? 1/31 Kokkinoulis AMPS 439, +2 403, +5 403, +9 415 PMPS 420 Bounce again?

Kokkinoulis

Member
Previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-24-kokkinoulis-pmps-184-1-182-late-nadir-at-12.285972/

Dear
@Bandit's Mom , @Wendy&Neko, @Marje and Gracie , @tiffmaxee , @Chris & China (GA), @Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA), @Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Kokkinoulis in the last 4 cycles (maybe also in the 5th cycle this night) has high BG levels again and flat curve after a cycle and a half in blue and yellow numbers.
Could this be a bounce for so many cycles according to the below?
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days/6 cycles, but it *could be* longer or shorter than 3 days depending on the cat.

In our case that a bounce last more than 3 days should I hold each dose 7 days or more and not 5 days in order the bounce to be cleared in the meantime and have the whole picture how the cat reacts in each insulin dose? What is your advice according to your experience in such cats?

According to TR protocol https://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm & https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/23522171/

If nadir blood glucose concentration is <11.1 mmol/L (<200 mg/dL) but peak is >11.1 mmol/L (>200 mg/dL) Increase every 5–7 d by 0.25–0.5 IU depending on if cat is on low or high dose of insulin

I should have increase the dose by 0.5 iu today as my cat is on high dose of insulin but tomorrow morning I will not work remotely and I have to go to the office and for many hours the cat will be alone so, I was afraid to increase the dose by 0.5 iu and I increase it only by 0.25 iu.
 
Bounces generally last 6 cycles. The bounce would hopefully end during the PM cycle tomorrow.

I'd encourage you to follow the instructions on the Lantus board here. You do not base dose changes on anything other than the lowest values you are seeing -- the nadir.
 
Now that Kokki is over 6 units is dose, there are a couple things for you to think about. First, we change the dose increases to 0.5 units at a time, unless you are just tweaking a dose that is already seeing some green. Think of the dose increase as a percentage of the overall dose. At 6 units, a 0.25 unit increase is just a 4% increase. But a 0.25 unit increase at 2 units is a 12.5% increase. A 4% increase is barely noticeable, you need the larger increases to make a difference. Think of the %increases as being in the 10-15% range. Although those low 100's are a good sign of progress to see, he needs more than just a 0.25 unit increase.

Second thing to consider. Once a cat gets over 6 units total dose, and is eating just low carb food, it's time to think about getting him tested for some of the secondary endocrine conditions that can require a higher dose. That does mean testing him for acromegaly. The IGF-1 test that is used to diagnose this is a blood test, sent to the Royal Vet Clinic in London. There are treatments that can help should this test be positive. There are a couple other possible conditions, such as IAA, but the Royal Vet Clinic does not test that so I'd start with the IGF-1 test first. I know this is a lot to consider. :bighug: My cat had both acromegaly and IAA. You probably have a lot of questions. I hope we can help.
 
Now that Kokki is over 6 units is dose, there are a couple things for you to think about. First, we change the dose increases to 0.5 units at a time, unless you are just tweaking a dose that is already seeing some green. Think of the dose increase as a percentage of the overall dose. At 6 units, a 0.25 unit increase is just a 4% increase. But a 0.25 unit increase at 2 units is a 12.5% increase. A 4% increase is barely noticeable, you need the larger increases to make a difference. Think of the %increases as being in the 10-15% range. Although those low 100's are a good sign of progress to see, he needs more than just a 0.25 unit increase.

Second thing to consider. Once a cat gets over 6 units total dose, and is eating just low carb food, it's time to think about getting him tested for some of the secondary endocrine conditions that can require a higher dose. That does mean testing him for acromegaly. The IGF-1 test that is used to diagnose this is a blood test, sent to the Royal Vet Clinic in London. There are treatments that can help should this test be positive. There are a couple other possible conditions, such as IAA, but the Royal Vet Clinic does not test that so I'd start with the IGF-1 test first. I know this is a lot to consider. :bighug: My cat had both acromegaly and IAA. You probably have a lot of questions. I hope we can help.

Hi Wendy,
Thanks for the prompt reply.:) His lowest nadir was 119 at am pre-shot on 29Jan2024 and he also had +9 118 at pm on 28Jan2024.
I was aware that I had to increase the dose by 0.5 iu but as I will not be at home tommorow to test him I was thinking to stay at almost the same dose with a little increase of 0.25 iu for safety reasons. Moreover I would like to ask how many cycles should I hold each dose taking into consideration that his bounces last almost 6 cycles?
From the beggining I was thinking about IGF-1 and IAA as you know. I don't know if I could send a blood test to the Royal Vet Clinic in London from Greece and if it it possible to find a vet here to do it and also test him for IAA. It is very frustating for me!!!I wish to be only IAA as it is broke with time as I know. Am I right?
Is it possible to have IAA only with Lantus and not with Caninsulin? Can you take a look at initial ss with Caninsulin in 2023? He reacted to a smaller dose better than with Lantus I thing.
 
Bounces generally last 6 cycles. The bounce would hopefully end during the PM cycle tomorrow.

I'd encourage you to follow the instructions on the Lantus board here. You do not base dose changes on anything other than the lowest values you are seeing -- the nadir.
Hi Sienne,
Thanks for the prompt reply and your advice:)
 
Moreover I would like to ask how many cycles should I hold each dose taking into consideration that his bounces last almost 6 cycles?
Bounces don't factor into the way we count cycles before increasing. The only consideration is that it's preferable to avoid increasing on the same cycle as they break a bounce. Since you know he takes almost 6 cycles, and if an increase is scheduled for that cycle, you could delay the increase by one more. With blue nadirs, you can increase after 6-10 cycles. I tended to hold the dose for 10 cycles if low blues, only 6 cycles if high blues, 8 for in middle blues.
Is it possible to have IAA only with Lantus and not with Caninsulin? Can you take a look at initial ss with Caninsulin in 2023? He reacted to a smaller dose better than with Lantus I thing.
No, that's now how it works. We have had cats diagnosed with IAA, then switch insulin, but still have the resistance. I would definitely not go back to Caninsulin. A longer duration insulin is needed for cats on higher doses in our experience here.

IAA testing is only done at Michigan State University in the US as far as I know. I haven't heard of other places in the world doing it. I had to send it there from Canada. Most people in Europe don't bother getting the IAA tested. You could get the IGF-1 test done first, then if that is negative think about IAA testing. Yes, over time IAA is supposed to break. You should be able to find a vet to send blood to RVC - we've had people from all over Europe do that.
 
I tended to hold the dose for 10 cycles if low blues, only 6 cycles if high blues, 8 for in middle blues
Do you count these numbers of cycles from the begging of the new dose or you start to count again from the day of the blue numbers appeared? I.e. when I see blue numbers I hold the dose for 10 more cycles...
 
Back
Top