10/02 Pickle AMPS 324 +2 415 +5 342 PMPS 332 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

10/02 Pickle AMPS 324 +2 415 +5 342 PMPS 332

It's possible 1.25 units is not the right dose for Pickle. Insulin is a hormone, not a drug. You don't always see incremental improvements with each dose increase, but rather you get closer to that fitting dose and the magic starts to happen.
 
It can be disappointing when you are waiting to see some positive action on a dose, I used to say it was like watching paint dry :p.

Just a point of clarification, since you perhaps took my quote in your post yesterday a wee bit out of context.

What I said among other things was actually:

“I’d then suggest to hold this dose for 7 days unless Pickle gives you a number under 90, in which case you would reduce. As for BG testing, please do make sure to get each preshot, since you want to make sure it is safe to give insulin. We’ve had many kitties over the years who have thrown a low number at preshot that their caregiver did not expect.

I would then try and get a +2 each cycle (am and pm) and as I mentioned earlier, if that +2 is much lower than preshot, you’d probably want to keep an eye on the cycle, by getting at least another test somewhere between +3 to +5 or +6. The goal being to gather data to get a better understanding of how Pickle responds to insulin and carbs.”
 
He'll start coming down eventually. You're probably not at the goldilocks dose just yet. It took Jude a while for the insulin to begin bringing his numbers down.
It's possible 1.25 units is not the right dose for Pickle. Insulin is a hormone, not a drug. You don't always see incremental improvements with each dose increase, but rather you get closer to that fitting dose and the magic starts to happen.
You're both very right! Very true, very true. thank you 🙂
 
Just a point of clarification, since you perhaps took my quote in your post yesterday a wee bit out of context.
I am so grateful for all the information and advice you and everyone gives to me, and I promise I make sure to read and understand everything to my best ability. In no way was my reaction to that preshot number a result of that quote. At the time, I was actually panicked about altering from what you had told me to do. I saw a preshot number way lower than I was expecting and referenced the low preshot guidelines. I'm doing the best I can. I just thought the timing of the quote was humorous after the fact is all. I apologize for quoting you out of context. I appreciate you very much and look forward to more of your advice in the future!
 
Oh my dear no harm no foul, truly! I only mentioned it since I sometimes ramble on, and it’s been forever since I was “new”. I didn’t want you to be afraid of lower preshot numbers, and my fear was that I somehow had confused you with too much information or not proper explanation, so I wanted to clarify. One thing you can do next time, if you aren’t sure about shooting, you can post and in your title, say BG xxx, stalling, help needed. It’s very difficult in the beginning when you are still gathering data, and figuring out what Pickle’s usual patterns look like :).

You’re doing a great job and I’m glad to see those before bed tests. Now if we can just convince Pickle to show us some blues and ditch those stinky pinkies! I can’t remember if I saw in a previous post, what is your usual feeding schedule for him?
 
So for diet, AM + PM I Test, Feed, Shoot. Since Sept 24th he's been eating 300 calories. I was feeding him 1 1/3 can (112g) AM, 2/3 can (56g) at AM+6, and 1 1/3 can(112g) at PM. Since Sept 28th, I've been doing 100g AM 40g once or split between AM+2 - +6, 100g PM, then 40g at PM+3/+4. I was thinking about doing 90g + 50g AM and 90g + 50g pm, or something? because hes getting really hungry before big meals and driving me a little crazy, also making preshot tests a little tough because he's so amped up about food. I've been trying to stay consistent with calories / diet for at least some time so I can get data, but I think about it too much! I'll take any advice, please!
 
Last edited:
Amped up? Pickle looks so calm and cute in his avatar :joyful:. If you are finding he’s very hungry each preshot, you can try some low carb treats after nadir for snacks like freeze dried meat treats. Do you think he’d tolerate more like 1/2 a can or 2/3 at preshot, then you might be able spread out the rest from onset around +2 through nadir? It’s a bit of an experiment, each can is 85 grams so I wonder instead of feeding a full can at preshots it might work to stagger the food during the time when the insulin is typically influencing BG. Perhaps something to think about. You can keep with your current plan for a little while, since you’ve only started doing that on September 28th and it can take some time to see what needs to be tweaked a little for feeding. Speaking of his cycle on September 28th, it is interesting how he dropped into pm. Bounce breaking cycles can have later nadirs which is what I think you saw into evening preshot.
 
Back
Top