? 1/19 - Leo - AMPS 429 . +6 335 // PMPS 376. +1 419 // Should we increase the dose again?

Javier and Leo

Member Since 2020
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-251-3-92-5-pmps-hi-hi-3.241621/#post-2721487

We changed to 0.25U on the 17th in an effort to prevent him from bouncing and per some of the recommendations here. I would say we are now approaching his dosing with the SLGS method.

With the change to 0.25 we are seeing higher numbers and a flatter curve, no bouncing because he's not going too low.

Do you think we can sustain this lower dosing, or should we go back to 0.5U at the risk of him bouncing again? He's spending 0% of the time within the green rage in the last two days.

Thank you!
 
Did you give Leo a shot on the night of 1/17? There's nothing on the SS. If you haven't, you need to wait 6 cycles to see what he can do on this dose.

Whenever you have a question, use the "?" prefix in the thread title and ask a part of the question for eg "Help with dosing" or "Increase dose?" etc. That way, folks going through the list of threads can quickly identify those that have a question (from those that are daily updates/threads by members who post daily) :-)

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
 
Hi Javier and Mailys
The reason the dose was reduced was not to prevent him bouncing but because you recorded two LO BGs on 1/13 in the pm cycle at +4 and +5. That automatically triggers a reduction in dose (for safety).
If you are following SLGS you will need to wait 7 days before increasing the dose again.

You would be better following TR with the recent history of DKA as you can increase the dose more quickly and you don’t want him to be in high numbers.
Are you still testing frequently for ketones in the urine?
 
I just edited the title and added the missing shot from the spreadsheet.

We are testing for ketones every night. So far so good.
 
That is really good you are testing every day for ketones!
I see you increased the dose to 0.5 units this morning. . Just be aware that 0.5 units dropped Leo to LO a week ago so be vigilant as the depot fills again and the full effect of the dose is felt.
Good luck with the new dose.
 
Back
Top