1-9 Sasha PM PS 166 help needed now

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by seamist, Jan 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. seamist

seamist Member

I have not been able to test for a couple of days. Sasha has been on two units of Lantus twice a day for 5 days. (He was on Novalin N for three weeks prior to that, and then just diagnosed.) His last blood glucose a few days ago was 533. It was 166 at 7pm and I have never seen it this low. Since he is new to Lantus, and I am new to testing, I do not know what to do. He ate dinner at 7 pm at the same time as I tested his blood glucose, and he would normally get his pm shot now. What should I do??

Sasha's mom

2. Amy and Six

Amy and Six Well-Known Member

Just take a deep breath and wait until someone with some experience can help out.

I'm too new at this game to give this type of advice but I know breathing helps :D and someone will be along soon.

3. Cassandra and Sasha

Cassandra and Sasha Well-Known Member

I would not feed and test again in 30 minutes. Let's see what way he is headed.

4. Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA) Well-Known Member

Maybe you could retest and come back with the number....even though you did feed him already...ok?

5. carolynandlatte

carolynandlatte Well-Known Member

Did you get to walmart for the relion meter and strips after we met?

The number of strips you do (or dont) have is an important consideration.

6. seamist

seamist Member

I did get the relion and strips. I have not opened the box yet. I will do that now, and see if I can get a test with the new meter and what the result is.

7. Michele and Esse

Michele and Esse Well-Known Member

First, breathe. Sasha will be all right as long as YOU are alright. It's hard.

Second, that's not too low. Yes, it's a big drop, but I've seen bigger (ahem, Esse...);

Third, can you test again, and give the results?

Fourth, do you have a hypo kit ready?