1/27 Ruby AMPS 176/+3 170/+6 99/+9 65/PMPS 68/+2 55/+3 68

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-26-ruby-amps-205-5-250-9-270-pmps-304-3-270.258415/

Took Ruby to the vet this morning because she did not eat anything last night after her vomit at PM+2. I gave her a Cerenia last night after the vomit and even though she did eat her breakfast, but I thought it would be a good idea to take her in and get her a prescription for sucrulfate (Carafate). DBF gave her 250 mg when he brought her home (I had to go to work afterwards) and we'll give her another dose before dinnertime. I have not received a response from the oncologist to whom I wrote about the vomiting last night. Vet said that if the sucrulfate does not work, we will need an ultrasound.

I am at my wits end. Three vet visits on in a week. I can't afford yet another ultrasound less than three months after the last one. :banghead::banghead::banghead:

Increased her dose to 3.25 this morning, though if the ulcer starts to heal, she will likely need less insulin.

Hope everyone is having a better day than us!
 
Ruby's doing a slow slide down today. Perhaps this was due to the increase this morning, or yesterday was the high before the low as Wendy likes to say, or she might just be feeling better. I also gave her famotidine and SEB with aloe juice this morning. Who knows that is actually working. The arsenal of medications I have for these cats is staggering!

@Wendy&Neko the vet also said that she didn't think there would be bleeding or ulcers from steroids, as usually it's from NSAIDs. Her bottle of pred does say to take with food but we don't always have the luxury of making sure she eats something immediately after her pill.
 
(((((((Katherine & Ruby))))) Deep breath. Sending tons of healing vibes, although her BG sure came down. Has she pooped recently? Does she ever vomit due to being constipated by chance?
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
(((((((Katherine & Ruby))))) Deep breath. Sending tons of healing vibes, although her BG sure came down. Has she pooped recently? Does she ever vomit due to being constipated by chance?
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Came home and found a big one in the litter box. Explains the higher BGs and possibly the vomiting. I will continue to give the Carafate, though it's a gigantic pill even quartered, but we will try again tomorrow morning. Might have to decrease her dose. Eating super well today after all of that.

Got a lecture from DBF about not freaking out and taking her to the vet, though what appears to be blood in vomit is alarming. I'm pretty accustomed to bad things happening, but blood coming from a cat is not something I felt I should take lightly.

The oncologist did write back and said that Ruby's bloodwork shows no sign of anemia and that it's unlikely an ulcer, just some sort of stomach upset, but that it would not hurt to continue with the carafate and famotidine for a few days.
 
Poor Ruby. :bighug: Is she getting ondansetron or just Cerenia?

I haven't seen an issue with long term use of pred, but ECID?
I was just giving Cerenia because of the vomiting. Her nausea or whatever what bothering her seems to have gone away now. It was likely the constipation.
 
That’s good. Since the oncologist saw no sign of anemia are you still going to continue carafate? Was the stool dark black?
Her stools have always been dark, at least since I started paying attention to the color and consistency of her poops. I've never known what to make of that. Her sister's are much lighter in color even though they both eat the same thing. Oncologist said to continue the carafate for a few days just in case.
 
Do they eat different food? I’ve noticed my cats’ stool changes color based upon what they eat. Dark brown is still normal. Black may or may not mean blood. If it looks much the same as always considering what your oncologist said I bet there isn’t a bleed. :bighug:
 
Nice slide Ruby!

As for the lecture... I've got a bit of a vet trigger finger too. Any time I've seen blood from either end has not been good, always better safe than sorry because you just never know. Do you have to take her in? Usually my vet is more than happy to just prescribe something if it's a fairly straightforward issue/seeing the animal won't really make a difference
 
I go away for one day and look what happens! I’ve just been catching up on the Ruby saga from yesterday and today. I’m sorry! I think she’s going to be okay. It looks like the poop helped her BG come down. I think it’s a good idea to stop the supplements for the time being, as you said. Except the Lactulose of course! I’ll check in tomorrow on our Ruby girl!
 
Do they eat different food? I’ve noticed my cats’ stool changes color based upon what they eat. Dark brown is still normal. Black may or may not mean blood. If it looks much the same as always considering what your oncologist said I bet there isn’t a bleed. :bighug:
They eat the same food. Olive poops every day, they are small, light brown and semi-soft. Ruby does hers every 3-4 days and they are big and dark.

Usually my vet is more than happy to just prescribe something if it's a fairly straightforward issue/seeing the animal won't really make a difference
Unfortunately my local clinic is part of a group of 5 independently owned clinics in the Hoboken/Jersey City area that has a rotating group of vets so I never know who I will get. I used to work with a vet who was there often and knew Ruby's case well, but he never seems to be there anymore when I go. I wish I had someone who I could shoot an email to or call and just pick up a script, but it's always a hassle for us.

I go away for one day
Ruby keeps us on our toes! Come back later for more drama, Suzanne! :p
 
Back
Top