1/28 Max AMPS 344~+6 87~+9 376~PMPS 479

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randi & Max (GA)

Very Active Member
Good Morning
3rd cycle 5.75u

PMPS +5 last night 212.
Was happy to see Max starting off at a lower pink than he has over the
past few days. Maybe this dose will kick in a bit better. Still need a few more cycles
to fill up his shed.
As you might notice from his ss, I have eased up on tesing slightly.
His schedule was AMPS, +3,+6,+9,AMPS +3(BT)

Since I have moved Max's schedule down an hour (over time at 15 minute increments per the rules) there is no one to check the +3 right now, it could only be earliest +4. Since his numbers are continuosly high I will for a few days do the AMPS, +6, PMPS +5 or +6 BT, at least until the weekend.

WCR: Ate up his whole breakfast (1/2can FF) this morning and back on his chair and he was quite hungry last night. I decided to put a "Good behaviour" collar on him last night which is supposed to be anti-stress and reduce/control inappropriate markings. It is supposed to release phermones, like feliway, but rather than it being in the air, it is directly on him. He does not seem to be bothered by it and actually found a new place to sleep last night. On a chair outside my bedroom.
Hopefully we will see some change in him soon.

Have a great day.

Yesterday's Condo
 
Re: 1/28 Max AMPS 344

Good morning Randi and Max

nice catch last nite at +5...

filling the shed, filling the shed...sounds good!

Hope the collar keeps him calm! What's he got to be so stressed about? He's treated like royalty! cat_pet_icon Good boy Max!!
 
Re: 1/28 Max AMPS 344

Randi & Max said:
I decided to put a "Good behaviour" collar on him last night which is supposed to be anti-stress and reduce/control inappropriate markings. It is supposed to release phermones, like feliway, but rather than it being in the air, it is directly on him. He does not seem to be bothered by it and actually found a new place to sleep last night. On a chair outside my bedroom.
Hopefully we will see some change in him soon.

Have a great day.

Yesterday's Condo

Hope the collar works! I've never used one with a cat, but we tried it with our dog, Niam, when he was a pup. He has severe separation anxiety so we can never leave him. The collar didn't really do anything (nothing has helped) but I've heard good things about them. Niam is just special, we've decided! :lol: Thank God for doggy daycare!!!

Hope the increase does it's thing!
 
Re: 1/28 Max AMPS 344

Today's the day The dosecrase works!! Hear that Max?? You're doing great Randi! Have a happy Fursday!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/28 Max AMPS 344

That was a great +5 last night...really GREAT!!! See? It's working...
Can you all come to the fll_moon party tomorrow too? It is the Full Woolf Moon in January so we
are all going to howl! :lol:
With all the OTJ parties we are all psyched...might as well enjoy it!
 
Re: 1/28 Max AMPS 344

It should be really interesting to hear how it goes with the collar. How long is it supposed to take before they "say" you should see some change?

I hope the shot time changes work out for the better too.
 
Re: 1/28 Max AMPS 344

Roni and Moonie said:
Can you all come to the party tomorrow too? It is the Full Woolf Moon in January so we
are all going to howl!

We would love to come but Max cannot cross the border. You know how security is, lol.
Maybe I will have to give hims hots so we can come and visit all of our U.S. friends!!

Gayle and Shadoe said:
It should be really interesting to hear how it goes with the collar. How long is it supposed to take before they "say" you should see some change?

The package does not say that much, nor the internet. It is good for 30 days and ist says something about the powder activating the phermones. Not too much literature. I have it for months now, just sat in the box. Figured we have nothing to lose right now. I'm pulling out all of the guns!
 
Re: 1/28 Max AMPS 344

Glad to see that the new dose might be kicking in. That is Max's lowest pre-shot number in a week. Way to go Max, keep it coming down.
 
Re: 1/28 Max AMPS 344~+6 87 *Advice*

Okay I just had a panic call from DPS at home
Max is 87 - green. OMG

She got nervous and gave him a bit of HC and called me. I told her to take it away and
give him his regular LC and test in half hour and see where he is going. He ate ab it of the HC.
Did I do right? What should I do?
This occured at 1:10pm

2 months on the board and its my turn for "panic" advice.
 
Re: 1/28 Max AMPS 344~+6 87 *Advice*

Randi & Max said:
Okay I just had a panic call from DPS at home
Max is 87 - green. OMG

She got nervous and gave him a bit of HC and called me. I told her to take it away and
give him his regular LC and test in half hour and see where he is going. He ate ab it of the HC.
Did I do right? What should I do?
This occured at 1:10pm

2 months on the board and its my turn for "panic" advice.

I would say give LC at this point and test again in 30 minutes. Sami is in the same situation right now. At +7 she is at 68, but I am not panicing just yet. She has her LC food out and she just ate a little on her own. I probably would do the HC food until he gets lower than 50, but I guess that is just me. Probably need to have this confirmed by an expert.
 
Re: 1/28 Max AMPS 344~+6 87 *Advice*

That's just what I did.
Check at .5 was 120. Wow, some excitement for us today.
I guess we had it coming.
 
Re: 1/28 Max AMPS 344~+6 87 *Advice*

Hey Randi,
That is some super calming collar! :shock: where can I get one?

On a serious note, it's good to hear Max is coming up with a bit of food. Holy Moly Max!
Maybe Max really likes the recent changes!

When will you be getting home to take over?
 
Re: 1/28 Max AMPS 344~+6 87 *Advice*

Collar is from Petsmart, made by Sentry.
Who knows maybe I did to many changes at one time.
1. increased dose
2. calming collar
3. gave up on 2 tests in the past 2 days.

Instructions were to test him again at 4:00pm. I won't be home to assess the situation
till 5:00pm but DPS is great. She knew to call me right away!!
 
Re: 1/28 Max AMPS 344~+6 87 *Advice*

Randi & Max said:
That's just what I did.
Check at .5 was 120. Wow, some excitement for us today.
I guess we had it coming.

Yep, that was probably from the HC. But I don't think you need to worry so much about being in the 80's. A few weeks ago I tested one of my non-diabetic cats with the Relion Micro meter and got a 56. So I am comfortable allowing Sami to drop down to this point, but if she falls below 50 then I am sure I will freak out. But had I not tested my other cat I wouldn't have known this information.

Hopefully Max will sure the low blues the rest of the day or even add a splash of green in there again.
 
Re: 1/28 Max AMPS 344~+6 87 *Advice*

Randi! Max!! I had to rub my eyes to make sure I was reading this correctly. Awesome!

You and DPS did just right, feed some LC and test again in 30 minutes. The 120 is probably from the little bit of HC plus LC food and it is just fine. I know you have to be so excited to see this because it looks like this dose is working for Max. Yeah!!!

It is also getting later in the cycle so I don't expect Max to drop suddenly but it is good that you have someone that can check again to make sure. I think an hour later would be fine here.

Go Max Go!!! :RAHCAT (That was the first time for me to use the cheering kitty and I feel it is appropriate here. hee, hee!!)
 
Re: 1/28 Max AMPS 344~+6 87 *Advice*

CD and BigMac said:
Randi! Max!! I had to rub my eyes to make sure I was reading this correctly. Awesome!
CD and BigMac said:
Go Max Go!!! (That was the first time for me to use the cheering kitty and I feel it is appropriate here. hee, hee!!)

I know. I wanted to say yes, its really me. I thought no one would believe me.

Thanks for saving your cheer cat on us!! We are honoured!
 
Re: 1/28 Max AMPS 344~+6 87 *Advice*

Wow, go Max! When he decides to cooperate, he really cooperates! I'm so happy for you guys! I don't think I'd know what to do if I saw green!
 
Re: 1/28 Max AMPS 344~+6 87 *Advice*

YAHOOOOOOO!!!!! Finally!!!

You did exactly the right thing. These kinds of numbers need LC. It also suggests that maybe reconsidering when you are testing needs to be addressed. That's a big drop in 6 hrs. You might want to go back to your +3 test. I try to get a +2 so I have some idea of how the cycle is going, but that's Gabby and it may not be Max.

I think it's time for you to come up with some instructions for DPS so she'll know how to handle the low numbers and not think Max is going to keel over. A lot of how you approach lower numbers depends on where in the cycle they occur. The closer to nadir, the more you know that the numbers will be rising spontaneously. The earlier in the cycle, the more closely you need to monitor. If you look at Gabby's SS from last night, you'll see that I was checking every 30 min. There are still times when I've tested every 15 min. (I do this because Gabby is prone to drama and because I've had enough experience with how she reacts to know how she will respond.) I also know that I can give her MC when she's in the high 30s and her numbers will bump up nicely. You're in the admirable position of needing to figure all of this out for Max. I'm very happy for you!!
 
Re: 1/28 Max AMPS 344~+6 87 *Advice*

Who are u and what have you done with Max? :lol: :lol: :lol:


Figures, I take a break away from computer to watch a movie and I miss this!!


:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Time to call a family/DPS meeting on "what to do when Max hits green" :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

What's in that collar anyway? Can I get one?lol!!
 
Re: 1/28 Max AMPS 344~+6 87 *Advice*

Sienne and Gabby said:
That's a big drop in 6 hrs. You might want to go back to your +3 test

I agree Sienne. I called DH to tell him Max is at 87 and you see, that's why I have to test. I will really need to sit down and figure out a shedule because DPS is barely walking in the door at +3 and I am at work already.

Sienne and Gabby said:
I think it's time for you to come up with some instructions for DPS so she'll know how to handle the low numbers and not think Max is going to keel over.

How do I go about the instructions. I was given some by the "gang" before my famous vacation in December but you are so right that I need to leave a checklist, although I am always reachable. Could I just do it in my condo with a question in the header?
 
Re: 1/28 Max AMPS 344~+6 87 *Advice*

Absolutely -- put something together and we'll help you tinker with it -- or we'll just make you crazy with editing but either way, you'll get lots of input!! (You also know that the one day you're in a meeting and not able to easily get to the phone -- or the battery dies -- will be the time that you will kick yourself if you didn't have instructions for DPS.)
 
Re: 1/28 Max AMPS 344~+6 87 ~+9 376

Crisis over for now.
Poor Max had a roller coaster ride today.
Back at 376.
Lots of excitement here. Guess I will start preparing that "what to do list"

Thanks for all of your congrats today. It was really terrific!!!
 
hey this is ok - he had an awesome day - his first green and he'll do it again!!

u think u could get a +3 tonight? u know --- just in case? :mrgreen:
 
Ronnie & Luna said:
hey this is ok - he had an awesome day - his first green and he'll do it again!!

u think u could get a +3 tonight? u know --- just in case? :mrgreen:


Oh I will absolutely do a +3 (10:00)pm and +5 tonight.(12:00)
You read my mind miss ex-tesatholic, :-D
What a roller coaster for Max today. Now if I only had that +3 this morning he would have covered off all of the colours.
Poor boy is just tuckered out from such lows and highs. I hope to get a ketone test tonight
though. Last night night he just laid down in the litter box.
 
What a ride you had there today, Max!
I hope you realize that we will be taking no excuses for no more greens, big guy.
We have seen that you can do it, so we now know you CAN do it.

I am sure it felt 'wrong', but pretty soon those greens will feel better and better.

Now just see if you avoid the moon for the next few days, ok?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top