1/8 Ares +8.25 141 PMPS 179 +2 154 +4 64 +4.25 75 +5 59 +5.5 50 +6.5 64 +7.5 68

I looked thru the chart again and realized i had no idea what i was talking about... And edited post to say "maybe not"
I dont know why i thought that.
 
I looked thru the chart again and realized i had no idea what i was talking about... And edited post to say "maybe not"
I dont know why i thought that.
That’s why it’s good to post and ask before increasing. Even those of us helping always post advice on a condo in case we make a suggestion that isn’t the best. :rolleyes:He’s looking good and looks like you will see more green today. :D
 
I actually posted that almost 10min ago...but it stopped me...lol. so we r being patient and he has calmed down quite a bit after giving him that. Lol. His test is @1215
 
+4.25 75
Gave him tiny bit of 4% right after test.
Testing in 45 min??
aaand now he is pooping.
It was a LOT of vomit, maybe what made him drop
 
Last edited:
+5 is fine. :)


Didn't get what you meant about a break after food?
In reference to when i had to test, feed then wait a while (15-30 min) to give Vetsulin, basically saying that i was used to that for a long time, but w Lantus i have realized after much reading that it is not like that with the wait period
 
In reference to when i had to test, feed then wait a while (15-30 min) to give Vetsulin, basically saying that i was used to that for a long time, but w Lantus i have realized after much reading that it is not like that with the wait period
True. You needn't wait for 30 mins after food to shoot. It's test-feed-shoot. Some people shoot when the cat is eating and distracted.
Because of Lantus depot nature and gentler action, you don't a good of the food to be consumed with the shot. Smaller meals through the cycle work well.
 
Sorry I didn't respond earlier. I was thinking we'd stay with LC and let him earn a reduction rather than propping him up with higher carbs.
Let's see how it goes. With 17% at +5.5, you can probably test after an hour. Give his ears a break.
 
Ok, seriously my bad. I just do what feels ok after all that we've done b4. And he is ALWAYS ready to eat gravy...ha
Usually, you need less carbs later in the cycle to keep their numbers up. It's possible that he may have stayed in the 50s with anywhere between 8-12%.
With time you understand how carb sensitive your cat is and how much carbs you need to feed at what part of the cycle to keep him surfing. Using too much carbs late in the cycle can cut short duration and cause numbers to zoom. We want them spending as much time in green as possible.
 
Usually, you need less carbs later in the cycle to keep their numbers up. It's possible that he may have stayed in the 50s with anywhere between 8-12%.
With time you understand how carb sensitive your cat is and how much carbs you need to feed at what part of the cycle to keep him surfing. Using too much carbs late in the cycle can cut short duration and cause numbers to zoom. We want them spending as much time in green as possible.

i definitely need to learn that and keep it close so i dont freak out. i thought i was much calmer, but i still got silly about it. i actually wanted to see 50 and just chill with it, but once again got a lil crazy.

i had an entire notepad with about 4 REALLY good post that you guys have posted here and there. i rebooted...lost 3 of them! One of them was the one about feeding in 40's thru 50's using TR and when to test...and now i hav no idea where i copied it from
You guys are so good with the feeding and keeping babies safe!
Thanks Bhooma!
 
You are doing great for someone whose cat has been on insulin for only a month. Some of us have freaked out at seeing our first green a few months after starting insulin.
:bighug:
 
I freak out all day long, hubby cant even stand me now...lol
He said just when this stared that Ares was fine...i sed...no, he is being very very weird i need to test.
Hubby is just way laid bk and cant see what i see.
The reall test will b in morning when i leav for church. And i have to get to Aunt's house to help her.
Will b able to test at +2 b4 leaving, but will b gone from +2 to around +6...i can move this around if needed tho and go to both places late in day.
 
Will b able to test at +2 b4 leaving, but will b gone from +2 to around +6...i can move this around if needed tho and go to both places late in day.
You can feed a little higher carbs at +2 and leave higher carbs out. Will any body be there to feed him? Will he eat when you aren't around? Do you have an autofeeder?

64 now and feeding small spoon LC 3%
Not much of a bump after that HC. Not bad. This is +6.5?
 
You can feed a little higher carbs at +2 and leave higher carbs out. Will any body be there to feed him? Will he eat when you aren't around? Do you have an autofeeder?


Not much of a bump after that HC. Not bad. This is +6.5?
Ya, i saw that, but he eats the gravy out of it and leaves the shreds..he can't stand em. So he didint get a whole tsp.

I have auto feeder and hubs will b here...so i can leav out whichever food for his numbers. Still kinda scary!
Hub will not test him, he is only willing to shoot him.

Shud i test @ 7.5 or 7?
 
Bhooma do u think his vomit had something to do w how low he got? Or was this a breakthrough on this dose? Should we stay and see if he gets under 50 again here at 2.5? This will be his 6th cycle on 2.5
 
Nothing to do with the vomit. I think he might just have earned a reduction tonight without that 17%.
This is a good dose but I don't think he's going to stay on it for long.

Feed some LC and call it a night.
 
Back
Top