1/9 Jack: 194@amps, 162@+3

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Member Since 2020
I love that we wake up blue (barely, but, hey, we'll take it!) What I don't love is that Jack spikes to pink, and yesterday red, around the +7/+8 mark and stays pretty high until the PM shot. I'm sure it's the darn kibble, what little he gets, kicking in. It's the lowest carb kibble I can pawn off on him without incurring diarrhea. Some days he doesn't look for it, but most days he insists on at least a little before he will eat any pate. At least he has decided to eat pate only at night and doesn't insist on the filets; small victories, I guess.:confused:

Tomorrow we should technically increase to 8.5 units, today is day 7 on 8 units, but since we had that partial fur shot, and because I really don't want to increase his insulin again, I'm going to hold the 8 units another day or two and pray he does something better with it. Tomorrow I have to wrangle Abby into a carrier and take her to the vet in the morning, so it's not a good increase day anyway, since I'll be out of the house for quite some time.

Sending love to all the kitties and their humans! :bighug:

Yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...55-2-lower-blood-ketones.285431/#post-3141433
 
Jack is really stubborn, isn't he?! It's such a pain when they get their head fixed on a food.
Sometimes I think about my Scottish mother in low. She's very strict with her cats. But I don't have the heart.

Work the dose, Jack. Cmon now.
It's nice to see him in blue this morning. Hopefully he'll stay lower at PSPM :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Jack is really stubborn, isn't he?! It's such a pain when they get their head fixed on a food.
Sometimes I think about my Scottish mother in low. She's very strict with her cats. But I don't have the heart.

Work the dose, Jack. Cmon now.
It's nice to see him in blue this morning. Hopefully he'll stay lower at PSPM :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Way back when we started this journey, I was strict, but Jack is the king of stubborn and literally starved himself, or flung himself against the door to get out of the room I put him in. I was too afraid that he would hurt himself or develop fatty liver syndrome by not eating, since he is such a big boy to start with. I've come to realize with some cats, like Jack, it's just a very delicate balancing act of give and take, and sometimes compromises. I worry about his health, all the time. But I also worry about his quality of life. No creature wants to be miserable/hungry/unhappy/confused at why things are changed. I don't want him to be mad or confused or think I'm being mean to him. He wouldn't understand that, and emotional stress is sometimes worse and can cause more problems than higher BG numbers from kibble. The pate he did on his own. I'm hoping it will be the same with the kibble...eventually. I appreciate your support, thank you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ups and downs he goes, but good to see a blue start!
The more he experiences blue/green, less threatening they are to the system, thus less spiking, so it seems!
I know how frustrating to see a good number just turning into the hellish red!
But hang in there. Jack's stubborn, and his system is stubborn! His body will get used to the lower numbers!
Sending you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Way back when we started this journey, I was strict, but Jack is the king of stubborn and literally starved himself, or flung himself against the door to get out of the room I put him in. I was too afraid that he would hurt himself or develop fatty liver syndrome by not eating, since he is such a big boy to start with. I've come to realize with some cats, like Jack, it's just a very delicate balancing act of give and take, and sometimes compromises. I worry about his health, all the time. But I also worry about his quality of life. No creature wants to be miserable/hungry/unhappy/confused at why things are changed. I don't want him to be mad or confused or think I'm being mean to him. He wouldn't understand that, and emotional stress is sometimes worse and can cause more problems than higher BG numbers from kibble. The pate he did on his own. I'm hoping it will be the same with the kibble...eventually. I appreciate your support, thank you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I hear you, And I admire you for being able to even try and force him to change. I wouldn't be able to. And I totally agree with you. I think that cats are smart. If they can't change then it's not just being stubborn but perhaps they know something which we don't. It makes me wonder what is it in the kibble that Jack feels that he needs. Did you think in that direction? Perhaps he gets from it something that he does need.
When Fistuk wad dx I changed both his and Prince's food. I didn't realise I needed to do it gradually. Water under the bridge now, but with time I realised that Prince needs some higher carb food from time to time. He's not sick and I just need to be careful his plate is not on the floor for the, nowadays, rare occasion of Fistuk wandering into the kitchen. But I think it's just an example that he told me what he needed.
 
since he is such a big boy to start with. I've come to realize with some cats, like Jack, it's just a very delicate balancing act of give and take, and sometimes compromises. I worry about his health, all the time. But I also worry about his quality of life. No creature wants to be miserable/hungry/unhappy/confused at why things are changed. I don't want him to be mad or confused or think I'm being mean to him. He wouldn't understand that, and emotional stress is sometimes worse and can cause more problems than higher BG numbers from kibble. The pate he did on his own. I'm hoping it will be the same with the kibble..
I totally agree with you here, but glad he's only eating the pate at dinner time .Let us know how the vet visit goes with Abby :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I love that we wake up blue (barely, but, hey, we'll take it!) What I don't love is that Jack spikes to pink, and yesterday red, around the +7/+8 mark and stays pretty high until the PM shot. I'm sure it's the darn kibble, what little he gets, kicking in. It's the lowest carb kibble I can pawn off on him without incurring diarrhea. Some days he doesn't look for it, but most days he insists on at least a little before he will eat any pate. At least he has decided to eat pate only at night and doesn't insist on the filets; small victories, I guess.:confused:

Tomorrow we should technically increase to 8.5 units, today is day 7 on 8 units, but since we had that partial fur shot, and because I really don't want to increase his insulin again, I'm going to hold the 8 units another day or two and pray he does something better with it. Tomorrow I have to wrangle Abby into a carrier and take her to the vet in the morning, so it's not a good increase day anyway, since I'll be out of the house for quite some time.

Sending love to all the kitties and their humans! :bighug:

Yesterday: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...55-2-lower-blood-ketones.285431/#post-3141433
It’s such a fine balance, Christine. You are doing such a phenomenal job with Jack. And it’s always nice to see a blue ps! That’s a win any day.
I hope the vet visit goes well tomorrow. We will be thinking of you with good wishes :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I hear you, And I admire you for being able to even try and force him to change. I wouldn't be able to. And I totally agree with you. I think that cats are smart. If they can't change then it's not just being stubborn but perhaps they know something which we don't. It makes me wonder what is it in the kibble that Jack feels that he needs. Did you think in that direction? Perhaps he gets from it something that he does need.
When Fistuk wad dx I changed both his and Prince's food. I didn't realise I needed to do it gradually. Water under the bridge now, but with time I realised that Prince needs some higher carb food from time to time. He's not sick and I just need to be careful his plate is not on the floor for the, nowadays, rare occasion of Fistuk wandering into the kitchen. But I think it's just an example that he told me what he needed.
I like the kibble for his teeth, i think that's important, and dental costs sooo much money, but it really messes up his numbers :(
 
Back
Top