1/20 Taz, AMPS-116, after eating -133,

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by SaraMV, Jan 20, 2022.

  1. SaraMV

    SaraMV Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2022
    He's staying pretty steady (knock on wood). This is the lowest he's been, that I'll have to give insulin at. At what point would I not give him his normal dose? I'm getting ready to leave for work and am nervous with this low number. I know it's good, but still scary. Can someone give me their thoughts?
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  2. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  3. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    When do you need to leave for work? When will you be back? Can you stall, don’t feed and recheck in 20 minutes.
     
  4. SaraMV

    SaraMV Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2022
    I leave in 20 minutes. I took that reading about 12 minutes ago. He's eating right now, then I'll give him insulin right before waking out the door. I'll get home a little after his +4
     
  5. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Test again when he finishes eating. It takes 20-30 minutes for the food to effect the bg and see if he’s the same and not lower. Feed him some mc and leave out food and you should be fine until +4. Post the bg.
    What method are you following? With SlGS you would skip.
     
  6. SaraMV

    SaraMV Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2022
    You're a lifesaver! He started eating 25 minutes ago, and his number jumped up to 133. I feel much better about giving the insulin. I'll watch him on camera while I'm gone.
     
  7. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Perfect. He will be fine.
     
    SaraMV likes this.
  8. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  9. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Geez can you imagine if you were giving that 3 or 3.5U emergency vet recommended? :confused:

    He looks great! Numbers say he's feeling better?
     
    SaraMV and Rainbow Conti like this.
  10. SaraMV

    SaraMV Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2022
    Oh my gosh, I can't even imagine! They were giving him the 3 units on top of iv insulin. That number scared me so bad! Especially when the first ER vet stressed that she wanted to start him on 1 unit and go from there. I can not even imagine what his numbers would be if we had stayed with even the 2 units. I definately want to go slow with him, especially since he hasn't been in the 400-500+ range for a couple of weeks.

    I can tell he's feeling much better. Not 100% yet, he still acts like his tummy bothers him some, but if he has kidney, liver, and pancreatic cysts still going on, this may be our new normal. He's eating much better (knock on wood) and he's grooming himself (a lot). I seldom see him at the water bowl anymore but he's having good pees.
     
    Rainbow Conti and FrostD like this.

Share This Page