1.29 Magnolia AMPS 116

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sara & Magnolia

Active Member
Yesterday's Condo

WCR: Happy, purry, hungry. 5 P's are good.

Ok, here we are. 93 AMPS. I think I know my options, but I'm interested in opinions. Currently, I'm stalling. I'll retest at 9:45. I did give her a salmon treat, I hope that does not effect BG's.

I will be gone today for about 4 hours +3.5 to +8. DH will be here part of the time to feed, but she will be alone for at least 2 hours. (+6 to +8)
 
Re: 1.29 Magnolia AMPS 93 Dose Help!

Low AMPS numbers are in the air today it seems. Hopefully you get some opinions soon on dosage!
 
Re: 1.29 Magnolia AMPS 93 Dose Help!

I tested again, she's at 98.

It's surprising to see all these low AMPS, it's a full moon tonight!
 
Re: 1.29 Magnolia AMPS 93 Dose Help!

1 hour past shot time, she is at 112.

I really don't know what to do. I don't want to skip and have the shed empty, but I don't want to have a hypo. Maybe I don't have enough data to shoot this? Maybe I should give half her regular dose?
 
Re: 1.29 Magnolia AMPS 93 Dose Help!

Just saw the answer to my question in your post.

Retest in 15. I'd like to see her numbers come up just a bit more to make sure it's not just meter variance. If Magnolia's numbers are rising, shoot.

Remember that whatever the number is, that's your AMPS - not the 93 - and that's when the 12 hour clock starts. Can DH test?
 
Re: 1.29 Magnolia AMPS 93 Dose Help!

She was just at 112 at the last test. And I fed her because she was sooooo hungry. DH can't test.
 
Re: 1.29 Magnolia AMPS 93 Dose Help!

If I shoot, I can rush through my lecture today and get home around the new +6. Should I still retest her even though she ate? Or should I just get the insulin in her? I'm thinking of giving her 3u, a little more than half her regular dose.
 
Re: 1.29 Magnolia AMPS 93 Dose Help!

You really need to not feed when you are stalling. There is no way to know how much food will influence the next test. I saw the 112. Generally, when you are stalling, you want to test every 15 min. to see if the numbers are rising or if she's surfing. You don't feed during this time.

It looks like she's surfing. Please get another test.

If you are going to be home to test, then shoot. You will need to get at minimum, a +1 and +2. I have to leave the house in 45 min. so I'm hoping others will be around. If no one is here and you are nervous because Magnolia's numbers are running low, you can feed some MC but wait to see what's happening before you do this. You want to try to not stall and give a reduced dose since it's a double whammy on the shed. But do test again and let's see what's going on.
 
Re: 1.29 Magnolia AMPS 93 Dose Help!

116 is the latest reading. 15 minutes after the 112 and also after eating 1 tablespoon of LC.

If I shoot at 11am, I can get a +1 and +2, but I have to leave then. I can get back by +5.

Should I shoot the full dose?

Thank you for your help Sienne!
 
Re: 1.29 Magnolia AMPS 93 Dose Help!

Would you be comfortable shooting 4.0? I hate doing this but I don't think you have enough data to shoot the full dose.
 
Re: 1.29 Magnolia AMPS 93 Dose Help!

I am comfortable with 4. She has made so much progress and I don't want to go backwards. I just didn't feel comfortable making the call on my own.
 
Re: 1.29 Magnolia AMPS 93 Dose Help!

Sounds good,
can u edit ur "Help" alert
and post when u have a +1!! So exciting!!
 
Re: 1.29 Magnolia AMPS 93 new AMPS 116

I also edited the SS to reflect the new AMPS, with all the other numbers noted in the comments.

Thanks Ronnie and Sienne!
 
Re: 1.29 Magnolia AMPS 93 new AMPS 116

You might want to get the 93 out of the subject line. It will be confusing -- especially to the new folks here.
 
totally.

There are only 2 days out of the week that I can't stay home. Those are the 2 she picks to have excitement. But I plan to give the fastest color management lecture ever in the history of lectures. I hope to get home quick like a bunny.
 
+2 128

+2 128 may include a stress spike. She didn't come when I called her, she knew what I wanted, so DH carried her downstairs and she was doing the "put me down, I am NOT going to the vets" claw dance. Will post again when I get home.
 
+5 214

I wasn't expecting to see 214, but it's better than 14 or 414, right?

This was our first very low AMPS, at least I know what to do next time...

Should I keep testing hourly now that I am home?
 
You are right, I wasn't testing hourly. I figured she was safe from a hypo and she's still on her way up. I got a +8 of 316. Yikes.
 
PMPS 333

I wish she would have dipped, single or double. Maybe it's the moon...

What should I have done this morning? I feel awful about these high numbers and keep trying to figure out what steps I should have taken. The AMPS number was too low to shoot, right? What do I do next time this happens?
 
This PMPS is a result of a stall and a BCS - it happens, no worries. She will come down.

The 116 is not too low to shoot when you are data ready, and can monitor the first few times you get a lower preshot. Everyone tends to stall and/or BCS their first lower preshot, but we really do want to get you comfortable with shooting them, because that is one of the best features of Lantus/Lev. Shoot low to stay low. The lower the preshot the flatter the curve. But you need to get broken into the idea slowly and with testing - you'll get there.

The next time, if you are home or can at least grab a few tests and can feed when necessary, as long as you know the number is rising or a surf (those +10, +11, or even +11.5 tests will help with that), then you can shoot the full dose on time and monitor. You will always want to get at least a +1 from your lower preshots until you are used to shooting them and know what Magnolia's typical pattern is. If you are unable to monitor at all, then you may want to stall the shot or BCS dose. We try to not do both, as they both have an effect on the shed and doing both is a double whammy.

If you are stalling, do not feed. We do not want any food influence on a stall. You are looking for a natural rise if you are stalling, not a food spike, and there is no way to tell the difference if food is involved.

So if this happens again your options are:

1) Stall, don't feed, and retest in 15-30 min. You may have to repeat this process several times with the goal of seeing whether numbers are on the rise or staying steady. You don't want to shoot on a dropping number. Stalling does throw your shot schedule off since your next shot needs to be 12 hours later from your actual shot time.

2) Shoot a BCS/reduced dose. How much you reduce the dose depends on your comfort level and ability to monitor over the next couple of hours.

3) Skip the shot altogether. Usually, this is the least best option since it has the most effect of the shed.

And as always, post here when you have a PS you need help with and we'll walk you through it. It does get easier! :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top