1/27 Ruben 145 +3 216 +4 265 +6

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by RubenTheCat, Jan 27, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    going to give .75u
    should i leave his food out for a few hours or pull it up. hoping to go back to sleep? not sure what to do?
    does this still sound like a "bounce" < ? I feel like I monitered him good last night, got tow reading at +4 and +5, plus gave him food before bed.
    ugh. Im gonna give him his shot and try to rest some more but i will be on here. I will try to get a +2 or +3 later and post
    love you guys, thank you
     
  2. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420

    You did good last night.
    Yes, this looks like a bounce.

    Enjoy your back to bed.
     
  3. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420

    should I keep his food down?
     
  4. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420

    Yes, you can keep his food down.

    We usually feed the first few hours, and then later after nadir is done, then we usually stop feeding, especially 2 hours before his next shot time.
     
  5. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420

    thank you
     
  6. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420

    You're welcome. Have a nice couple hours of rest.
    You can take the ? icon off of your first post, now.
     
  7. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420

    Hey there, Ruben likes to keep you busy at night eh? You did great again last night by the way. You are getting more data all the time so you start to see trends and know not to panic. Maybe next time (hopefully not tonite so you can have a nice well deserved sleep) he drops into blue at night and flattens out, you can snooze for a couple of hours and get a +7 or +8 to see if he drops again or starts to go back up.

    By the way its nice to see all the blues greens - he is spending more time in lower, normal cat ranges and his body is starting to heal. He will slowly be feeling better!

    Can you add a link in your condo each day to the previous day so we can look back easily?

    thanks and heres hoping for a blue green day!
    Wendy
     
  8. Bruce & Simon

    Bruce & Simon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420

    Good morning :coffee:

    Just dropped in to say Hi and I hope Ruben comes down to those nice healing numbers again soon.
    Good job :D
     
  9. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5

    296 +3.5 bf said he saw him eating a little when I was slepeing assuming around 9ish <thats good right, better than a plummit?
     
  10. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5

    Its a nice drop from his bounce. Do another test at +6?
     
  11. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5

    you got it. heading to walmart to get supplies
    love you guys
     
  12. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5

    wanted to test before I left just to be safe
    378 +5 ? < whats going on why so high better high than low iguess but confused?
    is this really bad? think i did .75u but its hard with no 1/2 syringes but feel it was consistant as the others
     
  13. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5

    is he okay for me to runsome errand 1-1/2hrs?
     
  14. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5

    Yes, you're fine. Sometimes they do a little bump up...because they are a cat.

    So you have plenty of time to run out for supplies.

    Edited to add: I wouldn't worry about a +6 in this cycle. Just check him when you get home and don't feel like you have to hurry. He's ok for a few hours.
     
  15. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5

    just got back
    322 +8.5 < good? better than low right?
    how should I be feeling? < crazy question I know but its high?
    bf said he was trying to "molest" my blanket (something he does once in a while, were all sexual beings. the reason I tell you guys is I figure he has to feel a lil beter if he feels frisky, right?
    anyway got tuna for maple, just give her the water right? she still is in the litter box but nothing coming out, poor thing.
     
  16. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5

    Well....he's just fairly flat so we'll see if he clears this bounce tonight or not.

    I don't know if we explained a bounce to you. When a cat is first dx with FD, the blood glucose has probably been high for a while. As the insulin starts to take effect and numbers start to come down, the liver has to learn to adjust to the lower numbers. We call this "liver training school". But before it relearns that low numbers are ok, when the BG drops to a number lower than the liver is accustomed, or if BGs drop low, or if the BG drops suddenly, the liver reacts by releasing counterregulatory hormones and glucagon. This drives the BG back up. This is what we call a "bounce". Bounces can take up to 72 hours to clear so we are generally careful about increasing doses during the bounce. Once the bounce clears, then you can see the "real" numbers and determine if the dose needs to go up or down.

    Be careful about the tuna juice if it is from human tuna. While the front of the can might state "tuna in spring water", check the back ingredients very carefully. If it has vegetable broth in it, don't give it to her. Most companies put soy in their vegetable broth and cats should not have soy. I would call the vet tomorrow about Maple if she is not markedly improved. If you are letting her have some of her dry food, you need to watch Ruben very carefully that he does not get into it.

    You are doing great! I think if you just take a PMPS, you'll be fine. Same as before...if he's over 180, go ahead and give his .75u; if he's at or below 180, post first for help. :D
     
  17. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5

     
  18. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5

    You can quote the entire post and just delete the part of it you don't want but be sure before you hit "submit" that it ends with [/quote].

    Yes...I'll be watching for you. I'm just doing chores around here but I'll pop back on to see what he's doing.

    I'd like to see him a little lower but he's just bouncing like most do at first so we just give him time. We will tell you when to change the dose.

    Thanks for the hug...I can always use them. And you are welcome!

    Don't you know it's just part of having cats that when something goes on with one, it goes on with all? :lol: :lol: :lol:

    See you at 7 your time.
     
  19. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5

    I have a compressed catnip ball, he's licking it? is that okay? i left it with him for now, cause he seems happy.
     
  20. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5

    Could be the rapid food change. Could be something one picked up at the vet although the former is more likely.

    I am very sure my Tiggy picked up something at the vet.. sure they follow strict disinfecting but when he was getting a checkup and while we were waiting for the vet to come in, Tiggy was wandering around and lying on the surgery room floor. I know they disinfect the surfaces but the dont clean the floor every time a customer comes and goes.

    But like I said, its probably the rapid food change. Ruben seems to be coping better with it.
     
  21. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5

    yay ruben is playing!!!!!! :D
    catnip ball is ok or not to le him lick on it?
     
  22. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5

    Whats it made of? is it a sock with catnip in it or something like that ..?

    Nice to hear he is playing...see??! He is doing good!
     
  23. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5

    i do have a sock w cat nip in it but this is a compressed (assuming) pure catnip ball like it was compacted tightly to form a ball?
     
  24. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
  25. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5

    not sure if its that exact one but it looks just like it. i got a long time ago. im gonna leave it out feel ok about it. plus it makes him happy. dancing_cat
    almost time for pmps see you at 7 lets hope for good numbers not stable enough to handle low ones..lol
     
  26. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5

    Cool. Make sure you put the playing in your "remarks" on your SS!

    Time for a glass of wine?
     
  27. momsgirl2727

    momsgirl2727 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5

    I find myself biting my nails waiting to see what Rubens 7 pm BG will be. I am hoping for the very best Sweety.Im here if ya need me..,
     
  28. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    195 pmps
    ugh i know its an ok number but sooooo nervous, dont want him drop after i shoot...ugh
    holding on feeding til i get the re assurance its ok to shoot, i know the cut off was 180 but still need the affirmation. he growled again, getting sick of the testing, but he did get new treats...his ears dont even have that thin red line it then it goes to just blood then back to line poor thing, but think im getting better if only by a little
     
  29. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    Ok..I'm watching for you.

    This is what we call a dropping number. Shooting dropping numbers can be very beneficial but it is very likely he will have an active cycle and you will need to test him more.

    You can stall a bit and see if he comes up. You won't be feeding him because you dont' want to shoot a food spike. He might keep dropping and I don't know how long you can stall. Whatever time you shoot tonight, you will have to shoot 12 hours from that and it will
    be your new time.

    You can shoot this and feed him and then get a +1 and +2 test. Like I said, we'll have to monitor him closely.

    You can shoot a reduced dose. The only problem with shooting a reduced dose is he is likely to have the same kind of cycle that he will anyway because of the depot. The effects of a reduced dose are usually seen late in this cycle or in the next one.

    You can skip. You probably know I don't want you to do that but you hold the syringe.

    What do you think?
     
  30. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    you tell me marje,
    i think feed, shoot and test? is a hypo likely or very likely or not that much likely? stressed
     
  31. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    You know I had a feeling... ;)

    I dont want to skew your thoughts but I would shoot and feed.

    He is making such great progress I would worry a skip or reduced dose might set him back. And by +5 he might be going back up again and finally you get a good nights sleep. Or if he drops under 50 you get a decrease in dose.

    Up to you though. And again no need to be stressed.. at least you are half awake this time!

    Wendy
     
  32. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    what number is considered a hypo? is 50 bad? need to know ahead of time incase i test and get, need to know? what is the danger zone to when i need to go to vets?
     
  33. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    I like to keep them on track but I'm pretty sure he's going to come down. Are you up for testing tonight because you will have to get a +1 and +2.

    Do you have lots of food and some with HC gravy? Lots of strips? Karo?

    We can control the numbers as long as you test. If you don't have the supplies above, then I am reticent to have you shoot just now. If you do, then go ahead and shoot, feed him his normal portion of a meal, and I'll see you in one hour.

    Please just let me know what you decide. :YMHUG:

    And if you shoot....I will stay with you until he's coming up. Ok?
     
  34. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    i only have 50 test strips, and i do have karo and gl ff..oh god please no hypo....im gonna feed shoot and test. pray
     
  35. Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    If you are using an AT meter, the "low enough" point is about 70. On a human meter we say 50.

    Carl
     
  36. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    you still have your Relion with strips, right? We can switch to that if you run out of strips but you won't. I'm a bonafide testaholic and I haven't used 50 strips in one night. But you should get more AT strips as soon as you can.

    Ok...so here we go but I need you to be calm tonight.

    We were all nervous our first time of shooting a new number we hadn't shot before. But just post as we ask and follow instructions. And stay calm ;-) ;-) ;-)

    See you in one hour, ok? Hang in there!! You are doing superb!
     
  37. momsgirl2727

    momsgirl2727 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    Sam, Do you use the AlfaTrax 2 strips? I can order them for you now so you don't run out.
     
  38. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    Dont worry - you will be testing and we will be watching him. Get a +1 and we will see how he goes.

    Low enough as Carl says is 70 but that doesnt necessarily mean a hypo and it doesnt mean you panic. It just means you contact us and you feed a little high carb (Marje can give quantities) to bring him up before he gets too low.

    So once you shoot make sure you read this since you have a little time... not to scare you but to prepare you... http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=15887

    Good point Carl. If she is using an AT does that mean a reduction at 70?
     
  39. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    yes at 2
    mommy u think i should shoot?
     
  40. Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    Samantha (and Mom),

    This is okay. It is "what we do" often, and we can walk you thru this. And we don't sign off until you tell us it's all good.

    Carl
     
  41. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    Agreed - Ruben is doing really well and we need to keep pushing him to keep the progress going. We are all here for her. This situation is totally normal and we all have been through it a lot of times.

    Mom - can you pop round and sit with Sam to give her moral support?

    Wendy
     
  42. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    he ate but only like 1/4 can leave food out right? i'm going to take 1/4 zanax (never take medicine, but think it will help-i would lie if i said i wasnt a sress case
    all your words do help even if i dont reflect them in my language, just imagine this but worse, thats what i'd be...lol
    love you (((((((((guys)))))))) thank you for being here. could NOT do this w/o all of you, stay with me please (i know you will but have to write it, makes me feel better)
    its gonna be okay <trying to affirmate lol now i just gotta believe it
     
  43. momsgirl2727

    momsgirl2727 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    I am here all night in support of Sam. Thank You all for helping her (and me) through these stressfull times.
     
  44. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    Go Ruben Go! Go Sam Go! ;)

    Take the Xanax as long as it doesnt make you sleepy.

    I can be here till +5 but I am not a dosing expert - I am here for moral support!

    Wendy
     
  45. Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    Sam
    Yes, leave the food where he can eat if he chooses. All you have to do next is get a +1 number.

    Carl
     
  46. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    i am the luckiest girl in the world. mom-you are my strength. with you by my side i know it will be okay, what ever it is
    ruben does not like his treas...lol the beef is the only one he even smells...lol what ca doesnt like chix or talapia? lol
    zanax down the hatchet, hopefully it will get me back to normal.
    what is everyones thinking wabout what to expect?
     
  47. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    Sorry...I had to test Gracie.

    I'd go easy on the Xanax if it will make you sleepy.

    Everything will be ok; our job is to guide you each step and yours is to remain calm and alert. Think of how bonded Ruben is to you and so he needs you to be calm and light the way to him being calm.

    And as Carl said...this is what we do and we've done it many, many times. When Gracie was on lantus, she gave me a dropping number more than not and I would shoot her in the 50s. But I know her and we will have to learn what Ruben responds to.

    You are going to do great tonight and you are saving your beloved kitty. :D
     
  48. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    Sam...I never guess at what to expect with cats. We just deal with it as it comes when we are working with a new kitty with no patterns.

    And "Mom" you are welcome :D :D :D
     
  49. Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    I think a lot of us have crystal balls, but none of them are ever working!

    Here's some things you want to make sure you do, Samantha.

    Don't panic, no matter what the meter tells you. Get a test number, and post it here, and somebody will respond in mere moments to help with what to do.

    Make sure when you go back to post a reply, that you scroll back up to the last time you posted something. You want to make sure and read any comments made since then, and it might help by answering a question before you even ask it.

    Now, what time was it when you shot? I like to play "time-keeper" and post updated recaps, and I can watch the clock and prompt you when the next test should happen.

    Carl
     
  50. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    Hey...and Sam...when you get a chance, could you just edit the subject line to

    1/27 Ruben PMPS 195

    You will need the room to add his numbers from tonight. Thank you. See you soon....can you please let me know exactly when you shot so I can be sure I'm here in one hour? Thank you!!
     
  51. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    oh (((marje))) your name might always be in hug form, just saying.
    i do not have the relion with me, gave it to mom, she is gonna give it back, but not tonight. i have 50 strips. i did take the med it may make me tired, but i am not going anywhere, i know the importance of not falling asleep.
    thank you for staying, please be here, i will def be here +1 on the dot unless i have trouble.
    who am i kidding i'll be hitting refresh every two min...lol
     
  52. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195

    i'd say i shot at like 7:20
    so start checking here around 7:15 incase i jump the gun and cant wait
    i know redundant but i have to say it everytime
    THANK YOU ALL
    i love him sooo much <to much maybe, my mood alering substance
     
  53. Re: 1/27 Ruben amps 420 296 +3.5 378 +5 322 +8.5 195 pmps

    Recap for those just joining in:

    AMPS ~ 420
    +3.5 ~ 296
    +5 ~ 378
    +8.5 ~ 322


    PMPS ~ 195 (.75u) ate 1/4 can

    +1 ~


    Carl
     
  54. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195

    my mom has the relion, but is going to give it back to me, she just order two more boxes at strips for me. Blessed is what i feel at the moment
    im glad i've lived my life as a kind compassionate person, cause mom, here, you all, are my karma coming back
     
  55. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195

    Very good. Carl and I work as a team when we are both around. Like he said, he's a timekeeper and does a great job with summaries. I will let you know what to feed him, etc, but if I have to test Gracie or feed her, Carl will jump in. I think you are going to be opposite her times so we will be ok.

    Don't worry if someone isn't here right on the spot. We will only be a second....it takes a bit to write what we need you to do.
     
  56. momsgirl2727

    momsgirl2727 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195

    I'm here , not going anywhere. Waiting to see My grandkitty's BG #'S . cat(2)_steam
     
  57. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195

    Mom...you crack me up. :lol:
     
  58. momsgirl2727

    momsgirl2727 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195

    I don't have the knoledge about FD but I got the love :coffee:
     
  59. Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195

    OK, Samantha,

    Time to play "poke the kitty". :D

    Carl
     
  60. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1

    144 +1
    is that a big drop? what does this mean, besides i have to test in +2
     
  61. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1

    It means I'd like you to give him a nice helping of some medium carb food because I want to slow him down a bit, ok?

    Do you have something in the 12-15% range?
     
  62. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1

    Sam...you there? If you have the MC or just the low carb, put one little drop of karo in it ok? And I know it's sooner than +1 but I want you to retest in 30 mins after he eats.
     
  63. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1

    oh poor thing really didnt want it, seem tired and just meowed " oh mom not again please" it was pathetic. I know i HAVE to do it and i will, but you should have heard him it was a quiet soft broken meow...... :sad:
    Carl "time to play "poke that kitty" <hysterical only thing that made me laugh
    blessed
    my mom is awsome, how lucky am i
    ruben would be dead w/o her, shes been fronting this bill for me and she doesn't have money either, this is her tiny little retirement fund (which is nothing to live off long term and has given most of to help ruben.)
    i love you mom as much as ruben and most of all im glad you get it and not offended by that
     
  64. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1

    Sammy...please focus here. This is important.

    Did you feed him and what did you give him?
     
  65. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1

    If you have the MC or just the low carb, put one little drop of karo in it ok?
    ^ what is mc? I have fancy feas classic and fancy feas gravy lovers and he didnt want to eat an hour ago, what if he doesnt want to eat and how much is a drop of karo?
     
  66. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1

    How about giving him a tsp of the gravy if he wont eat...a drop is like a nail head
     
  67. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1

    put that (karo)in the gravy lovers now?
     
  68. Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1

    AMPS ~ 420
    +3.5 ~ 296
    +5 ~ 378
    +8.5 ~ 322


    PMPS ~ 195 (.75u) ate 1/4 can

    +1 ~ 144

    Samantha,
    Give him a spoonful of the gravy lovers and see if he'll eat that.
    "MC" is medium carb food. But the G-lovers will be fine.

    You're going to want to test again at the top of the hour.
    Carl
     
  69. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1

    ate about a tbsp ... could eat more.... do i give it to him? did not put karo in it.
     
  70. Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1

    Make sure to hit your refresh key regularly if you're watching the condo, okay?

    Good that he ate it. Hold off on more until the next test, in 15 minutes. Maybe another spoon then, but depends on the number.

    Carl
     
  71. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1

    Sam...I have to test and shoot Gracie now and feed all three cats. Carl is with you and I should be back about the time of your next test.
     
  72. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1

    hitting refresh like its my job. just to recap did not put karo on it... was waiting to see if that is what i should do. so i wait til next test now right?
     
  73. Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1

    :lol:

    That's okay without the karo. Gravy lovers is consider high carb (22%) so that's good.
    Hold off on the karo for now.

    You're in central time? So the next test will be at 8pm your time. Post that number, and we'll go from there.

    Carl
     
  74. momsgirl2727

    momsgirl2727 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1

    carl we are in Eastern time
     
  75. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1

    im eastern standard time so 9 which is like now gonna go make it happen
    dont leave carl < (((((((((CARL)))))))) thank you
     
  76. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1

    You are doing great!
     
  77. Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1

    I'm not going anyplace anytime soon. :smile:

    I'm eastern too...off the coast technically.

    standing by for the number...

    carl
     
  78. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1

    Just tested ... its 71 +1.5 < feel sick
     
  79. Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1

    OK,
    Another spoonful of gravy lovers, and add a couple drops of karo to it.

    This is okay, Sam.

    And test again in 20 minutes?

    Carl
     
  80. Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1 71 +1.5

    AMPS ~ 420
    +3.5 ~ 296
    +5 ~ 378
    +8.5 ~ 322


    PMPS ~ 195 (.75u) ate 1/4 can

    +1 ~ 144 (fed tsp FF gravy lovers 22%)
    +1.66 ~ 71 (fed tsp FF 22% with karo)
     
  81. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1 71 +1.5

    It's ok, you got this. You are doing great. The syrup will bring him up but it can wear off, hence the test after 20mins.
     
  82. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1 71 +1.5

    I'm back. Thanks Carl.

    Sam...make sure you give him big drops of karo. We will be here. Be sure you test in 20 mins.
     
  83. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1 71 +1.5

    He ate almost a tbsp. I don't know how much a couple drops are but think it was 2 healthy drops. Hope that's ok... it comes out fast.
     
  84. Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1 71 +1.5

    That sounds good, Sam.

    I am thinking that the reason this number was lower rather than higher was because the first helping of gravy lovers hadn't shown up on the meter yet. The next test should reflect the HC food. So it's all good at the moment!

    Carl
     
  85. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1 71 +1.5

    carl i fed him tbsp not tsp (equals almost whole can about sm tbsp left)
     
  86. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1 71 +1.5

    I agree 100%.

    Sam...with that number, Ruben earned a dose reduction :D :D when that happens and the kitty is running at this number, we "abort the cycle". That means our goal now is to get him up and keep him there, ok? We aren't going to think about him having a nice, long surf ...we just want to bring him up.

    You are doing great! See you in a few.
     
  87. Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1 71 +1.5

    OK, I'll edit the recap after the next test. You'll probably give him the rest of the can after the next test.

    Just so you understand.... the reason we ration the food is because it's early in the cycle for low numbers. Feeding will raise them, or hold them from dropping more. But we don't want him to "fill up" on junk food, lol. What you want to do is give him enough to do the job, but not too much in case he needs more food in the next hour or two.

    Carl
     
  88. Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

    Wendy&Tiggy(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1 71 +1.5

    Dose reduction happy dance :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
     
  89. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1 71 +1.5

    so tsp not tbsp, correct?
    and to think my vet said just give 1u as long as he doesnt drop below 100 she must have no idea what i would do for him, even if it means staying up all night testing
    thank thank thank you guys dont leave going to test
     
  90. momsgirl2727

    momsgirl2727 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1 71 +1.5

    nailbite_smile
     
  91. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1 71 +1.5

    84 +2 < actually just took my first deep breath this is good right?
     
  92. Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1 71 +1.5

    AMPS ~ 420
    +3.5 ~ 296
    +5 ~ 378
    +8.5 ~ 322


    PMPS ~ 195 (.75u) ate 1/4 can

    +1 ~ 144 (fed tbsp FF gravy lovers 22%)
    +1.66 ~ 71 (fed tbsp FF 22% with karo)
    +2 ~ 84 (fed tsp FF 22% w/ karo)



    Yes, this is good! Go ahead and let him have the rest of the can with a drop or two of karo?

    Carl
     
  93. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1 71 +1.5 84 +2

    Yes...you are amazing!

    How about another teaspoon of gravy...no karo. Retest in 30 mins.
     
  94. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1 71 +1.5 84 +2

    we "abort the cycle" < thats a lil confusing you can explain later, just following what i think is best by listening to you
     
  95. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1 71 +1.5 84 +2

    in total ate 1 can of gravy lovers 2 drops of karo
     
  96. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1 71 +1.5 84 +2

    Don't worry about that now.

    And if you gave him karo with the gravy at +2, it's ok. No problem. Test at +2.5.
     
  97. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1 71 +1.5 84 +2

    gave him the karo at +1.5
    just had to hand feed him the last bit of food. must be getting full
     
  98. RubenTheCat

    RubenTheCat Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1 71 +1.5 84 +2

    has one more bite left... should i add one drop of karo to it?
     
  99. TheBowHuntress

    TheBowHuntress Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1 71 +1.5 84 +2

    You're doing an awesome job Sam! And Ruben, too!!!
     
  100. Marje and Gracie

    Marje and Gracie Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Re: 1/27 Ruben PMPS 195 144+1 71 +1.5 84 +2

    Yes...go ahead...a little drop.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page