? 10/05 Dolly amps199-ultrasound-insulin & not eating

Our Dolly Girl (GA)

Member Since 2019
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ting-insulin-4-1-2-hours-ago-nauseous.236332/
Dolly had hypo last night. Little food for days. Snap test positive for pancreatitis. Ultrasound drop off at noon today. Ate some 5 hours ago and three bites this morning. Now needs to fast. Gave her fat .5u. Vet said to give half dose this am if she doesn't eat. Is it okay to delay Ultrasound 1 day.
Give her a day to hopefully eat? Tried to give pain meds in cheek, she moved and it went in her mouth, is it okay?
 
It’s ok to wait a day. Why is an ultrasound being done? For pancreatitis? Did they send out for SpecFPL test? Suspecting something else? If the bupe is swallowed it still will work.
 
It’s for the pancreatitis. She tested positive on the snap test plus has symptoms, nausea, Anorexia. Thanks so much. Waiting to hear from her vet, she doesn’t know what happened yesterday with the Zyrtec, why she went to vet in the first place. They were closed yesterday. Left detailed message.
 
It’s for the pancreatitis. She tested positive on the snap test plus has symptoms, nausea, Anorexia. Thanks so much. Waiting to hear from her vet, she doesn’t know what happened yesterday with the Zyrtec, why she went to vet in the first place. They were closed yesterday. Left detailed message.
What is specFPL And no they didn’t. I beginning to not trust any vet, not hers, because she should have thought of pancreatitis. Vet yesterday, so busy, one doctor, overwhelmed. My vet is also so busy, overwhelmed. COVID-19 has made everything off.
 
Dolly is having ultrasound tomorrow. Gave her Cerenia 12mg pill, Mirtazapine and pain meds. Her appetite is still off. Vet said I could feed her up to 7:00am tomorrow. If she won’t eat, how much, if any, insulin do I give her. I think she is at 1 unit after last night. I am also waiting to get this answer from the vet.
 
Dolly had hypo last night.
Was she showing hypo symptoms? I don't see low numbers from last night.

Cats undergoing anaesthesia - and are not allowed to eat, typically get half of their regular dose. You've been jumping her dose around a lot lately, so I'm not sure what her "regular dose" should be. I rather suspect the 1.25 unit dose depot caused those greens from last night, which under SLGS would be a dose reduction. Also, is there any chance you can syringe feed Dolly? She does need to get food in her.

What is specFPL And no they didn’t.
The specFPL test has to be sent out to a lab for analysis. The Snap test is typically done in house, and gives a yes/no answer, the Spec test gives a number within a range, so you get a better idea of how bad things are.
 
Does Dolly get a reduction from 1.25 units to 1 unit based on her nadir last night? Sometimes I can get her to eat well prior to evening fast then she eats lousy at shot time. Because she eats lousy in general, I hate to hold back food in hopes she will eat more for dinner. How long does food stay in their belly? She is a total grazer and never eats a meal. This is why I panic. Vet said she could eat up till 7 am tomorrow, but if she doesn’t, I can’t give her insulin when she probably won’t eat all day and she’s out of my care. :( Sorry as always for not compacting my words. :rolleyes:
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ting-insulin-4-1-2-hours-ago-nauseous.236332/
Dolly had hypo last night. Little food for days. Snap test positive for pancreatitis. Ultrasound drop off at noon today. Ate some 5 hours ago and three bites this morning. Now needs to fast. Gave her fat .5u. Vet said to give half dose this am if she doesn't eat. Is it okay to delay Ultrasound 1 day.
Give her a day to hopefully eat? Tried to give pain meds in cheek, she moved and it went in her mouth, is it okay?
Ultrasound tomorrow.
 
Was she showing hypo symptoms? I don't see low numbers from last night.

Cats undergoing anaesthesia - and are not allowed to eat, typically get half of their regular dose. You've been jumping her dose around a lot lately, so I'm not sure what her "regular dose" should be. I rather suspect the 1.25 unit dose depot caused those greens from last night, which under SLGS would be a dose reduction. Also, is there any chance you can syringe feed Dolly? She does need to get food in her.


The specFPL test has to be sent out to a lab for analysis. The Snap test is typically done in house, and gives a yes/no answer, the Spec test gives a number within a range, so you get a better idea of how bad things are.
Isn’t that what the ultrasound will do? 50 is very low for her. She is at 1.25units. I can’t syringe feed her. She is too strong for me and hates the syringe. Very compliant with most things not that. She is eating today. Mirtazapine is helping.
 
Yes, last night earned a reduction. 50 is low for her but still (just) in normal cat BG numbers. I'm thinking you should do an even smaller dose than 1 unit, cause she earned a reduction even with skipping yesterdays AM dose, and she's not eating enough.
 
Isn’t that what the ultrasound will do?
Yes, last night earned a reduction. 50 is low for her but still (just) in normal cat BG numbers. I'm thinking you should do an even smaller dose than 1 unit, cause she earned a reduction even with skipping yesterdays AM dose, and she's not eating enough.
she ate fairly well today. I just don’t know if she will tonight. Thinking 1 unit if she eats. Got her some new food. Thank you.
 
Back
Top