1/23 Morris PM insulin+3 101; +3.5 104; +7.5 158

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Gwen and Morris, Jan 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gwen and Morris

    Gwen and Morris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    yesterday's roller coaster: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3592&p=34492#p34492

    After the action we saw yesterday, pink isn't all that bad! I gave him his dosecrease this morning to 1.25u. For a change, he ate all of his snacks last night!

    WCR: Seems to be quite happy this morning. Dh got up about an hour before I did & was watching TV with Morris when I got up. Dh claims he didn't do anything wrong, but he & Morris got into a fight this morning! Perhaps Morris knows that dh is still saying no to getting a friend for Morris! LOL!

    I will be out for a couple hours this morning doing 2-legged kid stuff......will see where Mr Morris is at when we get home probably around +4 or +5.
     
  2. Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

    Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris AMPS 380

    Hope Morris and your DH can play nicely together from now on...no more fighting! :lol:
    Have a good day...
     
  3. Gwen and Morris

    Gwen and Morris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris AMPS 380; +5 227

    OK.....I am feeling a bit better with the looks of this number!
     
  4. Gwen and Morris

    Gwen and Morris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris AMPS 380; +5 227; +9 133

    Well, Morris is usually a late nadir kitty! Here we are at +9 & he is still dropping! Sure hope he turns the corner before PMPS time!!!

    Dh, the kids & Morris have been having a nice afternoon watching TV together. I guess dh & Morris have settled their differences & are no longer fighting with each other! LOL!

    Sure was a lot of LB action to clean out today......lots of large pee clumps & a few poo.
     
  5. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris AMPS 380; +5 227; +9 133

    nice +9!
     
  6. Gwen and Morris

    Gwen and Morris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PMPS 92 - dropping all day- do I still shoot??

    He has been dropping all day & is still dropping now.....do I still give him 1.25u? Would like some advice ASAP if possible!

    Sorry about using the 911, but after what his numbers have been the past couple days, I would really like some advice here!
     
  7. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PMPS 92 - dropping all day- do I still shoot??

    Are you going to be home this evening and do you have strips and HC (just in case) in the house? And can your schedule manage to be off if you need to stall?
     
  8. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    BUMP

    bump
     
  9. Gwen and Morris

    Gwen and Morris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PMPS 92 - dropping all day- do I still shoot??

    Home for the night & hypo kit stocked......not that I want that kind of an adventure tonight! ROFLMAO!
     
  10. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PMPS 92 - dropping all day- do I still shoot??

    I was editing my note when you posted.

    Timewise, can you afford to stall? At this point, I would not feed and re-test in 15 min.
     
  11. Gwen and Morris

    Gwen and Morris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PMPS 92 - dropping all day- do I still shoot??

    OK....will go test & repost in a few mins.
     
  12. Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

    Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PMPS 92 - dropping all day- do I still shoot??

    I hope you get the answer you need soon. I had the thought looking at Morris's ss that it might be helpful to do a full cirve tomorrow and see what things really look like.
     
  13. Sarah and Velcro

    Sarah and Velcro Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PMPS 92 - dropping all day- do I still shoot??

    this new dose *should* be kicking in. I'd be tempted to shoot it.
    hope next check/test is reasonable. ;)
     
  14. Gwen and Morris

    Gwen and Morris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PMPS 92 - dropping all day- do I still shoot??

    Still dropping!! Now down to 77!!

    I won't be home most of mid-day tomorrow.....my daughter is having her birthday party! Will be out of the house from around +3 until +9 or +10
     
  15. Sarah and Velcro

    Sarah and Velcro Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PMPS 92; +15min 77 - advice needed pls

    Oh goodness Morris! ohmygod_smile

    What do you want to do?
     
  16. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  17. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PMPS 92 - dropping all day- do I still shoot??

    That's definitely a dropping number. You can either stall another 15 min and retest. We can repeat this process for a while until Morris' numbers aren't dropping. My concern is that there is the possiblity of your schedule being off. If you are not home part of the day tomorrow, that may be fine. It's more the issue that Morris' shot times will be off.

    The alternative is to shoot a BCS (big chicke sh*t dose) - a reduced dose.
     
  18. Gwen and Morris

    Gwen and Morris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PMPS 92; +15min 77 - advice needed pls

    OK.....how does this sound......will test again at 8pm which is 30 min past normal insulin time. If his number is the same or increasing, will be brave & shoot 1.25u. If he is still falling, will shoot BCS dose.....perhaps .50u????
     
  19. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PMPS 92; +15min 77 - advice needed pls

    It's OK up to the shooting on a dropping number. You don't want to do that since you haven't a clue how far Morris might continue to drop. As long as he's surfing or rising, it's a good plan.
     
  20. Gwen and Morris

    Gwen and Morris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PMPS 92; +15min 77 - advice needed pls

    So if he's still dropping, should I skip the dose again tonight????
     
  21. Gwen and Morris

    Gwen and Morris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PMPS 92; +15min 77; +30min 67- advice needed pls

    Should I give a BCS or skip dose tonight??? Can't delay much longer!!
     
  22. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PMPS 92; +15min 77; +30min 67- advice needed pls

    hang on, looking at ss...
     
  23. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PMPS 92; +15min 77; +30min 67- advice needed pls

    I wouldn't skip, knowing Morris he'll end up in black again. I'm looking at 1/18 and thinking that he's probably going to turn soon. That evening turned out really nice. If you can't stall any more, the options are to either shoot full dose and prepare to monitor until he starts upward, or shoot a BCS (and still monitor until he turns upward). Either way, get a +1 to start with.

    How long ago was Morris' last snack? Does he eat pretty reliably?
     
  24. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PMPS 92; +15min 77; +30min 67- advice needed pls

    Honestly Gwen, I'm torn. I really don't want Morris to lose the momentum and skipping a shot will deplete his shed but I don't want you to shoot on a dropping number. I'm tempted to say go ahead and shoot the BCS dose so you at least give a token amount to Morris' shed. Can you monitor closely if tonight you do shoot the 67? You shot numbers close to this in the past.
     
  25. Gwen and Morris

    Gwen and Morris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PMPS 92; +15min 77; +30min 67- advice needed pls

    OK....since I can stay up & monitor him closely tonight.....I took a deep breath & shot a skinny 1.25u and then gave him his dinner.

    Libby....to answer your eating question.....most days he does eat reliably (although he has not been eating all that I have been putting out). His timed feeder is set to give him snacks at +2, +5 and +8. When I checked his feeder this evening, he had eaten all of his +2, about 1/2 of his +5, and about 3/4 of his +8 snacks today.

    Since I have been poking him quite a bit this evening, I will take Libby's advice & start with a +1 check. Since I gave insulin just after 8pm Pacific time, I will test him again around 9pm & post his number here right afterwards. In the mean time, I am going to go attempt to relax for a few moments in the tub! LOL!
     
  26. Ronnie & Luna

    Ronnie & Luna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PMPS 92; +15min 77; +30min 67- advice needed pls

    don't get too cozy in that tub...lol

    we wanna a +1!
    :mrgreen:
     
  27. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PMPS 92; +15min 77; +30min 67- advice needed pls

    Great hooting Gwen!
     
  28. Gwen and Morris

    Gwen and Morris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PMPS 92; +15min 77; +30min 67-insulin +1 56

    Still dropping......will check him again in an hour.

    LOL @ Ronnie!! I was out with even 5mins to spare!! :lol:
     
  29. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PMPS 92; +15min 77; +30min 67-insulin +1 56

    maybe 1/2 hour would be better, looks like Morris is heading below 50.
     
  30. Gwen and Morris

    Gwen and Morris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PM insulin +1 56; +2 49

    OOPS! Sorry Libby.....didn't see your post until now!

    We are now 2 hours post insulin & he is still dropping. Now that I have seen Libby's post, I will check on him again in 1/2 hour.
     
  31. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PM insulin +1 56; +2 49

    If you're not already doing so, please give Morris a few bites of food to keep him surfing and maybe bump up his numbers a little.
     
  32. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PM insulin +1 56; +2 49

    you can HC if you want, Morris doesn't need to go any lower tonight.
     
  33. Gwen and Morris

    Gwen and Morris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PM insulin +1 56; +2 49

    His timed feeder opened at 9:30 & he did eat most of that. After I tested him at 10pm, I put him in front of his feeder in hopes he would finnish eating the last few bites! As I left to come up to the computer, he was eating again.
     
  34. Gwen and Morris

    Gwen and Morris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PM insulin +1 56; +2 49

    I had already filled his feeder with his usual LC at dinner time, so that is what he has been eating. If he isn't turning the corner yet at 10:30, I will open up some HC though!
     
  35. Gwen and Morris

    Gwen and Morris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PM insulin +1 56; +2 49; +2.5 52

    Hopefully this is the beginning of a surf, or better yet, a rise!!! I put 1/2 can HC in his regular food dish so he will have access to it all night (although, he was chowing down pretty good when I left to come & post....it may be all gone already!!)

    So, do we consider this still fall out from his skipped dose yesterday & bouncing? Do I continue with his 1.25u in the morning?
     
  36. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PM insulin +1 56; +2 49; +2.5 52

    I wouldn't go to bed yet, it's still early and onset is probably just starting. I'm going to leave a note for Jill to stop in and take a look, this is probably a result of shed leftovers from the previous dose combined with rebound breaking, so I'm not sure about another dose reduction.
     
  37. Gwen and Morris

    Gwen and Morris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PM insulin +1 56; +2 49; +2.5 52

    Don't worry.....not heading to bed quite yet! It has almost been 30min since last check, so I will soon see how that HC is working!
     
  38. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PM insulin +1 56; +2 49; +2.5 52

    lol, I assume everyone wants to go to bed because I do. :lol: I forget that some of you are on the west coast.
     
  39. Gwen and Morris

    Gwen and Morris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PM insulin +1 56; +2 49; +2.5 52; +3 101

    Woo Hoo!! HC is doing its thing! I will stay up & get at least 1 more check in 30 mins just to make sure!

    Since I gave insulin just after 8pm tonight, I will back up 15 mins tomorrow morning & plan on giving his insulin at 7:45am
     
  40. Libby and Lucy

    Libby and Lucy Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PM insulin +1 56; +2 49; +2.5 52; +3 101

    that's better! His bounce might be starting too.

    I'm inclined to stay with this dose, since the last reduction was just this morning and there is probably some shed influence here. What do you think? We'll see if anyone else weighs in too.
     
  41. Gwen and Morris

    Gwen and Morris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PM insulin +1 56; +2 49; +2.5 52; +3 101

    I am a little hesitant about reducing him again......but I have only been using lantus for a couple months now! That is why I come here to check with you more experienced people! LOL!

    I forgot to mention in my last post.....Morris ate up every last drop of that HC!!!

    I will check him again at 11:30 & if we are still seeing good numbers, I will then call it a night. I will double check here in the morning before dosing though, just in case some others come & weigh in on the dose part for the morning.
     
  42. Gwen and Morris

    Gwen and Morris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/23 Morris PM insulin+2 49; +2.5 52; +3 101; +3.5 104

    OK, I think the surf has hit for him. I feel that I can leave him be now.....his timed feeder will offer him LC snacks 2 more times tonight (+4.5 and +7.5 since I gave his insulin 1/2 hour late tonight).

    I need to get some sleep....don't want to fall asleep at dd's birthday party tomorrow! I am taking 6 or 7 girls ages 10-12 to see the new Alvin & The Chipmunks Movie!

    I will check here in the morning before giving insulin to see if anyone else has visited & given any other advise about dosing for tomorrow AM. Libby was going to try to get Jill to stop by and check in on us.
     
  43. Gwen and Morris

    Gwen and Morris Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Still rising......slowly, but surely!

    Will plan on giving insulin at 7:45am......should I stick with the 1.25u???
     
  44. Roni and Moonie

    Roni and Moonie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    GWEN!!! Great Job Here party_cat party_cat party_cat --You are in control, you asked questions,and you did what you needed
    to do for Morris!! Got to look at your ss, but really excellent evening!! That is your new Mantra--I am in control, I am in control, and you really are--with meter,strips,testing, LC,Mc & HC foods that's all you need! Morris is really coming along! WHOO HOOO :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page