1/7 Taz, PMPS 546, +2 437, +6 395

SaraMV

Active Member
Taz came home last night from the ER vet (pancreatitus), but without his pain medication. He acted hungry this morning, so I fed him at 7:30. It took him an hour to eat 1/2 of a can of food. I gave him .5 unit of lantus at 8:45 when I was sure he was finished eating. Was that wrong?

The vet tested his blood sugar and their meter just said "high". They couldn't tell us the number reading because apparently Taz's went above what the monitor reads. His next meal and insulin is due at 8:30. The vet agreed with Taz's ER discharge instructions, for us to give him 2.5 units twice a day. I'm really scared to start out on a high dosage. :(
 
Test him and post the bg. That dose might not be too much given his size. Let me check on it and I will be back at 8:30.

If you were following TR and feeding only canned food the dose would be 1.75-2.0. But you are feeding dry as well right now and so would follow SLGS so you would start at 1.0 I think.
 
Last edited:
Hi Sara,

Here is your last post for continuity (we like to see the previous day's discussion before addressing the new day's concerns): https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-dosing-question.257551/

I test the cat, give insulin, then feed. I understand that you were working backwards from a 10 o'clock shot time while he was at the hospital. Are you testing his glucose yet at home?

I'm sorry, I was confused by the rules. I had originally started a post on the main forum with all of my questions yesterday, and someone told me to ask the insulin related questions here. I thought we could have one post on each forum. I thought I had started one post on thos forum yesterday, and one today.
 
I'm sorry, I was confused by the rules. I had originally started a post on the main forum with all of my questions yesterday, and someone told me to ask the insulin related questions here. I thought we could have one post on each forum. I thought I had started one post on thos forum yesterday, and one today.

You can. My mistake. I mixed up the two. I see Katherine linked your post from main. You can stay on lantus and ask all your questions here now. That may you will have experienced people constantly looking at one condo. Is that okay with you?
 
You can. My mistake. I mixed up the two. I see Katherine linked your post from main. You can stay on lantus and ask all your questions here now. That may you will have experienced people constantly looking at one condo. Is that okay with you?

I'm sorry if I have too many posts. I had hoped to keep all of my questions together on the same one, but it makes sense to have designated areas for certain ones.
 
Test him and post the bg. That dose might not be too much given his size. Let me check on it and I will be back at 8:30.

If you were following TR and feeding only canned food the dose would be 1.75-2.0. But you are feeding dry as well right now and so would follow SLGS so you would start at 1.0 I think.


He's currently eating. We took his reading. It was 546 right before giving him food.
 
Sara, the Lantus forum gets a little busy so that's why we ask for one post per day per cat. Always feel free to ask your questions within each day's thread. There are lots of us regulars scanning the posts for members who need help. You'll get the hang of it, don't worry. :)
 
Sara, the Lantus forum gets a little busy so that's why we ask for one post per day per cat. Always feel free to ask your questions within each day's thread. There are lots of us regulars scanning the posts for members who need help. You'll get the hang of it, don't worry. :)

Thank you.
 
What will you be feeding this week? Will it be wet and dry? If so since the vet said 2.5 which is too high and he’s a large cat, I think I would start with 1.5. Do you have syringes with half unit markings?
 
It’s definitely safe to give him insulin. I agree with you that 2.5/is too large a starting dose. I’ll be right back as to what you should give.

We gave 2 units, and that's only because he's eating decently so far. I didn't feel safe giving any more than that until we watch his numbers and see where they go. I would greatly appreciate your help though.
 
I just replied in the other thread lol

To keep everything here I said I am uncomfortable advising, but so you had a reply - if it were me and I had a hypo kit, I would give 1.5U and get a test at +2

Elise - don't forget about the ketones. It's partially why I'm hesitant to say something like 1U
 
What will you be feeding this week? Will it be wet and dry?

We just fed him some Purina DM. Only because the vet told us he was eating it pretty well for them and he didn't want his friskies pate this morning. He ate a little bit over half a can and enjoyed the gravy that came in the can (I don't usually feed chunks with gravy). I would prefer to keep him on friskies but at this point I'll feed him anything I can get him to eat (except dry) .
 
I just replied in the other thread lol

To keep everything here I said I am uncomfortable advising, but so you had a reply - if it were me and I had a hypo kit, I would give 1.5U and get a test at +2

Elise - don't forget about the ketones. It's partially why I'm hesitant to say something like 1U
I know but she needs to follow SLGS because she’s feeding dry and can’t test much during the week. It will take 7 days for the depot to build so if Wendy thinks more or less that can be switched tomorrow.
 
Sara once your spreadsheet is set up this is how you will post on the lantus forum each day

You will post like this
Date, Taz, AMPS BG number any tests after you will add to your title such as
BG @+3 ( 3 hours after giving the insulin) and so on, When you test Taz at night PMPS -BG you can just add that to your title

So everyday we do a new post and attach the previous days post to it, so members can go back and read it if needed
 
Last edited:
Sara, are you feeding him only the Purina DM canned or any dry also?
Your signature does not mention ketones - could you please add that?

Sorry - we are kinda losing track of info between condos. I know you've had a rotten week. We are just trying to assimilate all the info so we don't give you wrong advice.
 
We don't feed him dry. It's wet only.
Ok. Good. You could follow TR and 2.0 is a good starting dose but I have to admit we will need you to get up a little earlier for awhile if at all possible so you can get a test as close to two hours after injecting. I know you will be gone all day. Would it be possible to get a timed auto feeder so he eats while you are at work?
 
Sara I don't know if you know how to tag a member in case you need help
You will start to type the first 3 or 4 letters of the person you want to tag and you will see some of the members name appear, just tap on the person you want to tag
It will appear in blue when you are done and hit post
I'll tag you now
@SaraMV
 
You say the Purina DM has chunks? Are you feeding the one labeled "Selects"? That is higher carb (12%, methinks?) than the one that's not Selects, which is a smoother pate. That one is only about 6% carbs and better for his diabetes.
 
I know but she needs to follow SLGS because she’s feeding dry and can’t test much during the week. It will take 7 days for the depot to build so if Wendy thinks more or less that can be switched tomorrow.
Thought it was DM wet...

Edit I'm caught up now haha
 
So everyday we do a new post and attach the previous days post to it, so members can go back and read it if needed

Ok, I think I understand.

Sara, are you feeding him only the Purina DM canned or any dry also?
Your signature does not mention ketones - could you please add that?

We've only fed him the DM canned once (about 30 minutes ago). I'm not sure about ketones because I don't know how to read his bloodwork. Sunday night when he was first diagnosed, the paperwork had the number 1 next to ketones. I don't know if they tested for them over the following 4 days. I'll find my other post and link it here? I posted his vet record on it.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-dosing-question.257551/

I have to admit we will need you to get up a little earlier for awhile if at all possible so you can get a test as close to two hours after injecting. I know you will be gone all day. Would it be possible to get a timed auto feeder so he eats while you are at work?

I work part time and am away from the house for 4 hours each morning. I can feed/test early in the morning. The problem comes with doing it twelve hours later between 5:00-7:00 in the evenings. We're not always home during this time. :(
 
You say the Purina DM has chunks? Are you feeding the one labeled "Selects"? That is higher carb (12%, methinks?) than the one that's not Selects, which is a smoother pate. That one is only about 6% carbs and better for his diabetes.

Yes, I just checked. It is savory selects. It's what the vet gave us. No wonder why he liked it.
 
Just want to make sure that you know to test first , feed , then give insulin

Yes thank you. Thankfully one of the members here told me yesterday, because the ER vet told me to feed first, test, and if his number was above 200 to give insulin.

Should we test every 2 hours tonight, just to see how he's responding to 2 units?
 
Sunday night when he was first diagnosed, the paperwork had the number 1 next to ketones. I don't know if they tested for them over the following 4 days. I'll find my other post and link it here? I posted his vet record on it.
@Bandit's Mom
Screenshot-20220104-220703-Gallery.jpg
 
Back
Top