1/5 Juggie AMPS 72 +1 86

DenaRox

Member Since 2021
Previous

Woke up to lower amps. I don’t think he’s ever had an amps this low. Kind of panicked. Didn’t know if I should reduce dose or not dose at all. Had 15 min until I left for work so chose not to dose and fed him but was freaked out all the way so on way home again. Should I have lowered dose? Did I do the right thing skipping? I’m just so unsure.
 
Did you give him the shot now?

When you get a number below 90, you stall without feeding and test in 20 mins to see if he rises above 90 so you can shoot.

He has earned a reduction to 2U. If you have to go to work and cannot monitor, skip the shot. Feed him only LC if you are skipping.
 
With SLGS it is recommended not to shoot if the preshot is under 90. In some cases, you can stall, not feed and retest again in 20 minutes to see if the number is coming up. At this point, it looks like you fed and have skipped which is fine, especially since you aren't home to monitor. Since he went under 90 you'll want to reduce his dose to 2u at next shot time.
 
@Bandit's Mom @Christie & Maverick

I will try to push amps earlier to give me a little wiggle room in case this happens again because currently I will never have enough time to stall for a low AMPS. He has never had a green amps before which is why I was so shook. Normally his amps numbers are in the yellow.

So is this accurate??

90+ (5mmol+) = Normal, shoot
Below 90 (5mmol) but above 50 (2.8mmol) = stall and test again 20 min later, or skip dose if not able to stall.
Below 50 (2.8 mmol) is considered LOW, possible hypo, follow low numbers sticky.

what do you do if you stall and test 20 min later and it’s still below 90 but above 50? Stall again? Skip?

I’m trying to get a general guideline to stick in my head so I don’t panic and leave work again, can’t be getting fired when I’m the sole provider lol.
 
Last edited:
what do you do if you stall and test 20 min later and it’s still below 90 but above 50? Stall again? Skip?
It depends on how much lower than 90 he is. If he is rising after stalling for 20 mins, you stall further to see if he will cross 90 after waiting a little longer. When he is much lower (like the 60s or 70s), that might not happen soon. Or stalling may cause his numbers to drop - that happens sometimes. On those occasions, you have to skip.

On days that you have the flexiblity in your schedule to shoot late (like weekends), you can feed a little LC and shoot after 2 hours if he is over 90 then.

If he is below 50, you feed higher carb and skip the shot.

@tiffmaxee and @Christie & Maverick , please correct me if I have missed out anything or got anything wrong.
 
Last edited:
It depends on how much lower than 90 he is. If he is rising after stalling for 20 mins, you stall further to see if he will cross 90 after waiting a little longer. When he is much lower (like the 60s or 70s), that might not happen soon. Or stalling may cause his numbers to drop - that happens sometimes. On those occasions, you have to skip.

On days that you have the flexiblity in your schedule to shoot late (like weekends), you can feed a little LC and shoot after 2 hours if he is over 90 then.

If he is below 50, you feed higher carb and skip the shot.

@tiffmaxee and @Christie & Maverick , please correct me if I have missed out anything or got anything wrong.
Thanks so much. Makes sense. I’ve started testing a bit earlier to give me some wiggle room to get in at least one stall if needed and I’ve made a note on my phone of all the number info :)
 
Back
Top