1/15 Shadoe amps 358 +2 295 - back from vet
Holy moly! Did they give me the wrong cat back?
I may as well open the frig and let her eat everything in there!
I had the appt with one of the vets who actually knows something about FD - bonus!
I gave her the background for Shadoe, provided print of her ss, and also a conversion chart (they need to see 16.4, not 295), a copy of the food list, and a copy of the dosing protocol - just so she knows what we are following.
I told her we wanted to check for pancreatitis first, and also acro and IAA, then cushings if we were still stumped. She agreed that we should be looking for a reason for the high dose, just by ruling out things. She called the lab and they don't have the IAA test, but we will have it done if needed later.
The licking lip thing is most likely just the nausea, but no need for appetite stimulant because she was going to the food, but not eating. Again due to the nausea. I know I don't like to eat when I am nauseous, so no surprise there.
She checked the teeth and said they could use a bit of a clean, but we are not looking at that till we get her back on her feet healthier. That will be about $600-800 and more depending what they find. Ugh. She did say they did not look bad though.
The anal glands were not impacted but were firm; we had them expressed.
She was a wee bit dehydrated since she has not eaten or drunk much for a few days; we gave her subQ fluids, so they said just a small lump on back till settled in.
Bloodwork taken: FADR4 - CBC, CC3, FPL, T4, Fruc, U/A
One Zantac injection.
Instructions provided to start her on pepcid A/C 10mg tablets, 1/4 tab twice a day for 3-4 days starting tonite.
Vet will call me likely tomorrow with the blood results and the FPL may take till Sunday, so she will call again when she has that result.
Everyone there, techs and vets, all commented on how MUSCULAR she was since she does not look it at all, and how well behaved she was. If nothing else, Shadoe is super SOLID and totally easy going and well behaved, even if she is terrified. And speaking of terrified, I guess I should put off testing till later this afternoon since she is likely still stressed from the vet visit and has literally inhaled a half can of tuna and a bunch of other stuff in the various bowls from our attempts to get her to eat this morn.
Now, $400 later, we are home and Shadoe is eating everything that will fit in her mouth, which reminds me, I should finish this off and make sure she is eating only edible things!
What an oinker! No wonder she is so MUSCULAR. :roll:
I am assuming that we stick with our normal dose tonite right?