1/8 Ming PMPS = 88, +2 = 130

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Crista & Ming, Jan 8, 2020.

  1. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-5-ming-pmps-212.223914/

    I think I did a stupid thing this morning. Ming has been going low all night and I tried my hardest to stay awake to test but kept falling asleep.

    At +10 he was at 41. Fed him FF gravy (HC) with honey. Then fell asleep but woke up at shot time with a reading of 149. So I shot 3 units (instead of 5 units - the new reduced dose). Maybe I should've shot 2 units. Debated but thought he was coming up.

    Then at +5, he pulls another low number.

    So now I'm wondering if this cycle's low number means another reduction or if this is the 5.5 units still in effect.

    Tagging @Wendy&Neko for help.
     
    Si am cat mom likes this.
  2. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Yes, that is the 5.5 unit depot talking today. I would try 5 units tonight as the new dose based on last night. Was AMPS a full two hours after his gravy and honey feast? Might have shot a carb influenced number.
     
  3. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    +7 = 88

    Yes, I believe it was carb influenced which is what dumb sleepy brain didn't think about lol. It was more like 1.25 hours. I tested at 4:37 AM and AMPS was at 5:56 AM. (I will revise my SS)

    I woke up again at around +4 AM and looked back at the numbers and thought: Oh I did something stupid :banghead:
     
  4. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    If this should happen again, and because it's later in the cycle, maybe a little less heavy handed with the carbs. The insulin should be starting to wear off by then. Though I can totally relate to just wanting the cat UP in the middle of the night.
     
    Crista & Ming likes this.
  5. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Got it! Totally agree. Sleepy brain is a different monster I must learn to fight haha
     
  6. Si am cat mom

    Si am cat mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    Hope Ming behaves tonight and you both get a bit of rest
     
    Crista & Ming likes this.
  7. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    +9 = 40

    what the heck, Ming?? Lol!!!!!!

    @Wendy&Neko Do you think I should still shoot 5 units tonight?
     
  8. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    I retested and got 41
     
  9. Briere Fur Mom

    Briere Fur Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2019
    Geez Ming.....you insist on attacking those sharks. Come back to the shallow end of the lagoon for your momma. Stop worrying her:cat:
     
  10. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Depends on where he is at PMPS and your ability to monitor. Might need a second BCS. Or not. :cat: Too early to tell.
     
    Crista & Ming likes this.
  11. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    +9.5 = 49

    I fed a tbsp of HC at +9 and now I fed him a tbsp of LC. He was hungry too. I will put that in the SS later.

    Ikr what’s going on????


    I was thinking maybe a BCS too but yes, it’s too early to tell.
     
  12. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    And now he’s chilling in my bed like “What, mom?? What’s the problem?”
    EA9ED968-8D78-422E-89BF-2C1FDB67B3DA.jpeg
     
  13. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    +10 = 61

    I’m surprised the title can fit so much
     
  14. Si am cat mom

    Si am cat mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    He's like " For my next trick, I will make my +6 disappear..."

    Ming, the magician - party of one, your lagoon is now ready....:p

    He's so handsome and you are doing a good job keeping him safe.
     
  15. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    I hope Ming surfs safely today.
     
    Crista & Ming likes this.
  16. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    :joyful::joyful::joyful: That's hilarious!!

    PMPS = 88. He hadn't eaten since +9.5 so I feel safe that this is a number not influenced by carbs. I also took the test 5 minutes before I fed/shot.

    I also don't have work tomorrow so I am ready for the shenenigans he might ensue (although I hope he doesn't and just surfs nicely like Carla hopes for).
     
    Si am cat mom likes this.
  17. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Safe surfing only please Ming!
     
    Crista & Ming likes this.
  18. Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA)

    Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Good you're not working tomorrow...!! Keep him safe ! :)
     
    Crista & Ming likes this.
  19. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    Growing list of superstitions:
    - when Ming's BG is low, his ears are cold (but then again, they're always cold in the mornings.)
    - the flovent is actually helping with producing better numbers (and that's if I remember to give it to him!!!! I have about 4 repeating reminders a day to give it to him but alas... I am some sort of horrible human breed of forgetfulness).

    I don't know if they hold any validity but it's, like I said, some superstitious thinking.

    Ming has also been drinking water lately (not today though). That's usually a sign something is a-brewing. He's going for a check up at the end of the month and I'll talk to the vet about it. We'll probably do a blood test because I want him to have a dental in February while I'm on nights. And maybe I can polish his teeth MYSELF lol!!!! Although, I might be too nervous to do it myself.
     
  20. Crista & Ming

    Crista & Ming Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2018
    +2 = 130

    Glad I gave 5 units tonight!
     
    Si am cat mom likes this.

Share This Page