Kokkinoulis
Member
Previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-24-kokkinoulis-pmps-184-1-182-late-nadir-at-12.285972/
Dear
@Bandit's Mom , @Wendy&Neko, @Marje and Gracie , @tiffmaxee , @Chris & China (GA), @Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA), @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
Kokkinoulis in the last 4 cycles (maybe also in the 5th cycle this night) has high BG levels again and flat curve after a cycle and a half in blue and yellow numbers.
Could this be a bounce for so many cycles according to the below?
In our case that a bounce last more than 3 days should I hold each dose 7 days or more and not 5 days in order the bounce to be cleared in the meantime and have the whole picture how the cat reacts in each insulin dose? What is your advice according to your experience in such cats?
According to TR protocol https://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm & https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/23522171/
If nadir blood glucose concentration is <11.1 mmol/L (<200 mg/dL) but peak is >11.1 mmol/L (>200 mg/dL) Increase every 5–7 d by 0.25–0.5 IU depending on if cat is on low or high dose of insulin
I should have increase the dose by 0.5 iu today as my cat is on high dose of insulin but tomorrow morning I will not work remotely and I have to go to the office and for many hours the cat will be alone so, I was afraid to increase the dose by 0.5 iu and I increase it only by 0.25 iu.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-24-kokkinoulis-pmps-184-1-182-late-nadir-at-12.285972/
Dear
@Bandit's Mom , @Wendy&Neko, @Marje and Gracie , @tiffmaxee , @Chris & China (GA), @Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA), @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
Kokkinoulis in the last 4 cycles (maybe also in the 5th cycle this night) has high BG levels again and flat curve after a cycle and a half in blue and yellow numbers.
Could this be a bounce for so many cycles according to the below?
- Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days/6 cycles, but it *could be* longer or shorter than 3 days depending on the cat.
In our case that a bounce last more than 3 days should I hold each dose 7 days or more and not 5 days in order the bounce to be cleared in the meantime and have the whole picture how the cat reacts in each insulin dose? What is your advice according to your experience in such cats?
According to TR protocol https://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm & https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/23522171/
If nadir blood glucose concentration is <11.1 mmol/L (<200 mg/dL) but peak is >11.1 mmol/L (>200 mg/dL) Increase every 5–7 d by 0.25–0.5 IU depending on if cat is on low or high dose of insulin
I should have increase the dose by 0.5 iu today as my cat is on high dose of insulin but tomorrow morning I will not work remotely and I have to go to the office and for many hours the cat will be alone so, I was afraid to increase the dose by 0.5 iu and I increase it only by 0.25 iu.