1/22/25 Petey AMPS #336 +6 245 +9 283 +11 399

Laurie&Petey

Very Active Member
So Petey seems to be happy in the mid 2's for the last few days. Vet recommend going to 3u. Would you agree? I don't have 1/2 unit syringes so 2.75 would be tough! Thank you.
 
In the future should I just add to my last post?
Hi Laurie I'm no expert on giving advice about dosing but to me it does look like he needs an increase . I'll tag a few members for you . As you know we like to increase by 0.25 units at a time , but since you don't have the half unit markings syringes let's see what the members say who I will tag.

Can you add more information to your signature
The meter you are using, the dosing method ,
I see on your spreadsheet you have up top
Date of DKA: 12/23/24 please add this to your signature also , it's important members know .

We would really like you to post everyday on the Lantus Board and link your previous days post to it.

We have a certain way to post on the Lantus Board . In your title you would put the
Date Petey AMPS # and any additional tests after that, you can continue with his PMPS and any additional tests after that

To do that just look to the right and tap on the word Thread Tools, then tap on Edit Title and add the tests then tap save

To link your previous days post
 
Last edited:
To link your previous posts
Your previous days post will always be in the URL all the way up top ignore where it says insert or cancel I'm just trying to show you where your previous days post will be
Just ignore where it says insert and cancel
Just copy your previous days post and then paste it when you do your new post new thread





Like I said
your previous days post it will be the one all the way up top, above the pic of that cat and the picture of a bottle of insulin there, let me know if you understand it









austin-logo-240.jpg





So when you post tomorrow or whenever you will link your post from today to tomorrows post.
 
@Laurie&Petey I would really order the syringes with the half unit markings,you can order the half unit markings without a vets script
https://www.amazon.com/UltiCare-31-Gauge-Veterinary-Insulin-Syringes/dp/B009LTE0DO

Did he have DKA or not ? You have it on your spreadsheet, if so please add it to your signature
Only asking because I see on your spreadsheet you have
History of DKA/Ketones: Ketones no acidosis 5.x at diagnosis and
Date of DKA 12-23-24





If you have a Walmart by you
You can get the syringes with half unit markings at a Walmart. Their ReliOn Brand syringes of 0.3 cc (30 unit) capacity come with half unit markings. Cost $12.58 for a box of 100
This is what the packaging looks like: either box is fine
They won't say it half unit on the box but the are . open then and look before you leave the store, can't be ordered on line , need to go into the store.
I don't know if you need a script from your vet though if you get them at Walmarts







upload_2021-9-5_23-18-9-jpeg.62508
 
Last edited:
Hi Laurie
Because Petey dropped to 86 nine cycles ago on the 2.5 unit dose, I would wait at least one more cycle before increasing.
And I would only go up to 2.75 unit. I never had 1/2 unit syringes and always eyeballed the smaller increments. Just have a good light and maybe check with a magnifying glass.
 
Like Bron said about waiting at least one more cycle before increasing. When you do just eyeball 2.75 units the best you can until you order the half unit marking ones.
I assume you would put the top of the plunger a little above the 3 unit markings
@Laurie&Petey


EDIT. Ignore what I said about about where to put the plunger on the whole unit syringes because it could be wrong
@Laurie&Petey
 
Last edited:
Hi Diane, did you mean to write below the 3 unit mark?
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Am I wrong Bron if she eyeballs 2.75 wouldn't the plunger go above the 3 unit marking on the whole syringes. I don't want to tell her the wrong thing
Between the 2 and 3 mark on the whole syringe would be 2.5 is this correct, if it is wouldn't she just go a little past that to get 2.75 units?
If I'm wrong I want to delete what I said or tell her to disregard what I said about it


@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Since I didn't hear back from you last night I did edit my post # 9 to Laurie on where to put the plunger on the whole unit syringes . Full and half-unit syringe scales:
@Bron and Sheba (GA)






49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg
 
Last edited:
@Laurie&Petey I would really order the syringes with the half unit markings,you can order the half unit markings without a vets script
https://www.amazon.com/UltiCare-31-Gauge-Veterinary-Insulin-Syringes/dp/B009LTE0DO

Did he have DKA or not ? You have it on your spreadsheet, if so please add it to your signature
Only asking because I see on your spreadsheet you have
History of DKA/Ketones: Ketones no acidosis 5.x at diagnosis and
Date of DKA 12-23-24

Walmart requires a script for them, I asked my vet to call one in. I will update my ss to include Ketones no acidosis 5.x at diagnosis.



If you have a Walmart by you
You can get the syringes with half unit markings at a Walmart. Their ReliOn Brand syringes of 0.3 cc (30 unit) capacity come with half unit markings. Cost $12.58 for a box of 100
This is what the packaging looks like: either box is fine
They won't say it half unit on the box but the are . open then and look before you leave the store, can't be ordered on line , need to go into the store.
I don't know if you need a script from your vet though if you get them at Walmarts







upload_2021-9-5_23-18-9-jpeg.62508
 
?? Did you reply to me ? I don't see anything , just what I wrote to you and you copied it .
Laurie I hate to keep asking you but did Petey have DKA like you noted on your spreadsheet up top, if he did please add that to your signature
@Laurie&Petey
 
Last edited:
Assuming he was not DKA if discharge said ketones no acidosis? I asked my vet to call some in, yes.
I'm glad you are getting the syringes, but you could have ordered them from Amazon yourself :cat:
Just make sure they are the correct ones
U100, 3/10 ml, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes with 1/2 unit markings
@Laurie&Petey

Have a good night
By the way Petey is a handsome boy
 
I have not tested for ketones. His followup was good, he's gaining weight and eating like a champ.
With a history of ketones in the recent past I would recommend you buy a bottle of Ketostix from a pharmacy and test his urine once a week for now and daily if he seems unwell or not eating. Having had ketones meanings he is most likely to be prone to them then most cats and could get them again if unwell. This is not to scare you, it is an insurance policy.
 
Back
Top