1/21 Ruby AMPS 155/+3 162/+6 157/+9 95/PMPS 77/+3 87

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...3-186-experience-giving-adequan-shots.258156/

Ruby is doing a slide down after a grande-sized poop this morning. I watched the drama on the cam--20 minutes of digging and fussing in the litter box. :eek: Hence, green PMPS. :DAmazing how much the constipation stresses her out. I will lower her insulin dose if needed tomorrow.

Thanks to everyone who chimed in re: Adequan yesterday/today, especially @Jessica A who cleared up my confusion over mgs and mls. :rolleyes:

I have been giving Radar Adequan injections for a couple of years now. The first doses had an immediate impact on his mobility and he bounced and ran like a kitten. There were times when his mobility was really impaired and the vet would tell us to give him several weekly shots in a row and then go back to skipping every other week. Those intensive therapies were very helpful for Radar. It's an expensive medication but in my mind the benefit greatly outweighs the cost.
Thank you so much for chiming in with your experience on this very sad day for you. :( I am so happy to know it helped Radar run around like a kitten. That's what I want for my Ruby. The vet has suggested two shots per week for 4 weeks and then tapering off after that. The expense is not so great if I buy the Adequan and inject it myself--the clinic would have charged me $80 per shot. :confused: Granted, they would have done it intramuscularly, and that supposedly is more effective. But I will do it subcutaneously and hope for the best. Hugs to you, Jan!
 
I used to give Sheba cartrophen which is similar to adequate and can highly recommend it. She would have a course of 1 injection a week for 4 weeks then monthly. Definitely worth it.
 
Back
Top