad to hear she's not licking that much since taking the tee off. I hope that was the problem, Good idea to keep the appt with the nutritionist to see what she thinks .
Hope you both have a nice night :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
Afternoon Staci, I'm glad to hear she's not licking that much since taking the tee off. I hope that was the problem, Good idea to keep the appt with the nutritionist to see what she thinks .
Hope you both have a nice night :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
Hi Diane, thanks for checking in with us :) I keep hoping she will feel better and maybe we can resolve one problem. Paws crossed.
Have a lovely evening :bighug::):bighug:
 
I tried TR last year.
What I have found is that Ivy takes longer than 3 days (TR protocol) to settle into a dose to show me what she’s gonna do on it. She’s also not very carb sensitive so it’s harder to bring her BG up when she goes very low.
Generally 6% doesn’t do anything to bring her higher. Also since I would have to let her drop to 40 since a long time diabetic is uncomfortable for me because she is not carb sensitive. I am concerned it would be harder to bring her higher if needed from that low.
No, she does not eat any dry food.
A little board history: when the board was first created by Rebecca, a doctor, because her cat had acro, the only method early on was SLGS; TR didn’t yet exist. Cats did go into remission with SLGS and still do. Lantus started being used and that was followed by TR. More cats started going in to remission with Lantus and TR. When we got here in 2010, the only SLGS users were ones who absolutely could not get their cats off dry. We had alot of OTJ parties in those days. Then a group came in and they all wanted to do SLGS so a separate board in FDMB was created for them called “Relaxed Lantus” and they all used SLGS. Usually the people advising on the TR board didn’t advise on the Relaxed Lantus board and vice versa, except Jill and Libby, of course. But some of those people had their own ideas about how Lantus worked and when we started seeing more and more of those cats there with DKA, Jill closed that board. Those people left and I’ll leave the rest of it at that.

Yes, SLGS can get cats into remission but TR is a much better option for those who can do it and whose cats don’t eat dry food. But, most of us that are big TR proponents are so because we don’t like seeing cats at higher BGs than they need to be if the cat is not on dry food or if the CG doesn’t have a health issue or a family member with a health issue, etc. We’ve had many, many people over the years hold down full-time jobs and do TR.

Some cats will be slow responders to a dose change and my Gracie was one. I learned that if she dropped into the 100-199 range in the first six cycles, it was going to take a full 11 cycles before she would start turning out green BGs.

One thing we all do as CGs is sometimes get lost in the dance and don’t take an objective look at the SS. So I looked at Ivy’s 2023 SS when she was on TR. Here’s what I see starting on 5/2 when you began TR:

5/10: low numbers at AMPS; I couldn’t really sort out the exact way it all played out but she evidently vomited at some time which will cause the BG to drop. I also couldn’t tell what you fed her but she came up at +1 and stayed.
5/27: low numbers but it was the day she broke her leg (poor sweetheart) but she came right up.
5/30: surgery; anesthesia almost always causes low BGs but she came right up
6/9: those numbers were on the Libre but then one on the contour was 86. Great number; but it didn’t look like you had to fight to get her up. She didn’t even “wobble” which means you think you have her up and then the next test, she’s way down again.
6/12: PM....she did wobble here but you only used MC.

Then you went back to SLGS; so, in my eyes, I’m not seeing an issue with her dropping low and continuing to drop low enough to be worrisome. Yes, you had to work at it the night of 6/12 but that could have been the dose was done or a little extra absorption. And as you know, bounce clearing cycles are always active cycles. Here’s the other thing, you are using 70 as a reduction point but you still had the evening of 1/4 where she dropped down and you had to work to get her back up. It’s going to happen whether you are doing SLGS or TR or custom dosing when the depot gets overfull unless you catch it early.

I’m not trying to push you to TR but it’s easier for me to be objective about it.

I’ve been advised many times to lower the reduction point to 70 and stick with SLGS to try to keep her on a dose longer without back to back reductions.
I’ve also been advised over time to keep her on as low a carb recipe as possible, 6%.
I had her on 12% last summer and was told that was too high thus her bg was too high and she would never improve or stop bouncing on carbs that high.
So I reduced in that Fall back down to 6% (which she originally ate from dx time 9/22 to 6/23, when I tried the 12% recipe to see how that would work).
I feel like I’ve been all over the map, tried many strategies but still not progressing too much.
I’m so sorry. Yes, for some cats, and Gracie was one, too, it takes some food experimentation. However, you’ve now seen the information on how a higher LC might work better for some cats. But, 12% is not higher LC. It’s MC and if it raised her BG, she’s more carb sensitive than you think. I’ve seen members feed their cat 18% with gravy and a drop of syrup and the BG barely budge. I’ve also seen cats whose BG has bumped up with almost zero carb freeze dried food.

As I mentioned yesterday, at some point in time when a CG has alot of data and experience (as you do) and knows their cat’s pattern, we would expect to veer off a method of regulation to what works for the cat as determined by all that data and feeding. I don’t know when you were advised to drop the reduction point to 70 but if it was early on, it shouldn’t have been done. Also, holding the dose longer without back-to-back reductions is not SLGS; it’s also custom dosing. It’s ok for you to do custom dosing, but I’d just like to ask that you change the SS and your signature to reflect you are doing custom dosing. Usually with custom dosing in the signature, we would add “do not follow”.

At that point where you are doing custom dosing, then we have to ask, “when do we increase”? Well, first, we never increase unless we know how low the current dose is taking her and that’s the great thing about the Libre because you get alot of data. But which meter do you use to make dosing decisions? It’s like using an Alpha Trak. Members who start using them have a hard time switching and they always want to compare the human vs pet meter numbers. But you can’t. So you have to pick one and go with what it’s telling you. If the Libre is telling you she got down to 68 but she’s been on this dose a long time and that was the first green in four days, how aggressive can you be? We were pretty aggressive but either my husband or I were always here with Gracie and we tested alot. If you want to get more insulin into her, then you need to get more low carbs into her (i.e. 9%) to see if that will raise the overall curve. See where I’m going?

Then you’ve mentioned, about insulin duration issues.
So is she having duration issues or is she bouncing or both? That’s what I’m not really understanding.
Look at 12/12. She lost duration by +7, went way up (no duration) but then came back down again when she got her next shot. If she was going to bounce, she would have just kept going up; same for the PM cycle; she lost duration, went up early but came back down the next cycle. A cycle where they don’t lose duration should see the BG steadily coming up towards the next PS and will most likely have a second dip but she didn’t do that. When they lose duration and then bounce, the BG goes way up.

When the BG stays pretty flat until +10, but then shoots up alot more than the 20% meter variance, it’s loss of duration although not as bad as when they lose it at +7. Don’t beat yourself up over this because there are only three of us here that can tell loss of duration. It’s tricky and you have to look at hundreds of SS to learn it.....and not your own cat’s :p

Again, I’ve been told to just let her drop until she hits the 50s on a handheld meter to let her get to lower numbers without the intervention of higher carbs. (So that means let her drop like a rock at times, over 100 points in under an hour, when she’s on a dive mission).
If a cat is dropping fast and especially towards the 50s, slow it down with the lowest carbs you know will do the job. If that’s 15%, do it. If it’s 10%, great. If she’s dropping very slowly in a “normal” curve, then feeding the curve with your regular LC and seeing what she does is fine. If she drops below 50, then so be it. But we shouldn’t be feeding HC just to prevent a reduction. I’m not saying you’ve done that but I’m just putting it out there for readers. And, again, as I said before, you have to look at where she is in the cycle. If she’s dropped 100 in an hour early on and is headed towards 50 in a bounce clearing cycle, I’m going to slow that down because the reduction she earns will not hold. Guaranteed. And she will bounce hard again. The goal is to flatten it out so there aren’t any fast drops that you have to control so the cycle can play out with LC and she earns her reductions that way. Does that make sense?

I see her having BGs under 149, but I’m still not clear on how often you make a decision to hold a dose if she’s seeing those nadirs, even if they’re not, every day.
Are they not every day because she’s bouncing where you ignore those bounce numbers or should she just be getting more insulin to try to have more consistent lower BGs ?
I’ve been told the more she’s in lower BGs the less she will bounce.
I’d say if she’s getting into nadirs 90-149 and then bouncing, then clearing the bounce and going back down, it’s worth holding the dose. But if you are going days without a decent nadir, then you have to ask yourself how aggressive do YOU want to be with IVY. (This part of the advice pertains only to Ivy because of Staci’s experience and data). Only you can decide that and you must consider how low she’s going when she does come back down as well as how long she stays there if you are feeding LC.

Giving more insulin without feeding higher LC just to get rid of the bounces is too aggressive. If she’s in that area where you aren’t sure whether to increase or not and she’s bouncy, then you can feed 9% and see if it helps to flatten the curve but the BGs will overall be higher. They won’t magically come down at least not right away. When the depot gets full and she earns a reduction, they will but then she might start bouncing again...or not.

Look at Gracie’s 2012 Levemir SS around April 27. I tried an experiment, very briefly, where I raised her dose when she went above 200 (dose increases are in orange). She quit bouncing and started churning out green but boy did she hit some low numbers and I had to call that one off. This is not to suggest anyone should ever do this but you can see what happens if you don’t feed a higher LC food when you increase a dose. When I let off, she started bouncing again...not high but she did. I was very, very experienced at this time and knew her very well. And I told Jill what I wanted to do so she was looking out as well.

Thanks for helping me try to come up with a strategy.
I’m not sure I should say, “you’re welcome” because I’ve only given you info to mull over. The strategy comes after you think and absorb some of this and maybe look at some of the things I learned with Gracie who could drop fast, who loved to bounce, etc etc. All those things, I had to learn to live with because we were at it a long, long time. As it evolved, I started using R insulin with her as a bolus and that helped. That takes alot of time, attention, and someone who can be with you to teach it. It is, very sadly, a lost technique here because it can be quite effective under some circumstances as long as a CG can monitor alot.
 
Last edited:
A little board history: when the board was first created by Rebecca, a doctor, because her cat had acro, the only method early on was SLGS; TR didn’t yet exist. Cats did go into remission with SLGS and still do. Lantus started being used and that was followed by TR. More cats started going in to remission with Lantus and TR. When we got here in 2010, the only SLGS users were ones who absolutely could not get their cats off dry. We had alot of OTJ parties in those days. Then a group came in and they all wanted to do SLGS so a separate board in FDMB was created for them called “Relaxed Lantus” and they all used SLGS. Usually the people advising on the TR board didn’t advise on the Relaxed Lantus board and vice versa, except Jill and Libby, of course. But some of those people had their own ideas about how Lantus worked and when we started seeing more and more of those cats there with DKA, Jill closed that board. Those people left and I’ll leave the rest of it at that.

Yes, SLGS can get cats into remission but TR is a much better option for those who can do it and whose cats don’t eat dry food. But, most of us that are big TR proponents are so because we don’t like seeing cats at higher BGs than they need to be if the cat is not on dry food or if the CG doesn’t have a health issue or a family member with a health issue, etc. We’ve had many, many people over the years hold down full-time jobs and do TR.

Some cats will be slow responders to a dose change and my Gracie was one. I learned that if she dropped into the 100-199 range in the first six cycles, it was going to take a full 11 cycles before she would start turning out green BGs. One thing we all do as CGs is sometimes get lost in the dance and don’t take an objective look at the SS. So I looked at her 2023 SS when she was on TR. Here’s what I see starting on 5/2 when you began TR:

5/10: low numbers at AMPS; I couldn’t really sort out the exact way it all played out but she evidently vomited at some time which will cause the BG to drop. I also couldn’t tell what you fed her but she came up at +1 and stayed.
5/27: low numbers but it was the day she broke her leg (poor sweetheart) but she came right up.
5/30: surgery; anesthesia almost always causes low BGs but she came right up
6/9: those numbers were on the Libre but then one on the contour was 86. Great number; but it didn’t look like you had to fight to get her up. She didn’t even “wobble” which means you think you have her up and then the next test, she’s way down again.
6/12: PM....she did wobble here but you only used MC.

Then you went back to SLGS; so, in my eyes, I’m not seeing an issue with her dropping low and continuing to drop low enough to be worrisome. Yes, you had to work at it the night of 6/12 but that could have been the dose was done or a little extra absorption. And as you know, bounce clearing cycles are always active cycles. Here’s the other thing, you are using 70 as a reduction point but you still had the evening of 1/4 where she dropped down and you had to work to get her back up. It’s going to happen whether you are doing SLGS or TR or custom dosing when the depot gets overfull unless you catch it early.

I’m not trying to push you to TR but it’s easier for me to be objective about it.


I’m so sorry. Yes, for some cats, and Gracie was one, too, it takes some food experimentation. However, you’ve now seen the information on how a higher LC might work better for some cats. But, 12% is not higher LC. It’s MC and if it raised her BG, she’s more carb sensitive than you think. I’ve seen members feed their cat 18% with gravy and a drop of syrup and the BG barely budge. I’ve also seen cats whose BG has bumped up with almost zero carb freeze dried food.

As I mentioned yesterday, at some point in time when a CG has alot of data and experience (as you do) and knows their cat’s pattern, we would expect to veer off a method of regulation to what works for the cat as determined by all that data and feeding. I don’t know when you were advised to drop the reduction point to 70 but if it was early on, it shouldn’t have been done. Also, holding the dose longer without back-to-back reductions is not SLGS; it’s also custom dosing. It’s ok for you to do custom dosing, but I’d just like to ask that you change the SS and your signature to reflect you are doing custom dosing. Usually with custom dosing in the signature, we would add “do not follow”.

At that point where you are doing custom dosing, then we have to ask, “when do we increase”? Well, first, we never increase unless we know how low the current dose is taking her and that’s the great thing about the Libre because you get alot of data. But which meter do you use to make dosing decisions? It’s like using an Alpha Trak. Members who start using them have a hard time switching and they always want to compare the human vs pet meter numbers. But you can’t. So you have to pick one and go with what it’s telling you. If the Libre is telling you she got down to 68 but she’s been on this dose a long time and that was the first green in four days, how aggressive can you be? We were pretty aggressive but either my husband or I were always here with Gracie and we tested alot. If you want to get more insulin into her, then you need to get more low carbs into her (i.e. 9%) to see if that will raise the overall curve. See where I’m going?


Look at 12/12. She lost duration by +7, went way up (no duration) but then came back down again when she got her next shot. If she was going to bounce, she would have just kept going up; same for the PM cycle; she lost duration, went up early but came back down the next cycle. A cycle where they don’t lose duration should see the BG steadily coming up towards the next PS and will most likely have a second dip but she didn’t do that. When they lose duration and then bounce, the BG goes way up.

When the BG stays pretty flat until +10, but then shoots up alot more than the 20% meter variance, it’s loss of duration although not as bad as when they lose it at +7. Don’t beat yourself up over this because there are only three of us here that can tell loss of duration. It’s tricky and you have to look at hundreds of SS to learn it.....and not your own cat’s :p


If a cat is dropping fast and especially towards the 50s, slow it down with the lowest carbs you know will do the job. If that’s 15%, do it. If it’s 10%, great. If she’s dropping very slowly in a “normal” curve, then feeding the curve with your regular LC and seeing what she does is fine. If she drops below 50, then so be it. But we shouldn’t be feeding HC to prevent a reduction. I’m not saying you’ve done that but I’m just putting it out there for readers. And, again, as I said before, you have to look at where she is in the cycle. If she’s dropped 100 in an hour early on and is headed towards 50 in a bounce clearing cycle, I’m going to slow that down because the reduction she earns will not hold. Guaranteed. And she will bounce hard again. The goal is to flatten it out so there aren’t any fast drops that you have to control so the cycle can play out with LC and she earns her reductions that way. Does that make sense?


I’d say if she’s getting into nadirs 90-149 and then bouncing, then clearing the bounce and going back down, it’s worth holding the dose. But if you are going days without a decent nadir, then you have to ask yourself how aggressive do YOU want to be with IVY. (This part of the advice pertains only to Ivy because of Staci’s experience and data). Only you can decide that and you must consider how low she’s going when she does come back down as well as how long she stays there if you are feeding LC.

Giving more insulin without feeding higher LC just to get rid of the bounces is too aggressive. If she’s in that area where you aren’t sure whether to increase or not and she’s bouncy, then you can feed 9% and see if it helps to flatten the curve but the BGs will overall be higher. They won’t magically come down at least not right away. When the depot gets full and she earns a reduction, they will but then she might start bouncing again...or not.

Look at Gracie’s 2012 Levemir SS around April 27. I tried an experiment, very briefly, where I raised her dose when she went above 200 (dose increases are in orange). She quit bouncing and started churning out green but boy did she hit some low numbers and I had to call that one off. This is not to suggest anyone should ever do this but you can see what happens if you don’t feed a higher LC food when you increase a dose. When I let off, she started bouncing again...not high but she did. I was very, very experienced at this time and knew her very well. And I told Jill what I wanted to do so she was looking out as well.


I’m not sure I should say, “you’re welcome” because I’ve only given you info to mull over. The strategy comes after you think and absorb some of this and maybe look at some of the things I learned with Gracie who could drop fast, who loved to bounce, etc etc. All those things, I had to learn to live with because we were at it a long, long time. As it evolved, I started using R insulin with her as a bolus and that helped. That takes alot of time, attention, and someone who can be with you to teach it. It is, very sadly, a lost technique here because it can be quite effective under some circumstances as long as a CG can monitor alot.
WOW, I really need to read and reread this so I can process it all and respond with what I feel will be many questions.
I know we have lots of eyes on this conversation so I hope we can help many, many other cat parents and cats at the same time :)
I and (WE) all appreciate you, Marje! :bighug:
 
WOW, I really need to read and reread this so I can process it all and respond with what I feel will be many questions.
I know we have lots of eyes on this conversation so I hope we can help many, many other cat parents and cats at the same time :)
I and (WE) all appreciate you, Marje! :bighug:
No hurry. Whenever you have time to digest it, let me know and we will chat.

Thank you :bighug:
 
Back
Top