1/27 Sami PMPS 315; +9.5 138

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Very Active Member
Yesterday's condo


It looks like Sami has recovered from her bounce nicely. I did nearly have a heart attack last night when I did her test at +4. I looked down and saw 891, and believe me I was flipping out. I kept wondering what was happening, how could she jump that much so quickly. Then I realized that that the meter was upside down and her number was actually 168. LOL. I am so glad I got up to see that number, because after her PMPS of 326 and a +1 of 362 I thought for sure she would stay over 200 for the night, but very glad that she didn't. It was a nice surprise.

Now if we could keep her under 200 all day including her pre-shot numbers that would be wonderful. But anyway you look at it she has come a long way, and so have I. I am very happy with the way things have been going the last few days and I hope her numbers continue to improve.

Sami is getting wise to the car trips each day. Both Monday and yesterday she was comfortable in her chair, but as soon as I went to get her to put her in the carrier she jumped down and went to hide. I know she doesn't like the car at all, is there any cat that does. But she seems to be getting quite comfortable at the office. I wish I could just leave her at home and run home to test her once during the day, but my boss totally freaks out if I even think about leaving the office after I arrive. So for now Sami gets to spend the day at the office with me. Everything is usually fine except when the guys are stomping around the office with their big work boots.

I hope everyone has a nice day with some good numbers.
 
Re: 1/27 Sami AMPS 256; +3 315

Sami has surfed up into the low 300's this morning, but I am really hoping it is just a food spike. She had eaten at +2 and +2.5, so I pulled the food just after the +3 test so when I test at +6 I should have a more accurate number.

Question of the Day: Just wondering how everyone feeds their cat. I try to have a variety of food available, but I am finding that Sami mostly likes the same kind. Should I just stick with a few different flavors or continue to provide a variety? It just seems that I am throwing a lot of food out because sometimes one or more of the cats turns their nose up to it. What can I do?
 
Re: 1/27 Sami AMPS 256; PMPS 315; SHOT TIME ?

Sami pretty much surfed all day. I would have prefered if she was surffing in the yellow, but I guess pink is better than red.

I adjust her shot time from 6:45 pm to 5:15 pm. What is the best way to do this? I have read that you should only move the shot time by 15 minutes at a time, is this true. I am just starting to think that this is why Sami's numbers have been fluctuating a little bit over the last few days. I had been moving her shot time up because I had a denist appointment, now I am trying to move it back. Can this effect the levles?
 
Re: 1/27 Sami AMPS 256; PMPS 315; SHOT TIME ?

First, I had to laugh at the upside down meter reading, LOL! I've done that and know exactly that feeling of horror or joy depending on what you think you see! I thought I saw 16 one time and just about had a heart attack. :shock:

Now as for moving the schedule. Yes, you can adjust by 15 minutes per cycle... or one cycle a day by 30 minutes.
Shooting early = slight increase in dose
Shooting late = slight decrease in dose

If you are adjusting by 15 minutes, the effect is pretty minimal. See? An hour or so would be a different story and probably would affect the numbers one way or another. Sometimes it is even recommended to shoot early if a kitty has high numbers and it helps a little like an increase.
 
Re: 1/27 Sami AMPS 256; PMPS 315; SHOT TIME ?

msarobix said:
I adjust her shot time from 6:45 pm to 5:15 pm. What is the best way to do this? I have read that you should only move the shot time by 15 minutes at a time, is this true. I am just starting to think that this is why Sami's numbers have been fluctuating a little bit over the last few days. I had been moving her shot time up because I had a denist appointment, now I am trying to move it back. Can this effect the levles?


15 mins is the safest way to keep things under control. Remember that an early shot is like a dose increase and a late shot is like a dose decrease. That's why we insist on shooting at relatively the same time (doesn't have to be to the minute!) You can make up a touch more time when the cat is bouncing. I'm not sure where the cutoff is... it's hard to tell and it depends on the cat too. For example, if you look at Sienne/Gabby, or Dyana/JD - you'll notice a nice green followed in a couple of hours by a steep trip to rocketville (300+)... in this case, people can make up some time. I think 1 hour is the max I've seen, but don't quote me on this.

Hopefully you get more answers to your question.

I hope this helps.
 
Re: 1/27 Sami AMPS 256; PMPS 315; SHOT TIME ?

msarobix said:
Yesterday's condo I did nearly have a heart attack last night when I did her test at +4. I looked down and saw 891, and believe me I was flipping out. I kept wondering what was happening, how could she jump that much so quickly. Then I realized that that the meter was upside down and her number was actually 168. LOL.

:lol: Too funny! I cant tell you how many times lately I have THOUGHT it was upside down, only to realize it was right side up. :-x But yes, I think we have all done that...especially sleepy eyed. Just an FYI...I dont think an 891 would register. It would say "hi"

You have such a great attitude! I love it!

I hope someone comes along and helps you with your time adjustment. Can you be more specific as to WHEN you need the time changed by (the day/cycle) and how much time you have to change as of your next shot?

Hope you have a good night!
 
Re: 1/27 Sami AMPS 256; PMPS 315; SHOT TIME ?

carolynandlatte said:
:lol: Too funny! I cant tell you how many times lately I have THOUGHT it was upside down, only to realize it was right side up. :-x But yes, I think we have all done that...especially sleepy eyed. Just an FYI...I dont think an 891 would register. It would say "hi"

You have such a great attitude! I love it!

Yeah, I realized after the fact that it would probably say HI, but when I was half asleep that wasn't my first thought.

This morning I was pleasently surprised with a 138, and again I wasn't planning on getting up, but since another one of my cats woke me up with all trying to get comfortable moves, I decided to get up and do a quick check. I am just wondering know how low she really went. It makes me want to get up more often to do more spot checks. When I came down to do this test she was already on the counter grooming so I am assuming she just, minutes before, had a snack. I hope she surfs right up until AMPS.
 
Tina.. that is soooooooo funny! That happened to me just last night & I had never had it happen before.. but I am a newbie too.
I did Baby's BG & read 18 & I freaked out.. turns out it was 81 LOL :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top