1/18 Mimi AMPS 301 +6 257 PMPS 293

Šeča

Member Since 2023
Hello guys,
I am new here at FDMB. I am really glad that I found community that is prepared to help us on this journey of diabetes.
My cats name is Mimi and she is 9 years old. She was diagnosed in October 2022 when she became letargic. At that time she was on corticosteroids and she had BG around 300 (without ketones). She came home with Lantus 1U.
We had a Lybre installed until new years when she removed 2 sensores in 1 week. That's when I decided to start testing her with meter.
She is very timid, scared of everything and everybody. I had problems with just giving shoots. I try really hard to test her at least 4 times a day. More then that I really can't do because she won't let me. She starts to hide and run.

She is on wet low carb food.

I think that 1U is not doing much at the moment and I wonder if anyone has any opinion on what should I do or what is the best for my Mimi.
I would really appreciate any help :)
 
Welcome to the best place you can ever land
With the advice of all the experienced members Tyler wouldn't be in remission since 1-24-21

Just want to let you know we can't see your spreadsheet

You have to
To set spreadsheet sharing permission:
* At the top right of the spreadsheet screen click on Share.

* In the pop-up dialog box click on the Get Link section.

* Change link access from 'Restricted' to 'Anyone with the link' and make sure that the permission on the right hand side is set to 'Viewer'.

* Click Done to save the changes.
 
Welcome to the best place you can ever land
With the advice of all the experienced members Tyler wouldn't be in remission since 1-24-21

Just want to let you know we can't see your spreadsheet

You have to
To set spreadsheet sharing permission:
* At the top right of the spreadsheet screen click on Share.

* In the pop-up dialog box click on the Get Link section.

* Change link access from 'Restricted' to 'Anyone with the link' and make sure that the permission on the right hand side is set to 'Viewer'.

* Click Done to save the changes.
I think it's okay now. :bighug:
 
Yes I can see it now
Can you please set up what we call our signature , it's information we need about
Mimi
To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Take a look at mine
 
Have you tried offering some low carb snack like a little piece of chicken to distract her while you test?
If you can get her to associate testing with a treat, that will help matters a lot.
I would try taking her to one spot, touching her ears and giving a treat, several times a day, to get her used to the concept. And use that spot to do all the testing.

You can also offer

As for treats when you test or give insulin
for treats for testing
You can give any freeze dried treats they are all low carb
Tap on this blue link and read post #64 the post numbers are to the right of each post and you can read about the freeze dried treats I listed

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-to-this-i-need-advice.269452/#post-3007388

You can even give plain boiled chicken pieces

Also
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 20 seconds until it stops
 
Last edited:
Hello guys,
I am new here at FDMB. I am really glad that I found community that is prepared to help us on this journey of diabetes.
My cats name is Mimi and she is 9 years old. She was diagnosed in October 2022 when she became letargic. At that time she was on corticosteroids and she had BG around 300 (without ketones). She came home with Lantus 1U.
We had a Lybre installed until new years when she removed 2 sensores in 1 week. That's when I decided to start testing her with meter.
She is very timid, scared of everything and everybody. I had problems with just giving shoots. I try really hard to test her at least 4 times a day. More then that I really can't do because she won't let me. She starts to hide and run.

She is on wet low carb food.

I think that 1U is not doing much at the moment and I wonder if anyone has any opinion on what should I do or what is the best for my Mimi.
I would really appreciate any help :)
I'm going to tag a few members for you to take a look at your spreadsheet about the dose
Lantus likes consistency, we don't increase doses by full units
We adjust the doses by 0,25 units at a time whether it be an increase or decrease
I'm going to give you the link to read all about lantus , read all the yellow stickys, especially the 2 dosing methods, you will need to pick one that would be good for you to follow and add it to your signature and spreadsheet
Do you have the U-100 syringes with half unit markings?
Do you live in the US? I see you already tested the PMPS can you add that to your spreadsheet

@tiffmaxee

@Suzanne & Darcy

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

@Bron and Sheba (GA)


Link for lantus
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/
 
Last edited:
@Diane Tyler's Mom i will try to read everything as soon as possible. I did update the spreadsheet :)
I am from Slovenia. And yes i do have syringes with half mark units. I started giving insulin with syringes on Saturday.
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom i will try to read everything as soon as possible. I did update the spreadsheet :)
I am from Slovenia. And yes i do have syringes with half mark units. I started giving insulin with syringes on Saturday.

Seca

I realize this will be a challenge as all of our documents are in English. If you can try and post daily as you did on this post (you did a great job with the subject line!), then more members might be able to help.

Very simply, we have two dosing methods. One is a slower method (Start Low Go Slow or SLGS) so the doses are held for a week. The other, the doses are only held six cycles if the blood glucose lowest point is 200 or above (for right now). This method is called “tight regulation” (TR) and it will allow you to help Mimi get into better BGs faster with the amount you are testing especially because she is not eating any dry food at all.

These methods are found in THIS post (click on the blue THIS). It is alot for you to translate. But, for now, I would increase her dose to 1.5u tomorrow morning unless you feel you need to go much slower and follow the SLGS where the doses are held for one week unless her BG drops below 90 (5 mmol/L).

Please post tomorrow with your questions. We have helped others from other countries where they do not speak English so I am very hopeful we can help you and Mimi.
 
Seca

Zavedam se, da bo to izziv, saj so vsi naši dokumenti v angleščini. Če lahko poskusite objaviti vsak dan, kot ste storili v tej objavi (odlično ste opravili zadevo!), potem vam bo morda pomagalo več članov.

Zelo preprosto, imamo dva načina odmerjanja. Ena je počasnejša metoda (Start Low Go Slow ali SLGS), tako da se odmerki zadržujejo en teden. Drugič, odmerki se hranijo samo šest ciklov, če je najnižja raven glukoze v krvi 200 ali več (za zdaj). Ta metoda se imenuje »stroga regulacija« (TR) in vam bo omogočila, da s količino, ki jo testirate, Mimi pomaga hitreje doseči boljši GK, zlasti zato, ker sploh ne uživa suhe hrane.

Te metode najdete v TEJ objavi (kliknite na modro TOLE). Veliko je za vas prevesti. Toda zaenkrat bi ji zjutraj zjutraj povečali na 1,5 e , razen če menite, da morate iti veliko počasneje in slediti SLGS , kjer se odmerki hranijo en teden, razen če njen GK pade pod 90 (5 mmol/L).

Prosimo, objavite jutri svoja vprašanja. Pomagali smo drugim iz drugih držav, kjer ne govorijo angleško, zato zelo upam, da vam bomo lahko pomagali in Mimi.


Pozdravljena
Hvala za pomoč in sem zelo vesela da sem stopila z vami v kontakt in ste me sprejeli v vašo skupino. Še vedno se učim glede odmerjanja inzulina, imam brizge s polovično odmerjanje, problem imam za odmerjanje na manjše enote(0.15,...) preračunavanje.(video na yutub je v Angleščini).
Se bom potrudila max da sledim vašim nasvetom.
Jutri bom začela z 1.5e.
glede prevoda pa se uporabljam z google/translate, če kaj ne bom razumela pa vas bom ponovno vprašala.
Lp.
Upravo sam testirala Mimi i ima 7.6 :joyful: zanima me ali da počakam še 2-3 dni z povišanjem odmerka. :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Upravo sam testirala Mimi i ima 7.6 :joyful: zanima me ali da počakam še 2-3 dni z povišanjem odmerka. :bighug:
Yes, you should wait to increase the dose with 137.

Can you please put the information in your signature block back in English as I had it for you? We only have one member who could read it in Croatian and those helping you need to be able to read it in English.

Thank you.
 
Last edited:
Ja, počakajte, da povečate dozo s 137.

Ali lahko prosim vrnete podatke v svoj podpisni blok nazaj v angleščini, kot sem jih imel za vas? Imamo samo enega člana, ki ga zna prebrati v hrvaščini, tisti, ki vam pomagajo, pa ga morajo znati prebrati v angleščini.

Hvala.
Pozdravljeni
ali lahko povišam odmerek na 1,5.. Hvala
 
Back
Top