1/15 Cleo AMPS 104

Status
Not open for further replies.

chriscleo

Very Active Member
upped the dose a hair. hope it works.
updated more of spreadsheet but didn't input notes yet.


Cleo has lymphoma and is on CCNU (chemo) + prednisolone.
Inappetance and steroid are big considerations in dosing now. She had liver issues (cholangiohepatitis) but those #s are improving.
She's on methylB12, mirtazapine, cerenia, Denamarin, B12, Bcomplex, sucralfate for anemia.
Fluids daily for punky feeling from chemo.
Numbers have been running too high so we need to get them down per vet, and are working to figure out how to balance everything to get her relatively regulated but safe. Reaction to azithromycin caused diarrhea so I'm syringing fortiflora (she won't eat it).
We've done the sugar dance for 2.5 yrs but request input esp from lantus users with steroid/chemo experience
 
+10~142

it's been her pattern to go high after a "lower" preshot these days (low means even low 100s) but this is the 2nd shot after hairline increase so maybe it's wonkiness.
 
chris i forgot...pred bid not q24 right?
can i (or you) copy/paste the 6 points i gave you in FB PM here so everyone knows what you are working on as far as issues needing tweaking to control BG?
 
jojo and bunny said:
chris i forgot...pred bid not q24 right?
can i (or you) copy/paste the 6 points i gave you in FB PM here so everyone knows what you are working on as far as issues needing tweaking to control BG?

here's what you said:
so you have 6 things making cleo's curves....
1-insulin,
2-pred,
3-time,
4-what happened last cycle,
5-eating
6-how she feels.
no way can you balance all those without it written down or on SS is better so can see patterns better. why am i taking all the time to write all this out? cause from what you have implied, numbers are not good and in addition to sugar feeding cancer, chemo is so hard on kidneys and she should never ever be above renal threshold.
does she get any appy lift from going green? if she does that is another reason to work on numbers. also if she gets wiped out from higher numbers another reason to keep her low and flat. or if swings bother her, work on numbers. you can control numbers, you cannot the cancer. work on what you can control. both you and she will feel better if you get the numbers under control.

you'll be happy to know i have not overslept and missed a shot. i have shot late because she was dropping significantly all cycle and i didn't trust liver to fight hypo. but yes numbers need to stay down. i don't really want to get urine test strips for glucose but will if i have to. i believe her renal threshold is lower at around 150 but i've seen her bounce from the middle greens she used to like before.

does anyone have a spreadsheet i can follow wherein i input when she gets meds/fluids or when she's inappetant? i think it's important to track meds to see if i can spot a pattern that way. if anyone is willing to help me do that, i would appreciate it.
 
JD has an appetite scale on his SS. But I don't think there is a clean new SS with meds and food and appetance, etc...

(((Chris)))) (((Cleo)))
 
You could use your existing SS and use two lines per day: one line for the BG's and the line underneath to show meds/fluids. You could use one or two letters to indicate the drug: PR, CE, MI, etc, or FL for fluids (or something like 50ml to show amount of fluids), and place them in the appropriate time box relative to shots. Comments on appetite and vomiting, etc could go on the side. You could expand to more lines if needed. Then you could see the timing of the med on the same SS as the BG numbers.
 
thanks for the advice, guys. it'll be good to see if any discernable patterns emerge re timing of meds/fluids and cleo's dose cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top