bijer
Member Since 2022
Hi Everyone, Bijan and I (Maryam) are new to the forum and were recommended to post here after having some trouble getting our dosing correct. Here is our original thread if you are interested...
TLDR: I am pretty sure Bijan's vet does not know how to actually treat diabetes in Cats so she had me start him off on 2 units and then told me to increase to 3 after not seeing good numbers... she didn't really give me a good understanding of the curve, what to look for in dips, or that I shouldn't necessarily shoot if a PS number is I decided not to go all the way up to 3 because I was scared and at the same time found this forum and started doing some reading and realized he should have been decreasing instead due to some very low numbers in the SLGS method (I figured this would be a good place to start since it was less aggressive).
Fast forward to today, and we are down to 1.25 units as we are still getting nadirs in the 50s/60s and have been unable to really keep him at a consistent hold. He is a big boy- @Bron and Sheba (GA) were asking why I don't do the TR method- I am a bit worried since I have not been able to find a good cadence with his dosing yet to move to a more aggressive method.
Looking for any insight or advice you may have on how we can get my big boy into a more regulated pattern. Should we move over to the TR method?
Thank you so much
TLDR: I am pretty sure Bijan's vet does not know how to actually treat diabetes in Cats so she had me start him off on 2 units and then told me to increase to 3 after not seeing good numbers... she didn't really give me a good understanding of the curve, what to look for in dips, or that I shouldn't necessarily shoot if a PS number is I decided not to go all the way up to 3 because I was scared and at the same time found this forum and started doing some reading and realized he should have been decreasing instead due to some very low numbers in the SLGS method (I figured this would be a good place to start since it was less aggressive).
Fast forward to today, and we are down to 1.25 units as we are still getting nadirs in the 50s/60s and have been unable to really keep him at a consistent hold. He is a big boy- @Bron and Sheba (GA) were asking why I don't do the TR method- I am a bit worried since I have not been able to find a good cadence with his dosing yet to move to a more aggressive method.
Looking for any insight or advice you may have on how we can get my big boy into a more regulated pattern. Should we move over to the TR method?
Thank you so much
